8/13 Zeke AMPS 85; +11.45 66; PMPS 82 - Yay!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Hi LL,
Well, I've been lurking but it's been awhile since I last posted a Zeke condo. Up until two days ago, Zeke was pretty much blue at PS and then dropping to a safe green. He's been very predictible. Since PMPS 8/11, we finally saw decent green PS (89). We gave him his 0.5u shot and he was a good boy and had a very flat cycle that evening. Yesterday and this morning, he had PS in the low to mid 80s and again was a good boy and had nice flat cycles. This morning his AMPS was 85. At +3.5 he was 74 and at +7 69. Now at PMPS he is 66. I know 66 is a very shootable number but as far as we know this is today's nadir. Additionally, his appetite is a little off.

DH gave Zeke his preshot meal (0.5T) but Zeke took 3 licks and walked off. As a result, we've decided to stall a bit and see if his BG will rise a little. We have plenty of supplies, karo, HC. He's been very flat of late so if we shoot now it's very possible he won't drop much - but of course, you just never know. I was curious what you guys thought. Zeke's been doing so well so we don't want to lose the momentum but I really don't like the idea of maybe having to break out the karo or HC food - we haven't done that in ages. If Zeke was your kitty, what would you do? I think if we add some enticements to his food he would eat. He can't resist his FD chicken, Carnivore Crunch or his FF Classic Salmon (though that's only 1%).

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Laura

ETA: He came up to 82 after a 20 minute stall so we shot. Yay!! I expect it will be a quiet night.
 
Re: 8/13 Zeke AMPS 85; PMPS 66. Shot advice please

Normally, if you're stalling you don't want to feed him as the BG numbers will rise from the food. If you are just trying to see if he will eat well if you shoot, then seeing if he will eat and noticing that his appetite is off was a smart thing.
I would test again, 30 minutes after the last test, and then try again to see if he'll eat good with some toppings applied.
 
Hi Dyana, thanks for the advice. When I'm giving the shot I always test him first before I feed him ANYTHING. My DH however insists on feeding Zeke before the test because he says otherwise Zeke is a beast and is difficult to handle at test time. I've been having this argument with my DH forEVER! Maybe now he'll listen to me, but I doubt it. Anyway, since DH said Zeke only had 3 licks I figured there wouldn't be much food impact to his BG. Hopefully that is the case and the 82 was not a food spike. We'll monitor Eke closely just in case to make sure he doesn't decide to do a crazy dive after his shot. DH reports Zeke is eating well now after his shot.

ETA: Well, really that 82 could just be meter variance. Oh well, psychologically my DH felt more comfortable shooting an 82.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top