MinnerPip
Active Member
Hello, I don’t know what to do. I thought we had finally gotten to a stable dose at 4.5U as she’s been receiving that 2x daily for a week now. You’ll see in spreadsheet that I had bounced around tweaking among 4, 4.25 and 4.5.
Tonight I took her BG reading pre-shot and it was 89. In many respects this is great. But she’s never been this low. A few times in past few weeks she’s been low 100’s pre-shot and I would feed her and re-check BG a few hours later and give a reduced dose or skip. The notes column explains this.
She is consistently eating ~11-12 grams of dry kibble (purina one kitten) about an hour after each dose. She is also offered Fancy Feast primavera (12.8% carb) and gourmet naturals (5.9% carb) and grilled (15% carb). These dishes stay out all day, she is a grazer. I know this is not ideal, but this is HUGE progress over past 6 weeks since she started insulin. The fact that she is eating any wet food now is amazing. I’ve been trying to slowly get to lower carb wet and she seems to have affinity for gourmet naturals which is a shocker given its very low carb.
She hasn’t had Libre device on in almost 2 weeks b/c her back was a mess and we’re letting it heal so i’ve been doing ear pricks twice daily pre-shot. My plan is/was to put Libre on again after another 2 weeks and try to reduce dry food and move her more to gourmet naturals wet, while i can monitor her closely w/ CGM.
I can only assume her 89 reading pre-shot tonight is due to her mainly only eating the 5.9% carb wet food today and not eating the higher carb wet available to her (???). Could that really make that big of a difference? The 11-12g dry food is the same, she ate that this morning.
My inclination is to either skip her evening dose or give her 3.5 or 4.0U if her BG is back above 200 in a few hours. I fed her the 11-12g dry right after her 89 reading and put out the 5.9% carb and 12.8% carb wet food.
Please help. What do you recommend I do?
Tonight I took her BG reading pre-shot and it was 89. In many respects this is great. But she’s never been this low. A few times in past few weeks she’s been low 100’s pre-shot and I would feed her and re-check BG a few hours later and give a reduced dose or skip. The notes column explains this.
She is consistently eating ~11-12 grams of dry kibble (purina one kitten) about an hour after each dose. She is also offered Fancy Feast primavera (12.8% carb) and gourmet naturals (5.9% carb) and grilled (15% carb). These dishes stay out all day, she is a grazer. I know this is not ideal, but this is HUGE progress over past 6 weeks since she started insulin. The fact that she is eating any wet food now is amazing. I’ve been trying to slowly get to lower carb wet and she seems to have affinity for gourmet naturals which is a shocker given its very low carb.
She hasn’t had Libre device on in almost 2 weeks b/c her back was a mess and we’re letting it heal so i’ve been doing ear pricks twice daily pre-shot. My plan is/was to put Libre on again after another 2 weeks and try to reduce dry food and move her more to gourmet naturals wet, while i can monitor her closely w/ CGM.
I can only assume her 89 reading pre-shot tonight is due to her mainly only eating the 5.9% carb wet food today and not eating the higher carb wet available to her (???). Could that really make that big of a difference? The 11-12g dry food is the same, she ate that this morning.
My inclination is to either skip her evening dose or give her 3.5 or 4.0U if her BG is back above 200 in a few hours. I fed her the 11-12g dry right after her 89 reading and put out the 5.9% carb and 12.8% carb wet food.
Please help. What do you recommend I do?