8/15 Checkers...pmps/406

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22391

Good Morning.
Thank you everybody who responded yesterday.
He slept on my bed the entire night, did not get off at all, that I know of, and I slept only for a couple hours.

This morning, he came into living room, and walked around, before going under table.
I put him in LB, and he peed nicely. Is more alert today.

He still wouldn't voluntarily eat, BUT, I made a gruel from FF, and he willingly ate from syringe; a total of approx 4 teaspoons. No fighting the syringe, and seemed glad to have the food.

He licked the drops from his foot, and licked it off his chest!!!!

No one is on here right now...don't know how long to wait to see if he keeps this food down, so need to shoot.
He stayed in blue yesterday, even with no food on board.....please let me be doing right by shooting.
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372..SHOOT??? Help please

Ronnie, I peobably didnt update yesterday ..too upset, and if i do it now it will freeze my computer and i wont be able to look at your response
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372..SHOOT??? Help please

k, I saw that, it's ok dont worry about SS right now


this is a tough one, if there's not enough eating we worry
if we dont shoot, we worry too

I'm wondering about getting some insulin in - how long can you stall?

If anyone is around, please chime in
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372..SHOOT??? Help please

yesterday amps 338
threw up after +3/268
131/+7
159 at doc...+8
317 +11
no shot last nite.....no food all day
320 at +15........before bed at 11 pm
no food for 24 hours until this morning's syringe
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372..SHOOT??? Help please

have you tried baby food? tuna and tuna juice?

last ketones check was last nite, negative, so that s good
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372..SHOOT??? Help please

I have to shoot. I will be here all day, watching.
He is now bathing. Can crisis possible be over???
He is 10 minutes past normal shot time now, so going to shoot.
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372..SHOOT??? Help please

I'm sorry Barb, I do think he needs insulin, but the not eating enough is worrysome.
try baby food if you have it and tuna, whatever he likes.
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372.amps

Going to edit headline before I go shoot.
Yes Ronnie, I've tried tuna, his alltime favorite. He sniffs and turns his head away, but did enjoy the gruel.
I am going to check dental records. I'm sure it was just a few months ago.
Thank you for staying with me. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372..SHOOT??? Help please

k, what about some dry kibble?
I know I know, but he needs to have food on board.



keep us posted k?
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372..SHOOT??? Help please

I had to take the chance. I gave 1 unit instead of normal 1.5. I'm not that brave.
He is staying in the living room napping, which is encouraging. Yesterday, he hid under my bed the entire day.

Oh, and Ronnie...I did offer dry kibble, :roll: he turned his face away.
Now I need to think about something else, so gonna visit condos.
Thank you again for holding my hand. :smile:

I
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372.

As long as you have gravy and the syringe, I think you will be okay. If he doesn't eat, then you
will do the same as you did earlier. But keep watching him.

Did the vet say nothing on Wed about his teeth? Something might have happened in his mouth and now the eating is bothering him. For the lack of anything better to say... :roll:
But it is good news that he is not under the bed. That is a good sign.
Maybe the syringed feeding will jump start his appetite. Do you have any freeze-dried chicken?
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372.

I have gravy, and freeze dried chicken, which he loves.
Doc mentioned yesterday, that maybe he got something bad to eat. My mind turned to the new can of chicken.
I had to fish the can out of the garbage, for label. Nothing in it but chicken breast, water, salt. No chemicals, no msg.
Teeth were quickly looked at yesterday, but if he has a bad one in back, causing pain, he probably wouldn't have seen it. I need to look into that again.
Did I mention, he was bathing a little while ago? I'm still scared, but encouraged at his attitude this morning.
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372.

Well Barb, keep a vigilant eye on him...(know you will!!) but sometimes, just sometimes, these kitties do these things and we never, ever get the real story. it just passes. I sincerely hope that this is the case with Checkers...(very unsettling though, isn't it?)
Try to figure out when his lat dental was...that is an obvious next step for the lack of anything better...
Hope you two have a good day... HUGS! :YMHUG:

ETA: I just read your post in Mocha's condo...I do the same thing...I lean over him and he lays down and stays...just like you do!! I can just imagine me flailing around in the tub, legs up and head hurting...LOL I need something solid and steady and preferably waist high...although I have tried grabbing tests when I didn't want to disturb him. Always glad no one is watching when I contort myself at those times! :lol:
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372.

I hope Checkers is feeling better. How scary for you. Mannie did this about three months ago - very unnerving. It came and went, the next day it was as if nothing had happened. I also shot a reduced dose that day - just too uneasy about shooting with so little food on board. Good luck, and I hope checkers is on the mend.
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372.

Hi Barb, I'm glad to hear that Checkers appears to be feeling better. It's so worrying when they don't feel good! Getting some food into him with syringing is good, and his behavior sounds promising. I know you'll keep a close eye on him! Feel better Checkers! Keep us posted, ok?
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372.

Hi Ronnie, he is still napping, but moved from chair to couch. He's sleeping on his back right now, with his little white feet curled, and acting just normal.
I will try food again, in a little while. Just wanted to be certain he kept the gruel down first.
Thanks for asking. :smile:

Looked at records; he had dental in March. I suppose he could have developed a problem in 5 months...couldn't he"
I'm suspicious of teeth, because of the way he tilted his head, and worked his mouth yesterday morning.
Also today, he was very willing to swallow the syringed gruel, but turned his face away from plate of food.
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372.

Hi Barb, It's good that you shot a smaller dose. We hope that he will be eating soon. Do try the baby food and use a syringe if you have to. Come on, Checkers! Feel better and eat a little something! Stu will be over later with some chicken broth.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372.

sorry you had such an awful night, our babies can give us quite the scare.
Sounds like Checkers is doing so much better today. Sending healing vines
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372~+2.5/259

He ate another 1&1/2 teas. gruel. It's not a lot of food, but he has kept it down.
He still wouldn't eat solid food, but I convinced him to taste some strawberry yogurt. Yes, I know, sugar, but at this point, I am thrilled that he volunteered to eat anything. Not just lick the saucer, but stood up to get it better. He ate about a teaspoon.
I'm so cautiously happy!

Sorry for all the updates, but I ramble when I'm nervous.
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372~+2.5/259

Thanks for the update Barb. I'm glad to see frequent updates! It's good that he is voluntarily eating something, no worries about what it is when they won't eat....anything is better than nothing! Are you able to get some rest? You must be exhausted! Don't forget to take care of you, too! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372~+2.5/259

I am really glad that Checkers seems to feel better and that you're getting some food into him. I second Ronnie's suggestion of baby food. The chicken or the turkey are low carb and have no salt and the kitties usually love it. And if you have to use the syringe, it's easier to get the baby food through the syringe than cat food. Just some thoughts...

Sending eating vines to Checkers today. Take care of your self too, Barb.
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372~+2.5/259

I hope Checkers continues to feel better today. Sending eating vines and feel better vines. Have you tried putting freeze dried treats in water, it make a pretty good gruel too.
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372~+2.5/259

So far, he's been accepting the syringe feedings. I thin the FF with water.

Now don't yell at me, my psyche can't take it. This is the first time Checkers has been sick.
In my desire to get him to eat something...anything....on his own, I offered him a teaspoon of strawberry yogurt. He ate it
Later he came out from under the table when he smelled melon, so cut up tiny pieces and he ate about a teas. of that.
Okay so those were bad, but I felt if I could just get him started.
Later, he did eat a little FF chicken, sprinkled with Fortiflora, from a saucer

Here's where you're not supposed to yell at me. :roll: His +8 is 437. Yikes!
But.. but.. but....I need him to eat!!!
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372~+2.5/259

yes, he needs to eat, for right now whatever gets him interested in food is ok. It might be hard to break the habit when he feels better. :roll:

How much has Checkers eaten today? You want to be sure you're feeding enough to prevent hepatic lipidosis. Keep track of how much you're feeding, write down the ounces before you water it down. You might find it easier to syringe small amounts every 2-3 hours, on a regular schedule. Hopefully the naughty fruit and yogurt will get him interested in food again. Sometimes that's all it takes.
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372~+2.5/259

Hi again, Barb, Glad to hear that Checkers is eating something, even forbidden fruit. You could try giving him plain Greek yogurt. He might eat it all before he realizes there aren't strawberries in it! Healing vines for a good day tomorrow.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/15 Checkers amps 372~+2.5/259

Next thing you'll be offering is strawberry shortcake...gee Barb....you have a regular smorgasbord to offer him, eh? chocolate ice cream Checkers....it's not on your special diet but we don't mind getting yelled at by those meanies on the FDMB... :lol:

I am making jokes here...meanwhile I hope he is still doing okay....all his Aunties are nervous...so he better hurry up and start eating normally! Hope he continues to try stuff and maybe he will get his hunger back soon...I hope so...
 
Thank you All. He is still not interested in food. I am still syringe feeding about 2 teas., every 2 hours or so.
He ate a total of one can of Fancy Feast, so far today. If he isn't better in morning he'll be back at vet.
I shot the full 1.5 tonight.
I'm all talked and cried out.
 
Checkers buddy ... you need to eat little man ... it will help you feel better ..... Barb, I feel so sorry you are going through this ... Thankfully only once has mocha not been interested in food, and I remember panicking .. it's so scary when our furbabies don't feel good ..
 
Do what you need to do to get food into Checkers.

I agree that if he's still disinterested in food, getting him in to the vet in the AM is a good idea. I get absolutely frantic if I think anything is "off" with my cats. I'd also encourage you to trust your gut. You know Checkers better than anyone.
 
((((((Barb!! Checkers)))))) I've been out all weekend, I am so upset to hear Checkers isnt feeling well!!!
I feed my kits rotisserie chicken from the super market (no carbs-no skin) cut up into little pieces-- maybe you could try that, deli turkey, baby food is real good too--I would take him back to vet in am if he's still not right..
Sending Healing Green Vines to Checkers we hope he will be well tomorrow--Big Hugs from us!!
 
You wrote yesterday "I am always worried about things like string, floss, etc, so that was the first thing I thought of." Does he have a habit of eating non-food items? Could he have eaten a houseplant?

IMO, if you bring him in tomorrow, I'd ask for x-rays, a full blood panel (I know you said he had one done this week already - if it's too expensive, at least get his current liver and kidney values and CBC), and the spec fPLI.

Why did he go in earlier in the week? Did he get any new meds - vaccines, flea meds, etc?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top