8/15 Simon AMPS 164, +5 66, +9 89, PMPS 82, PMBG 91

I will be back in 30 minutes. I asked Jayla to join us since she had a similar experience minus the nausea. That’s frankly what makes me be cautious.
Okay thanks. Plus the road to the nearest ER is closed right now because of a fire. So that option will probably not be available to me.
 
Did you get a BG test before feeding? You could get one still. I shouldn't have piled on so quickly and started confusing things! I got a little excited!
It's important, as has been said, that you are comfortable. All data is great:)
I just got one, it was 91. This is after eating, but honestly I can never get him to eat very much. All piling on is appreciated! I know you are trying to help and I am grateful :)
 
So when you stall you don’t feed You are checking to see if they come up to a number you can shoot. If you feed it’s good influenced. When they are on insulin and you wait too long to feed some go up but some keep falling and then you css as my shoot. TR would have you shoot. Usually they have a nice flat cycle and stay green. If they really need a reduction though they will fall under 50 and you know to reduce.
 
So when you stall you don’t feed You are checking to see if they come up to a number you can shoot. If you feed it’s good influenced. When they are on insulin and you wait too long to feed some go up but some keep falling and then you css as my shoot. TR would have you shoot. Usually they have a nice flat cycle and stay green. If they really need a reduction though they will fall under 50 and you know to reduce.
Okay got it. I feel too stressed out about shooting. If he experiences a BG increase tomorrow or the next day, I will know that these skipped shots have drained the depot and he is still relying on that for regulation. If his numbers hold tomorrow, I will know that his pancreas is at least functioning to some extent.
 
I am also thinking - depending on where he is tomorrow preshot, that I should just move to 0.25 and see if we an get back to a consistent am/pm dose for a bit. Get off the see-saw?
 
I do think his pancreas is functioning. That’s why the initial dose was too big. I was just going to suggest what you just wrote. When Max first became diabetic my vet had him in 1 unit. At his office he was 60 after a short time on a pet meter. My vet had me stop insulin for three weeks. He should have had me reduce his dose. Max wasn’t in remission. It was my fault though because I wasn’t testing. My vet was playing it safe.

I think I’d give .25 in the morning.
 
There aren’t any consequences in skipping tonight. Better a day too high than ever too low! Relax! Take some you time. It’s just one shot. I skipped three weeks.
Thank you so much! I needed to hear this! You have been so awesome - I really appreciate all of your advice!
 
Back
Top