8/17 Catcat AMPS 378,+3=291,+7=313, PMPS 283,+3=170

CandyH & Catcat

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-16-catcat-amps-276-4-251-pmps-306-3-181.218212/

I'm declaring this a failed reduction and shooting .75 today

test values seemed to creep up and up, little by little, almost as if the depot were depleting; I'm going to try to watch carefully now, but may not be able to do as much testing as TR requires, his poor ears need to heal a bit, they've been rebleeding afterwards, he's been scratching at them and rubbing them
 
Good call, the bounce should have cleared, although it does look like he has taken longer than 6 cycles prior for a bounce to clear.

Are you putting anything on his ears after the test like Neosporin with pain reliever? Poor little ears!
 
putting Neosporin+ pain on ears, but he is still jerking and shying and flinching when lancet gets near, which shreds the margins on his ears -- straight pokes heal fine, but the scrapes tend to heal with scar tissue, break open later and start bleeding again -- rice sock doesn't slow him down, warm pill bottle freaks him

once the depot has refilled I may go to a "skinny" .75 or a "fat" .5 -- pretty much the same thing on the syringes I have -- I think his pancreas may be sputtering a bit, causing an occasional lower-than-usual nadir -- but I WANT it to sputter and start working more again -- I'd rather feed MC food once in awhile to get him into blues and greens consistently otherwise
 
"skinny" .75 or a "fat" .5 --

Sounds like a good idea to me. He was doing good on .75 before. I'm still going up & down with tiny amounts to get Ravan "not too high & not too low." (I use calipers.)
I pretty much ignore a tiny bubble in the syringe. It was getting too frustrating for me messing with it every time. It all seems to work out OK :)

I use Organic Coconut oil on Ravan's ears. After the poke I hold his ear with pressure, for several seconds with the "cotton makeup square" I don't warm up his ear any more. It just made it bleed too much when I warmed it.

I used Neosporin on Ravan's ears & they got very itchy. Here's what I read about it. (Not all cats react the same way,but I chose not to use it)
When Neosporin Is Not Safe
Some antibiotic ointments contain added ingredients to combat pain in the wound. These types of the ointment are labelled "+ pain relief." While they may not pose an immense threat to a cat, antibiotic ointment with pain relief may cause irritation and could have ingredients that are not safe for cats. Owners should make sure that the antibiotic ointments they use on their cats do not include pain relief formula.


https://www.vetinfo.com/is-neosporin-safe-for-cats.html


images

 
I don't warm up his ear any more. It just made it bleed too much when I warmed it.
I was going to say the same thing. Maybe stop with the warm rice sock and see ho he does.

I use the Halo Cloud Nine Healing salve when his ears get bad, but they stopped making it! ugh. I did see something comparable to it online a while back.
 
I’ve never used lancets. I use actual needles and poke by hand. I wonder if that will help give u more control as to how you want to poke?
 
his ears may be sensitive to the approach of metal, I wonder if glass, ceramic, or plastic might cut down on his flinch -- he's usually okay until the point is a millimeter away, then he tosses his head -- so the point of the lancet doesn't go where I was aiming; I thought about using a lancet device, but the noise it makes causes a jerk and flinch too -- I don't want to make it unpleasant enough for him that he won't cooperate at all -- he does come and tell me when he thinks it's test (or food or treat) time, it's just that instant BEFORE the prick that's the problem, he's actually ok if I have to reprick ...
 
he's actually ok if I have to reprick ...
Maybe do a fake poke with your finger or something similar that isn’t the needle.

We do that at work sometimes. I scratch the spot we’re going to poke to collect blood or touch the other end of the clipper and let the animal feel what’s about to happen.
 
my mother the RN told me that hint years ago -- I wish it worked for Catcat -- I've tried a poke with a finger, with the opposite end of the lancet, with a plastic spoon, no problem -- poking with with tweezers, the business end of a ballpoint pen, or the lancet -- there goes the flinch -- either he smells the metal or he sense it --

he lets me collect the droplet with a plastic spoon too, but not a metal one -- maybe it's the temperature differential, (shrug) who knows?
 
That’s interesting! You can certainly try warming up the lancet with your hand??

Do you poke on the back of the ear or the front?
 
oops, looks like New Dose Wonkiness -- more likely the Lantus depot had gotten a bit skimpy due to overnight food or too much playing with his toys and with a length of package ribbon
 
prick on the back of the ear -- if I try it from the front, he sees it and runs, or tries to -- normally I'm kneeling behind him or off to the side, normally he has his nose in the food bowl, as it's a major fight to get a test without food
 
new dose is starting to show, must have begun to refill the depot -- close to the usual value this time of night, time will tell if he's cleared the bounce or the NDW
 
Back
Top