Re: 8/12 Tigger AMPS 390
morning brent! basically every 6 shots you can re-evaluate and increase if you think you should. personally, i would do it every 6 shots til he gets more stable in the 100's and fewer of these 300-400's tests.
take a look at punkin's spreadsheet and perhaps that will be helpful. he stayed around 7ish units from february til the end of may, and then it just took off. i felt like i was chasing him up til mid-july, but now he's settled back in again.
i think 14units is a tad too much and 13 is a bit too little, but my favorite needles (teruma) don't have 1/2 unit markings so i've been going on whole units. i suspect i'll have to decrease him to 13.5 probably today or tomorrow and just resign myself to using the monojects that don't slide as easily.
anyway, i've basically continued to follow the guidelines of the protocol for raising the dose - and when you get in higher units you can increase by larger amounts. i've kept it to .5u increases because that is enough to make a difference. however, when i decrease i do it by larger amounts. he was 99 amps this week and we were going to skip the shot. because that shed is an actual physical deposit of lantus that continues slowly releasing insulin, tigger will continue getting insulin if you were to skip. i've skipped shots and had it not even be visible on punkin's spreadsheet. the larger the dose, the larger the deposit. that's an important piece to understand when you're giving a larger dose.