8/17 LOTUS AMPS 97 PMPS 462

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/17 LOTUS +7.25 92

I saw you had quite a night. Guess I left when there was a slight lull. ~O) ~O) ~O)

Did you manage all that with pain killers in your system for your own knee?
Now you know how exciting :o it can be around here.

Lotus, you be good today and let your mamabean relax a little! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/17 LOTUS +7.25 92

UPDATED and CORRECTED LOTUS BG Recap

16th August
AMBG 54 --- NO shot given (hence no AMPS). Ate 3 TBSP.
(+0.3) 54 --- Food taken away.
(+1) 49 --- Dose REDUCTION to 0.5u earned.
(+2) 63 --- Talk with vet. Lotus taken to vet to check pancreatic nodule and possible inflammation etc. No further problems diagnosed.
(+7) 199
(+11) 199 --- Ate 4 mouthfuls. Food taken away. Listed as "200" on SS, please correct. 23 hours after last shot.
PMPS 268 --- Shot 0.5u (at 8pm Cathy's local time).
(+1) 248
(+2) 195
(+3) 130 --- 11pm Cathy's local time.
(+3.5) 103 --- Again, rounded up from 102.6.
(+4.25) 110 --- Nice surf. Marje went sleepus. Jane took over.
(+5.5) 115 --- Still surfing.
(+7ish) 58 --- Fed HC gravy 1 tsp (despite no sub-50 BG, given Lotus's history of going VERY low).
(+7.5ish) 56 --- Fed warmed HC gravy and food, ca. 1.5 tsp.
(+8ish) 54 --- Feeding HC gravy (at +8.25)
(+8.75ish) 77 --- Retesting in 30 minutes.
(+9.25) 117
(+11.25) 92 --- Dose reduction to 0.25u suggested to help lessen the drama.

Hi Cathy

Sorry, didn't see this new thread until just now. Here is your previous thread.

I believe your subject line should read "8/17 LOTUS (PM+11.25) 92" because the 92 refers to 11.25 hours after Lotus's last insulin injection. When you have your AMPS, please add it to the subject line.

Barring an unexpected significant rise to AMPS, I agree that you should skip the shot this morning.

I'm sorry if I sounded pushy anywhere in the previous thread, it wasn't intentional if I did.
Jane
 
Re: 8/17 LOTUS +7.25 92

Morning Cathy! Great job you and Lotus did yesterday! :thumbup

Here is the link to yeterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=77230
We put a link to our previous condo in the first post of each new day so we have all our condos linked to each other. That makes it easier to go back and read what transpired. I hope you had time to go back over what was written yesterday...there was a LOT of information from a lot of people....
(and some new posts at the end that you might not have seen yet???)
 
Re: 8/17 LOTUS +7.25 92

Wow, what a night. :shock: I agree with Jane: you rock. The good news is that Lotus is responding very well to Lantus. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 8/17 LOTUS AMPS 97

Hello everyone. Well after of one h... of a night I think we got her through ok but definitely wouldn't have without everyon's help and support. Marje you were wonderful. Jane there were a couple of times I thought about coming down and visiting PERSONALLY but I know you meant well and it was for both mine and Lotus's own good. Neither one of us has had much sleep so I have sent
a letter to a friend who will fax it to the vet. I did NOT shoot her. I have postponed my x ray until this afternoon and Lotus and I are going to lie down and get some sleep. It is amazing to me how even after all the pain of all those needle pricks she still wants to cuddle up to me. She has had a bit of low carb breakfast and I am leaving her plate out for a bit. I will test again in 6 hours please don't suggest anymore at this point. I have run out of thin gauge lanclets and the big ones really make her yelp. When I get up I will go for more strips and the treats suggest and thinner lances. I am so tired I feel sick but when I am rested I will reread everything and try to sort out the figures and times on the spread sheet but I need to get my head togerther right now. God bless you all.
 
Re: 8/17 LOTUS AMPS 97

I think you made a good decision. You don't have the data yet to shoot this low. (Jane and I were "talking" behind your back just in case this scenario arose.)

I suspect that despite all of the poking, Lotus really does understand that what you're doing is helping her to feel better. And, they'll put up with a lot for treats and the heartfelt affection you've been giving her. Cats really do know.
 
Re: 8/17 LOTUS AMPS 97

Yes, cats do know, and as we continue to treat them, they begin to feel better, which they associate us with helping them to feel better (if that makes sense).
 
Re: 8/17 LOTUS AMPS 97

Cathy You are doing great, handled a rough night as well as anyone could. Lotus knows you are doing is to help her, and she probably senses you need rest too. Things will look different after you both get some rest, take care of yourself!
 
Re: 8/17 LOTUS AMPS 97

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Get some rest. See you later today. I'm glad you skipped.
 
Re: 8/17 LOTUS AMPS 97

Cathy! Hugs!!!! You poor thing! I can't believe how rough you had it. I just finished skimming your posts from last night. You must be exhausted, and you have a bum knee. Healing vines going out to you and your sugarcat. It's true, your cat is responding to Lantus, and that's a good thing. I'll bet you wish she was a little less dramatic about it! ohmygod_smile
 
AS YOU can see Lotus went way up. I gave her one unit. I have picked up some kind of virus. I have had my head in the toilet all day after being on it. My hands are shaking and I am very dizzy. I could not b/g check her until now. it will have to do until tomorrow.
 
I hope you feel better. I also hope you can get some fluids down.

If you do start to feel better and can get a test in, that would be great. If not, leave food out for Lotus.
 
(((Cathy)) I am so sorry you are sick. Like you need something else to deal with. I hope you recover quickly.

I want to make the point that the dose on lantus needs to stay the same, even when the BG value is really high at pre-shot. It's tough but you've got to be consistent in the dose. Sienne and Marje had agreed that the 0.5u dose was good for Lotus right now so I recommend that you stick with that. If Lotus gets below 50 (2.8) at any time, then post here and ask for advice.

You are doing a great job under very difficult circumstances. Let us know how we can help.
Liz
 
Cathy

I'm so sorry you are ill and hope you feel better soon.
Jane said:
Also, in order for you to avoid extra drama and be confident shooting, you can reduce your dose to 0.25u (even though Lotus did not drop below 50). I've had a quick exchange with Sienne about this and she is of the same mind.
I know you don't need this right now but hopefully you'll read it before you shoot tomorrow. Sienne conferred with Jane this morning and felt that .25u was a better dose for Lotus. So I'm kinda worried about the 1u dose. Please
be sure and shoot .25u tomorrow and consistently. With that 1u back in her depot, you may see her active tomorrow. Hope not....you need time.
 
Cathy,
I hope that tomorrow you will be feeling much better and that Lotus will settle in to her .25 dose. What you saw tonight was a bounce from all the low numbers she had. In the future, just stick to the dose that is recommended. Bounces are a normal part of getting regulated. Do not worry about them.
You are doing so well. Get a good night's sleep tonight. Everything will be brighter tomorrow.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top