8/13 Gracie PMPS 168

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's 8/10 Condo

8/12 Recap:
AMPS: 354 :shock: :o 1 drop R
+1.5: 328
+2.5: 330
+5: 267
+10: 179
PMPS: 244
+2: 207 fed HC to ward off usual drop
+3: 259 :roll: :roll:
+6: 210
+9: 245


Good morning, LL!!! It's Marje instead of DH. Thought I'd post the update before I head to work. We've continued to keep all our ailing kitties, civvies, beans, and relatives in our prayers including Zener, Trix, JD, Prince, Sabrina, Sasha, Lovey, Tiggy, Pikachu, Elise's Mom, and Molly's Mom and Dad and Mariko and Ginger. Cheering Lola, Mottyl, and Rocky on their OTJ Trials.

I'm sorry we've been MIA. To say we've been distracted with Gracie is an understatement. And I haven't been sleeping for the concern. Plus my mom. Mom is ok but there just have been continued issues to deal with. At any rate, outwardly, Gracie seems to be doing fine. In fact, I wonder if before we started the a/b and sups if she wasn't feeling as well. Mike had remarked many times that she seemed just a little quieter than usual but I'm here with her all the time and I didn't notice it. I saw her play. But since the a/b and sups, she's been super active and, now that I look back, perhaps she was a bit quieter than usual. She's been eating fantastic; she's only had one vomit and that was this morning and it was clear so something is still going on. But she has been so playful, happy, purry, all 5Ps in spades.

Her numbers....something else. She's been all over the place. She's started the fast drops at night again and so last night, when her +2 was a lot lower (which usually tells us she is going to drop), we fed higher carb to ward off the drop. It sent her way up. :roll: :roll: :roll: And the AMPS yesterday pretty much sent me to the moon. She has not had a pink number since February. I know it was not a fur shot and I don't think a fur shot would send her to pink. She did drop quickly the night before but she's been doing that and hasn't popped up to pink. It was bizarre and one of those things I guess we just have to chalk up to FD and move on. We were going to increase her dose this morning but she came down quite a ways to 179 so I held it to see if she can get back on track. She was having at least blue every day but usually some green as well.

Today is the ultrasound. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile Please send prayers that everything will be fine. I have meetings and will meet Mike at the vet and then go back to my meetings.

We did have a funny thing happen yesterday. Our monsoon has been ok. Great clouds will build up and it's obviously raining somewhere in Tucson but we've not received a ton of rain here as in some parts of the city. With her numbers yesterday, we really needed to get out and focus on something else so we decided to play golf because it needs focus. It was a little cloudy; there was a high chance of rain but not a speck on the radar. The resort near us has one of the premium courses in the U.S. but it normally costs about $150/player to play there but, yesterday, they had a special on Golfnow.com for $19/person (18 holes), a cart, and unlimited balls on the practice range. OMG!!! So we went for it. Once you hit the button and pay for it, it's non refundable. I swear....30 seconds after I finished the transaction, it started raining :lol: :lol: :lol: Then it stopped. We rushed everything into the car and up to the course (which is 2 mins away so we got there fast), hit balls on the range for 15 mins, drove up to tee off, and the sky opened up with rain like we haven't seen all summer. Thankfully, we had taken our golf umbrellas but we were still getting wet. One of the course attendants came out on a golf cart and took us into the underground facility where they work on the carts and we sat there for 30 mins and waited for it to stop. But the course was so wet, there was no way to play. The cool thing was they gave us a raincheck to play on another day. We expected it would just be the value of what we paid on Golfnow.com. But instead....it's for anytime we want to play even if the rates are up!!! WOW!!!!!!! So it's all good.

I'll try to get back on tonight and at least update. Wednesdays are usually really long for me and by the time I get home and eat dinner, I'm ready for bed. Mike has to go to work tomorrow so I also like to spend that time with him. I hope you all have a great day.
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

Hi guys .. boy, it's been forever and a day since I stopped into a gracie condo! I'm so sorry to hear she hadn't been feeling well .. Glad the meds are helping out and she is feeling more active .. Prayers of peace being sent your way while you deal with your mom .. and also, for the ultrasound today .. How nice the golf course gave you rainchecks for any day! I'm sure you'll put them to good use .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

I'm so glad Missy G is feeling good. Maybe the ABs caused the spit up??? Sending tons and tons of good U/S vines today....and wonderful news about the raincheck. Enjoy that round of golf when you're able to play it!
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

Vines headed to you and Gracie! Glad to hear she is feeling good. Hopefully, those pinks on her SS will soon be a distant memory again.
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

Oh Gracie, please start feeling better now! Your beans are so worried that they almost floated away while focusing on golf!! :shock: :lol: Sending lots of feel-better vines for Miss Gracie. Also, praying for good answers during the ultrasound. I absolutely love your golf story!!! How cool that they gave you a rain check! Besides the irony of the raincheck itself, that was great that they are honoring the great deal you got!!! Sending prayers for all of you!!!
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

Sending good US vines for Gracie. I hope it is nothing serious, but you get a reason for all this. What everyou are doing seems to have helped.

Well, you didn't get to golf, but it sure took you minds off Gracie! How nice that they will let you play anytime! Did you get any rain at home? That would have been an added bonus.

More vines for your DM too.
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

Vines headed for your mom and Gracie. I'm hoping that the antibiotics have fixed the "off" liver numbers as she is acting so good and eating well. I also wonder if the antibiotics and possible infection are having an affect on her numbers. I'm glad Mike is home today.
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

((((Marje and Mike)))) Sending tons of "clear picture" vines for the U/S today. Looks like it's a good thing you didn't increase today. :shock: Paws crossed Soul Sista flattens out with her ABs and sups.
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

Sending prayers for great ultrasound results for Gracie. Its seems like the Abs and supplements are working and that Gracie seems to be feeling good.


Good idea on the golf for a diversion. That's great that you can play another day for such a good price.
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

(((((Marje, Gracie, Tobey and Mike))))) As promised, sending tons and tons of prayers, positive thinking vines, and hoping for the best US and results, and for Gracie's liver values to come down again! It was a relief to hear her appetite and energy level and good and no vomiting. Isn't that the way, you try to be proactive to prevent the big drop and instead her BG goes up? (been there, done that ohmygod_smile ) Thanks so much for the update and I hope you can have a restful evening tonight! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

You're brave to go out on the golf course in monsoon season when there are clouds in the area! I'm glad it all worked out and you will get to go back another time. Which resort was it? There have been so many added since I lived there. The biggest deal was El Conquistador back in the day, but I'm sure there are others now that are better.

Sending good US vines and many prayers for Gracie. I hope you get some answers and that whatever is off can be fixed easily. I'm glad she's eating well and is her usual darling self.

Sending healing vines for your DM,too.

ETA: I just remembered where you live. You were probably at Ventana Canyon, weren't you?
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

Hi Marje, that's great that you received a raincheck - what a heck of a deal. Sending mega vines to Gracie for a nice, clean US. Paws and fingers crossed.
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

Eastern Long Island NY got 13 inches of rain yesterday in just a few hours. Good thing you were't playing golf there!!

I hope that the U/S was clear today and that Gracie will be all normal again soon. Thinking of you all and sending mega vines for Gracie. I also hope that your mom will be doing better.

Lots of hugs and scritches. Tobey, we need to bake more cimmamum cookies for the weekend. Can you come over tomorrow or Friday?

Ella & Pinko Rusty
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

I hope everything went well with the u/s today. I'm glad she seems to be feeling better. I hope her numbers settle down soon. Sending prayers. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

Stopping by to say Hi Marje and Gracie!! Prayers that the u/s went well. What a great deal that was on the golf package. Ive worked at a few courses in my life, and that sounds like its gonna be a great time..when you do get to play! awesome on the rain check :smile:
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

i'm heading out to my quilting group, but was hoping you might have an update on the ultrasound. Fingers crossed that all was healthy! :YMHUG:

glad you got a minute, literally, to play golf! :lol: it'll be fun on another day too.
 
Re: 8/13 Gracie AMPS 179

Adding vines for your mom and Miss Gracie!! I hope the ultrasound comes back looking good, and I hope those numbers come on down.
 
Dear Devon, Tara, Amy, Jen, Deborah, Ann, Elise, Wendy, Catherine, Ruth, Tricia, Ella, Laura, Carla, Laura, Julie, and Deanna:

Thank you all from the bottom of our hearts for visiting and for your prayers and well wishes.

It was a long day for the LBG and her beans. We were at the vet three hours and she is pooped out. She ran in green most of the cycle and the vet stress finally got her later but, so far, not horribly. She was fabulous.....through the tummy shaving and laying on her back for that long u/s. She just was the absolute best girl.

Unfortunately, not good news. Her bile duct is again moderately dilated and, this time, her liver appeared hyperechoic on the u/s meaning inflammation. The IM specialist asked how we felt about exploratory surgery and I told him that would be a last resort and she would have to have a lot higher numbers. We want to try to address things the simplest way first because that's how we got results last time. If it doesn't work, we'll take the next step. We would agree to an u/s guided needle biopsy if we need to do that. For now, she has to continue on the clavamox (thankfully she tolerates it well), we restart the denamarin tomorrow morning since it has to be given on a totally empty tummy an hour before a meal (at least), we are also going to give liquid, water soluble Vitamin E which we ran out and picked up after I got home from work. She's still on her ursodiol, and liver and pancreatic support supplements. I asked him if there was any possibility at all that we could be looking at cancer and he said absolutely not. He said nothing in her u/s appeared to be consistent with that kind of dx and that he thinks she is just going to chronically have cholangitis. If the current treatments don't work, she will have to start on a low dose of prednisilone. I asked him if that would be a lifetime thing and he said he has seen good results with a short term (3 months or so) course. We will have to deal with likely raising her insulin but that's doable.

The great news is her pancreas looked perfect. Also, last fall, she showed a very slight thickening of her small intestines and he said could possibly be onset of IBD and to watch her. Today, everything there looked perfectly normal so he felt it was some acute, minor issue last year. He said she has the most gorgeous coat he's ever seen on a kitty.

Again, we thank you all. I wish I could visit each of you tonight but, as I said, after work we went looking for the water soluble vit E liquid which is not easy to find. We just finished dinner and I'm going to talk to Mike for a few and then hit the sack. Tomorrow is another day and I should have time to catch up. We send lots of love, hugs, and hope everyone is doing fine.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
While things aren't normal it is really good that cancer is not in any way suspected. I'm not sure why he asked about exploratory surgery though. Hopefully what worked before will work again. If not and she needs pred for awhile that won't be so bad. She is pretty much symptom free so hopefully it won't be needed. You must be exhausted. I hope you are able to get a good night's sleep.
 
We are thinking positively that all of the meds and vitamins will produce good results. Gracie, show them what you can do!

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Healing vines & Prayers for Miss Gracie that she heals to her absolute best on the continued AB & also denamarin & supplements. I'm sorry it was not a perfect report, but 'absolutely not cancer' is very relieving. You both give so much for Miss Gracie, I know she will try her hardest for you, too. It's very encouraging she is so active.

Glad you got to have some R&R (Rain & Running!) to offset your stress - & kudos on the raincheck - whata deal! Golf courses & storms can be scary - my great-aunt & her caddy were struck by lightening & killed on a golf course during a storm. Good thing you took cover!

Prayers also to your DM, that she improves and eliminate all issues.

You are tackling alot right now, Marje, hope you're able to put the worry aside tonight & get some well-earned sleep. Sounds like you could really use rejuvenation now.
 
Marje, so glad to hear that "C" is off the table. WONDERFUL!!! I hope the treatment suggested addresses the issue. Continued vines to Gracie.
 
Not a great report, but so much better than it could have been. Such a relief to get a definite "no" on the Big C!!! :-D :-D :-D

It's great you have a plan in place, and I just know it's all going to work out. You and Mike are excellent beans, and Gracie is such a good girl, I'm sure she'll cooperate and get better.

Sending tons of healing vines for Gracie, and soothing vines for the frazzled beans. Many prayers and hugs, too. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Hi Marje,

I am sure that you are totally drained after an extensive vet visit. I am praying that your course of treatment will again bring positive results for Gracie. You and Mike take such great care of her and Toby. Great on her pancreas and intestines looking great. Next time the liver will be looking better as well.
 
Definitely not a perfect report, but I'm still breathing a big sigh of relief that "C" is off the table. Sending along prayers that the plan you have gets her live and bile duct calmed down again....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top