8/15 Simon AMPS 164, +5 66, +9 89, PMPS 82, PMBG 91

Kyle & Simon (GA)

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

Good morning! Shifted my shot time to 7 am/7 pm. Maybe this will give Simon a bit more fuel in the tank for the next few cycles, and allow me to get some extra post pm tests? Gave a solid 0.5 this am. Hoping for a good day!
 
Great start for a missed shot last night;)

This has prolly been discussed in Simon's previous thread(condo).....
You moved shot time by 30 minutes per day or 15 minutes per cycle?
 
Great start for a missed shot last night;)

This has prolly been discussed in Simon's previous thread(condo).....
You moved shot time by 30 minutes per day or 15 minutes per cycle?
Good morning ☀️! Since I skipped the dose last night I thought I had more flexibility? I may have misunderstood some advice I received last night?
 
Good morning Ms. Kyle! I also assumed wrongly you were a man;) I was super impressed with your communication style, lol!!
Since you skipped last night, I believe it's fine that you jumped into your new schedule.
Isn't that right @Briere Fur Mom, since last night was a skip?
Thank you yes I thought @tiffmaxee would guess my gender after I told her I cried when I looked at her spreadsheet ! I should probably change my name for online forums- no one really uses their real name anyway right?
 
Good morning. Not a bad start at all after skipping! I was just reading a post by a vet on one of the boards I’ve mentioned. He again said with chlorambucil on board give 8mg of cerenia and for many ondansetron at 4 mg 3 times a day often works better for nausea. I then remembered that my lymphoma kitty got 4 mg of ondansetron 2 times a day but that was 11 years ago! I like your shot time much better.
 
Good morning. Not a bad start at all after skipping! I was just reading a post by a vet on one of the boards I’ve mentioned. He again said with chlorambucil on board give 8mg of cerenia and for many ondansetron at 4 mg 3 times a day often works better for nausea. I then remembered that my lymphoma kitty got 4 mg of ondansetron 2 times a day but that was 11 years ago! I like your shot time much better.
Wow I need to check out that board. That is a lot of meds -what a bummer chlorambucil is so harsh! I will try it though- getting Simon to eat is critical obviously! Yes I’m hoping this new time will give us more flexibility- especially at night if I am having a freak out session!
 
Thank you yes I thought @tiffmaxee would guess my gender after I told her I cried when I looked at her spreadsheet ! I should probably change my name for online forums- no one really uses their real name anyway right?

I think most people do use their real first names. I get called Tina, which I don't mind at all! I'm Jan though! It looks like most put their name before their kitty's name. I used to think Elise was Tiffany before I looked a lot closer. I like "Kyle & Simon":):cat:
 
I think most people do use their real first names. I get called Tina, which I don't mind at all! I'm Jan though! It looks like most put their name before their kitty's name. I used to think Elise was Tiffany before I looked a lot closer. I like "Kyle & Simon":):cat:
Aww thanks @Tina Marie and Jan ! I like my name and sometimes having people assume I am a man works to my advantage I think ;)
 
Kyle, have you considered seeing if there’s a tech at your vet’s office that would like to earn a little extra money and would be willing to come to your place and help you test? I had to do this with my first cat when she needed fluids. When my next one needed fluids I burst into tears! A woman at the ER turned me on to a nurse at her vet’s office. She came only once and my neighbor who hates people but loves cats came over too. We learned how together. It won’t take two and likely just one or two times for you to better get the hang of getting blood from the ear. Fluids for some cats is way harder. I taught my nephew and after a couple of times he got fluids down. Do you poke from the outside or inside? I always did it from the inside freehand. Just a thought.
 
Kyle, have you considered seeing if there’s a tech at your vet’s office that would like to earn a little extra money and would be willing to come to your place and help you test? I had to do this with my first cat when she needed fluids. When my next one needed fluids I burst into tears! A woman at the ER turned me on to a nurse at her vet’s office. She came only once and my neighbor who hates people but loves cats came over too. We learned how together. It won’t take two and likely just one or two times for you to better get the hang of getting blood from the ear. Fluids for some cats is way harder. I taught my nephew and after a couple of times he got fluids down. Do you poke from the outside or inside? I always did it from the inside freehand. Just a thought.
Thank you for this suggestion @tiffmaxee! I know I will get the hang of this once I figure out what works best for me & Simon. Unfortunately we are still going through a lot of trial and error! I have always considered myself to be good at stuff like this since I worked on a number of wildlife studies early in my career- pit tagging, ear tagging, trapping, weighing, and even performing minor surgeries on small mammals. I am great with pilling and shots and fluids, but for some reason this ear thing has really been hard. I tried buying a different lancing device today (worse), different size guages (no difference), warming the ear longer (helped), and finally went back to lancing by hand (worked, finally!). I think Simons ears need ALOT of warming, and then I need to be pretty precise with the prick -which means I need to stay calm and have a steady hand. I worry so much about hurting him I know that is interfering. I have to remind myself that it has only been one week and I am still learning.
 
That’s a good nadir. Feed a little if she will eat. After skipping getting these numbers shows she was definitely on too much Lantus.
Right? Unfortunately part of our problem this morning was that after Simon ate very well this am, I shoved 8 mg of Cerenia and 2 mg of Ondansetron down his throat followed by a hefty syringe full of water, and I inadvertently induced vomiting. Probably pilled him too soon after eating? Anyway, up came all of that lovely fancy feast :(!! He hasn't wanted to eat since and I want to wait a bit before pilling him again. So we are having a rough day all around! :blackeye::blackeye:
 
Poor boy! With those drugs you want to give about 30 minutes before feeding. and follow with a syringe of water. Have you ever put the pills in an empty gel capsule? That way you can combine them into one capsule. They make them cat size. The larger the number the smaller the capsule. I like size 3 and 4. You can buy on amazon or from capsuline.com. Also feed smaller amounts more often as opposed to a lot all at once.

I’m mixing up my he/she again. That’s because I now have two girls. :joyful:
 
I have been trying to get a sample since +2 if that gives you any idea how my day is going! Finally here we are at +5 with a 66!
*ignore Me lol just saw you tried warming the ear! Hope it gets better for you. I use a make up pad/sponge under the ear when I prick it so I don’t get pricked and I have something “sturdy” to work with.

Do you use a heated sock of rice? It was a game changer for getting enough blood from Kitten when I switched to the human monitor.
 
*ignore Me lol just saw you tried warming the ear! Hope it gets better for you. I use a make up pad/sponge under the ear when I prick it so I don’t get pricked and I have something “sturdy” to work with.

Do you use a heated sock of rice? It was a game changer for getting enough blood from Kitten when I switched to the human monitor.
Thanks for the suggestions @KittenTheCat ! Everyone is so kind and helpful here. I just started using the rice method yesterday and it definitely seems to help!
 
Poor boy! With those drugs you want to give about 30 minutes before feeding. and follow with a syringe of water. Have you ever put the pills in an empty gel capsule? That way you can combine them into one capsule. They make them cat size. The larger the number the smaller the capsule. I like size 3 and 4. You can buy on amazon or from capsuline.com. Also feed smaller amounts more often as opposed to a lot all at once.

I’m mixing up my he/she again. That’s because I now have two girls. :joyful:
Boy/girl its all good! :p
Yes I NEED to buy those gel capsules for sure, especially now that he is getting several pills at once. Plus I think the Cerenia tastes awful so this might make it less yucky for him. I pretty much offer him a variety of different wet food every 1-2 hours and then leave it for him if he wants it. After about 2 hours, I throw away what he didn't eat (most of it usually) and try again. It is SO wasteful and depressing :(:confused:!
 
I used mine and Luci's real names :) Although some people only reply to 'Luci'...I think they know she can't read...

Well...for the most part...she can't read ... I think...:facepalm:
 
Amazon has size 3 and 4 gel capsules. You get get prime delivery tomorrow. Get either size 3 or 4. There’s not a huge size difference. Capsuline has a size chart.
 
Because of his other issues I agree with you. Others won’t. He seems to be surfing. How’s his appetite?
 
You could say SLGS, and shoot .25u (you had an under 90)
Looking at your skip last night, then the AMPS this morning is why I might lean toward the .25u
That would probably be what I would shoot IF you see BG coming up in the next 15-20 minutes. Of course you need to consider your ability to test, and personally I used my intuition (or Know thy Cat) quite a bit.
 
Kyle having had a cat that was steroid induced I would not shoot this number-he is holding after a skipped shot which indicates his pancreas works. I know others disagree but this is a different situation and we aren't sure if he is even a true diabetic...:bighug:
I agree actually I am dubious that he has diabetes. I could try 0.1 just to keep a little in the tank, and prevent another bump up like he had earlier this week. I feel comfortable with that.
 
Back
Top