8/16 Minner AMPS 233 PMPS 89

MinnerPip

Member Since 2024
Hello, I don’t know what to do. I thought we had finally gotten to a stable dose at 4.5U as she’s been receiving that 2x daily for a week now. You’ll see in spreadsheet that I had bounced around tweaking among 4, 4.25 and 4.5.

Tonight I took her BG reading pre-shot and it was 89. In many respects this is great. But she’s never been this low. A few times in past few weeks she’s been low 100’s pre-shot and I would feed her and re-check BG a few hours later and give a reduced dose or skip. The notes column explains this.

She is consistently eating ~11-12 grams of dry kibble (purina one kitten) about an hour after each dose. She is also offered Fancy Feast primavera (12.8% carb) and gourmet naturals (5.9% carb) and grilled (15% carb). These dishes stay out all day, she is a grazer. I know this is not ideal, but this is HUGE progress over past 6 weeks since she started insulin. The fact that she is eating any wet food now is amazing. I’ve been trying to slowly get to lower carb wet and she seems to have affinity for gourmet naturals which is a shocker given its very low carb.

She hasn’t had Libre device on in almost 2 weeks b/c her back was a mess and we’re letting it heal so i’ve been doing ear pricks twice daily pre-shot. My plan is/was to put Libre on again after another 2 weeks and try to reduce dry food and move her more to gourmet naturals wet, while i can monitor her closely w/ CGM.

I can only assume her 89 reading pre-shot tonight is due to her mainly only eating the 5.9% carb wet food today and not eating the higher carb wet available to her (???). Could that really make that big of a difference? The 11-12g dry food is the same, she ate that this morning.

My inclination is to either skip her evening dose or give her 3.5 or 4.0U if her BG is back above 200 in a few hours. I fed her the 11-12g dry right after her 89 reading and put out the 5.9% carb and 12.8% carb wet food.

Please help. What do you recommend I do?
 
Hello, I don’t know what to do. I thought we had finally gotten to a stable dose at 4.5U as she’s been receiving that 2x daily for a week now. You’ll see in spreadsheet that I had bounced around tweaking among 4, 4.25 and 4.5.

Tonight I took her BG reading pre-shot and it was 89. In many respects this is great. But she’s never been this low. A few times in past few weeks she’s been low 100’s pre-shot and I would feed her and re-check BG a few hours later and give a reduced dose or skip. The notes column explains this.

She is consistently eating ~11-12 grams of dry kibble (purina one kitten) about an hour after each dose. She is also offered Fancy Feast primavera (12.8% carb) and gourmet naturals (5.9% carb) and grilled (15% carb). These dishes stay out all day, she is a grazer. I know this is not ideal, but this is HUGE progress over past 6 weeks since she started insulin. The fact that she is eating any wet food now is amazing. I’ve been trying to slowly get to lower carb wet and she seems to have affinity for gourmet naturals which is a shocker given its very low carb.

She hasn’t had Libre device on in almost 2 weeks b/c her back was a mess and we’re letting it heal so i’ve been doing ear pricks twice daily pre-shot. My plan is/was to put Libre on again after another 2 weeks and try to reduce dry food and move her more to gourmet naturals wet, while i can monitor her closely w/ CGM.

I can only assume her 89 reading pre-shot tonight is due to her mainly only eating the 5.9% carb wet food today and not eating the higher carb wet available to her (???). Could that really make that big of a difference? The 11-12g dry food is the same, she ate that this morning.

My inclination is to either skip her evening dose or give her 3.5 or 4.0U if her BG is back above 200 in a few hours. I fed her the 11-12g dry right after her 89 reading and put out the 5.9% carb and 12.8% carb wet food.

Please help. What do you recommend I do?

1.25 hours after BG of 89 and eating kibble and some low carb wet, she’s at 115.
 
Im not one of the experts here but when you are doing SLGS anything under 90 earns a decrease of at least 0.25. Did you shoot already? I will tag some people. Also if you use the drop down menu in your title and use ? your question will get answered faster.
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee Theres others, but those are the two that always help me.
 
Hello. Here’s your last post for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-13-minner-amps-200-4

Are you still giving R? Since you are feeding some dry food and a lot of middle carb if you follow one of our methods it would be SLGS. You don’t want to shoot under 100 and a reduction as mentioned above has been earned with that PMPS of 89. The new dose going forward will be 4.25. You don’t have any nadir tests so we don’t know how long she’s been going either during the day or night for several days. When you decide to feed and check later to see if it’s safe to shoot you only want to give a small amount of low carb and see if the bg rises. Did you feed again? If not you could see the bg two hours after she ate and decide whether to shoot if you can be that late shooting. It will throw you off schedule though as you don’t want to shoot more than 30 minutes early e er 24 hours, either all at once or 15 minutes each cycle. Since it only went up to 115 after dry food I’d probably skip.
 
Thank you JoM.

I have not given PM dose yet. I just did ear prick again, now 3 hours past her PM dose time and since her 89 reading and eating. It’s now 257.

I don’t know what to do. I’m scared to dose her when I don’t know how much to give. At same time 257 is a big uptick in 3 hours since 89. If I had no forum and group of seasoned people to advise me, I would probably wait until early AM to dose again. But if it’s “safe” to give her maybe 3.5 or 4.0 now that she’s at 257, then I will. That would be a 0.5 - 0.75U reduction below the 4.5U she’s been getting for past 7 days.

Will wait for advice.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Why don’t you give a token dose of 2 units and the new dose in the morning. She might be bouncing from the 89 but she did eat. Leave out food when you go to bed.
 
Thank you JoM.

Will wait for advice.
Im glad Elise was able to help. It can be so scary when something unexpected happens and you dont know what to do. These ladies have been so much help for me here. I dont know what I would have done without them. Believe it does get better. Karamelle was diagnosed this past Dec. I was a mess at first and so confused. But things are much better now and even tho I still cant get her regulated I understand a lot more how to handle things.
 
Im glad Elise was able to help. It can be so scary when something unexpected happens and you dont know what to do. These ladies have been so much help for me here. I dont know what I would have done without them. Believe it does get better. Karamelle was diagnosed this past Dec. I was a mess at first and so confused. But things are much better now and even tho I still cant get her regulated I understand a lot more how to handle things.
I am so grateful for this community and the kind and knowledgeable people here. Yes, I was a disaster and terrified a mere 6-8 weeks ago when this all started. It is very up and down now. I am so afraid of a hypo event. My vet says “too high is always better than too low” so I am probably letting her be higher than I should out of fear of hypo. The food is our main issue. She is so picky and stubborn. Yet there has been progress here. At least she is eating some wet now whereas she refused it almost completely before. The Cat Man Doo dried chicken is her new love, and sprinkled on wet food works, but it might be causing some coughing (at first suspected hairball but now after withholding and restarting I do think this dried chicken could be causing delayed, many hours later, brief coughing spell). Sigh. Solve one problem and face a new problem.

She is starving and I’m trying to wait until 11.5 hours since giving her the 2U last night so I can feed her, per the advice from Elise. It’s been only 10 hours right now, but her BG is at 242.

I haven’t given her R in many weeks. I’m hesitant to do that until I can get a Libre back on her once her back gets totally healed. The glue really stays on a long time and even now 2 wks since Libre removal, she is still trying to lick at her back. More sighs.

Thank you again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
I would not give R. If you want to use it you need careful guidance. I’ve never used it. What might help a little with your fear of low numbers is to know you can always put honey on her gums if under 50 and refusing to eat. If you can find wet or raw food she loves and will eat willingly you will have the tool to keep her safe. Keep trying like you are. It DOES get easier.
 
Back
Top