8/16 Jack 69@+11hrsPM, 85@AMPS, 90 @+30mins AM- what to do now?

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
I don't know what to do with his insulin now. He has never been this low. I must leave the house to take care of banking business with my ex-husband today, it has been arranged for months. I have to leave at 11am EDT I'll be out for at least 7 hours with the drive time. Jack seems fine, but I can't give him 9.5 units of insulin with these numbers. Someone please tell me what to do, I am freaking out. Should I give him kibble or wet food? He is just starting to finally eat wet food....if I don't give him any insulin, I'm worried he will go high later... I feel like Im playing beat the clock here....thanks in advance

Edit to say I read some sticky's and I still don't know what to do, other than test every 30 mins and he seems to be going up steadily. I don't know how to put these half hour number on his SS. And now, if I give him insulin which it seems maybe I should, when does he get it again? 12 hours from the time I give it to him? and how do I put that on the SS?


yesterday:https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...138-5hrs-am-holding-9-5u.267165/#post-2989640
 
Last edited:
Christine - I’m sorry none of the veterans to the site have chimed in yet… replying to bump you back to the top!

I understand not knowing what to do! Since you won’t be home, would you consider a half or token dose?
 
Christine - I’m sorry none of the veterans to the site have chimed in yet… replying to bump you back to the top!

I understand not knowing what to do! Since you won’t be home, would you consider a half or token dose?
I will consider anything. I've been stalling but don't know what to do .Seems like he should have some insulin, I haven;t fed anyone yet, haven't given him anything yet, and he is rising. I just don;t know what he will eat or how much insulin to give him. And TYVM for your reply and bump.

Edit to add- And now he's 103 so he needs some insulin, just how much?
 
I see it looks like you shot a 114 before and he was okay. But you were able to monitor so it was different. Since you will not be home, you can shoot a reduced dose - a half dose perhaps.

so you are one hour past shot time now?
 
So you can monitor just the first part of the cycle. If he were my cat and I had to be gone for a long time, I would not shoot the full dose. You can even shoot a really small dose or skip entirely. You can get him back on track. It will be okay. But it sounds like you will also be late for the evening shot?
 
So you can monitor just the first part of the cycle. If he were my cat and I had to be gone for a long time, I would not shoot the full dose. You can even shoot a really small dose or skip entirely. You can get him back on track. It will be okay. But it sounds like you will also be late for the evening shot?
I don't know when to give him teh evening shot. 12 hours from when he would have had it if i didn;t stall or 12 hours from when i shoot now?
 
And then you can adjust back to your regular shot time by 30 minutes per day - so technically you could shoot tonight 11 hours and 30 minutes from this morning’s shot time. Hope this makes sense.
 
Well you definitely do not want to shoot before 12 hours from when you shoot this morning.
ok, i just took another test, he is 116 and 0.2 blood ketones. What if I give him 7 units, leave dry food out and then give him his pm shot at the regular time? he will probably be high especially with kibble available all day
 
@Jack & Mopem'sMom I know you are full of stress and anxiety right now . :bighug::bighug:. Amazing how your mind trick on feeding everyone else wet worked! These cats! Amazing results, horrible timing though.
They are just too much! And yes, good progress, horrible timing. Thank you again for your input and support. I'm really amazed how fast his BG dropped on 2 days of more wet than dry. His body is CRAZY
 
Just want to say a HUGE THANK YOU to all of you this morning. Mr Jack has the worst timing, and made an already anxiety and tension filled day worse with his numbers. I was truly in a panic earlier and it is due to all of your support, advice, calmness, interest and devotion to these crazy sugar kitties that Jack and I have a chance at getting through the day. You are all amazing and I am so truly thankful and blessed by your help. @Suzanne & Darcy , @Angela & Cleo , @Sugar’s Mama - you ladies are the best! I hope the Universe sends you many blessings for your kindness today. :bighug:
 
Just an update; 131 at one hour after 7 units of insulin and 99% wet food. I did let him have about 10 pieces of Dr Elsey's kibble since he was still looking for something after he walked away from the wet. If Jack holds his pattern, he will be higher the next hour and possibly the hour after that as well. His insulin generally takes 2-3 hours to kick in. Today is just going to be a crazy number day I suppose.
 
Just want to say a HUGE THANK YOU to all of you this morning. Mr Jack has the worst timing, and made an already anxiety and tension filled day worse with his numbers. I was truly in a panic earlier and it is due to all of your support, advice, calmness, interest and devotion to these crazy sugar kitties that Jack and I have a chance at getting through the day. You are all amazing and I am so truly thankful and blessed by your help. @Suzanne & Darcy , @Angela & Cleo , @Sugar’s Mama - you ladies are the best! I hope the Universe sends you many blessings for your kindness today. :bighug:
I was glad to be there. I was sitting in my car waiting... at a distance... for any feral cats to go into my traps. Nobody did, sadly, but I was just on my phone and saw the tag. Don't know that I did very much, but it helps to know there are people out there giving moral support. Angela & Cleo and Sugar's Mama always seem to be in the right place at the right time :-) I hope your day will not be too difficult (sounds like no fun).
 
Oooh Jack does not like delayed insulin. 187@ +2hrs and now 245@+3 hrs. I really hope the insulin starts to kick in soon. I will have one more reading before I leave at 11
 
Today was a great day for gathering data on what happens if you shoot lower numbers with Jack. Trust me, he WILL do this to you again. Hopefully when not so inconvenient a time. :cat: Don't worry about him being high, be glad he'll be safe while you are gone. He will recover from this blip. Pretend it was a fur shot. :p
 
Yes… because if you had been able to be home and monitor then you could have shot the new dose of 9 units. But they always do this stuff at inconvenient times. See how the depot kind of helped him for the first part of the cycle (well and maybe still is a little bit). Just don’t forget about how he did earn a reduction for tonight.
 
Back
Top