8/13- Lucky- 442 @ +9...give dose now?

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
Lucky had his dental yesterday afternoon. The vet had to give him insulin around 12 noon, 1u. I gave Lucky 1u last night at 12:30 and his PMPS was 292.

This morning, his +9 was 442! I know his numbers are going to be higher somewhat because of the dental but 442 at +9? Can I go ahead and give insulin? Our normal dose time is 9am and it's 9:40 (not that it really matters, but just FYI).

I just gave him his buprenorphine (sp? is this the bupe that people refer to?) so I'll check him again here in about an hour. It's been about 12 hours since his last dose of that, maybe he was feeling uncomfortable and his numbers were higher. He just ate too. I'm thinking that if at +10 his BG is higher, I'm going to go ahead and shoot 1u.
 
I think you are seeing some panicky liver and or some pain. He went from black to blue and he hasn't seen a blue for awhile.

I think I would wait it out and see if the Bupe helps bring down those numbers some and that way you will stay on schedule. It isn't a good idea shooting earlier than +10, you can get into trouble with overlap, especially if this is a bounce, it will clear by itself.

Hang in there.
 
Thanks. I didn't think of a bounce because of yesterday's blues. He's always higher in the AM anyway, I think because he goes for a longer stretch without eating. I'm getting a petsafe feeder from someone here at FDMB, so hopefully that will help with that.

I'm going to check him in 30 minutes or so and go from there! I may wait till +11 to give 1u.
 
A +11 shot is much safer than earlier than that.

The auto feeders are great to use, ECID some kitties do better with small meals every few hours during the day and some do better being fed twice a day, you just need to figure out which one Lucky is.

Since his dental was just yesterday he may still not be feeling the best yet and can give you some wonky numbers. It took Harley almost a week to get back to his normal self.
 
I really do think Lucky does better with small meals throughout the day. He loves his food and I think it stresses him out when he can't eat regularly. His PMPS's are usually much better than AMPS's.

I checked him at +10.5 and he was at 402, which had gone down just a little. I went ahead and shot 1u at +11. We need to start gradually getting back to our normal time anyway. He usually rises pretty fast between +11 and +12, I've noticed. He just doesn't get good duration usually....not all the the time, but usually.

He's doing pretty good though. He's purring and hanging out upstairs with the family. He doesn't like to be by himself, which is a change because before he was dx'ed, he was always hiding under a bed downstairs. But yeah, I'm prepared to see wonky #'s!! (I think lol)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top