8/16 Ember AMPS 373

Previous post has some info from vets and I need some help deciding her dosage

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-15-ember-pmps-154.293160/

I skipped her PM shot 8/15, vets saying i should do .5u once per day (regardless of numbers, unless shes below 100 at time of shot) but this feels like the wrong way to reduce her dose.

i will update her spreadsheet when I can, but posting this now on mobile so I can hopefully have an answer in 4 hours when its time for her am shot.

she’s currently at 227.
 
I give you an advice we have been with diabetes for some time and he made me reach an agreement with his vet, I could not listen to the vet about dosage and the forum at the same time, I had to make a decision, and I let myself be guided by the forum ... here people have much more experience than any vet. I did crazy things with the way the vet was telling me that now that I understand more about diabetes I think my cat could have died with overdose. Currently the vet does not get into my cat's dosage .only to do analytics and little else.
 
I give you an advice we have been with diabetes for some time and he made me reach an agreement with his vet, I could not listen to the vet about dosage and the forum at the same time, I had to make a decision, and I let myself be guided by the forum ... here people have much more experience than any vet. I did crazy things with the way the vet was telling me that now that I understand more about diabetes I think my cat could have died with overdose. Currently the vet does not get into my cat's dosage .only to do analytics and little else.
Yes, I am definitely concerned with the vets suggestion! Especially since they are not going to be available to answer questions on a daily basis.

I guess I will just work to find the dose that works, decreasing as I need to. Since I skipped last night, she’s up to the 300s. I’ll give her the full .5u dose this morning and reassess for the PM shot whether I do a full or reduced dose.
 
You can administer 0.25 if 0.50 seems too much ... you will start to know how your cat reacts. But you should read the forum manuals carefully. If you opt for TR you have to take everything into account why it is a riskier method .. but for my part I would not let the vet advise you of dosage would collect information from the forum and continue. The vet is not available 24 hours a day, but the forum is.
 
Back
Top