8/15Ravan/+5 427/pmps 376/+5 94/+6 111/+9 110/

Status
Not open for further replies.
Will he ever stop gong into black? Seeing that ruins my entire day. I just want to crawl back into bed & cry!
 
Someone here once said that the #'s don't mean anything. Well for me those #'s rule my life for the last 6 & a half months! Those numbers determine if I'll be smiling & joking around today Or crying & wondering if it will ever get better. It's exhausting, stressful & a source of depression for ME!
I guess it doesn't affect everyone like that. I am VERY disturbed by those NUMBERS!!
 
Someone here once said that the #'s don't mean anything. Well for me those #'s rule my life for the last 6 & a half months! Those numbers determine if I'll be smiling & joking around today Or crying & wondering if it will ever get better. It's exhausting, stressful & a source of depression for ME!
I guess it doesn't affect everyone like that. I am VERY disturbed by those NUMBERS!!
The numbers had the EXACT same affect on me. Every.Single.Test.
 
How's he acting??

He's the same. Eating OK. Sleeping a LOT. Still leaking urine everywhere he lays.Poor little boy is limping real bad for a week now. I gave him his second shot of Adequan yesterday. I'm "praying" it will help his sore bones.

He broke his leg many years ago & had surgery on his back leg. Vet thinks he has arthritis now. It seems to me a lot of the cats here have multiple problems. I think it's all caused by the Diabetes. None of my cats from years ago ever had arthritis or any of these other problems either. Many of them lived to be into their 20's

I'll never understand why Ravan even got Diabetes? He ate a raw meat diet & he's never been overweight. And kidney disease & pancreatitis? I suppose it's genetics.

It's not right that these little,loving beings have to suffer!
 
He's the same. Eating OK. Sleeping a LOT. Still leaking urine everywhere he lays.Poor little boy is limping real bad for a week now. I gave him his second shot of Adequan yesterday. I'm "praying" it will help his sore bones.

He broke his leg many years ago & had surgery on his back leg. Vet thinks he has arthritis now. It seems to me a lot of the cats here have multiple problems. I think it's all caused by the Diabetes. None of my cats from years ago ever had arthritis or any of these other problems either. Many of them lived to be into their 20's

I'll never understand why Ravan even got Diabetes? He ate a raw meat diet & he's never been overweight. And kidney disease & pancreatitis? I suppose it's genetics.

It's not right that these little,loving beings have to suffer!
So sad to hear this. I’m really sorry for the both of you...
 
Someone here once said that the #'s don't mean anything. Well for me those #'s rule my life for the last 6 & a half months! Those numbers determine if I'll be smiling & joking around today Or crying & wondering if it will ever get better. It's exhausting, stressful & a source of depression for ME!
I guess it doesn't affect everyone like that. I am VERY disturbed by those NUMBERS!!
I’m gonna say he’s bouncing from those blues yesterday, I’m sorry your down:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
If he were mine, I would increase, 3 cycles, no greens,

Is a cycle 12 hrs or 24 hrs?

I was told that an increase can raise the BG for up to 3 days. I've had a few "Failed" increases so I thought I'd wait till the end of today & increase tomorrow AM if he doesn't go to green?

How's Bella doing with the increase? I don't see any #'s on his SS?
 
Last edited:
Is a cycle 12 hrs or 24 hrs?

I was told that an increase can raise the BG for up to 3 days. I've has a few "Failed" increases so I thought I'd wait till the end of today & increase tomorrow AM if he doesn't go to green?

How's Bella doing with the increase? I don't see any #'s on his SS?
From amps to pmps or vice versa
He was blue when I left, it’s on ss now, I guess since I haven’t done it in several days I forgot to add the +2 lol
I increased this am
 
Yes, you hold the dose at least three DAYS or six cycles if seeing blues, before evaluating it and deciding if he needs an increase. I would increase now.

The why of diabetes is not easy to answer. Neko was on a low carb diet when she got diabetes, but it was caused by her pituitary tumour. A lot of diabetes is not as simple as being overweight and eating high carb food or steroids. Secondary conditions, such as pancreatitis can also play a role. The endocrine is complicated.
 
I would increase now.

Ravan went to 58 on .25F dose. Now tonight he got Green BG 94. I think I should hold this dose a bit longer?
When he was on .75 he dropped into low 40's 2 X's I don't want to increase too soon & have to go back to .5.
 
Last edited:
Yes, you hold the dose at least three DAYS or six cycles if seeing blues, before evaluating it and deciding if he needs an increase. I would increase now.

The why of diabetes is not easy to answer. Neko was on a low carb diet when she got diabetes, but it was caused by her pituitary tumour. A lot of diabetes is not as simple as being overweight and eating high carb food or steroids. Secondary conditions, such as pancreatitis can also play a role. The endocrine is complicated.
I’m glad you explained that, i thought it was due to me feeding HC, his tooth abscess, (I’ve seen where people always ask how are the teeth) now maybe some guilt will go away, so now I’m guessing maybe teeth, as he was diagnosed about 2 months later
 
I’m glad you explained that, i thought it was due to me feeding HC, his tooth abscess, (I’ve seen where people always ask how are the teeth) now maybe some guilt will go away, so now I’m guessing maybe teeth, as he was diagnosed about 2 months later
You should never feel guilty about his FB. I did as well, at first. WE DIDNT KNOW. Would any of us had fed our cats high carb dry food if we had known it could very well lead to them developing a lifelong disease? I think not. So.... no guilt. We all do what we think is right when we don’t know any different. Now we know. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top