8/12 Marley AMPS=379, +3=189, +5=224, +9=274

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/12 Marley AMPS=379 Dose Increase?

Hi guys .. No dosing advice from me, but I'm glad marley is feeling better! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/12 Marley AMPS=379 Dose Increase?

Yes, increase time. Still too many yellows and pinks on that SS for Marley.

Hope he dose does better with the dosecrease
 
Re: 8/12 Marley AMPS=379, +3=189 Dose Increase?

Our first blue in a while! 189 at +3. Still increase? Or hold and see what happens?
 
Re: 8/12 Marley AMPS=379, +3=189 Dose Increase STILL?

I'd like to see what the rest of the cycle looks like. My inclination at the moment is for you to increase but let's wait and see when it's closer to PMPS.
 
Re: 8/12 Marley AMPS=379, +3=189, +5=224, +9=274 Increasing

I'm planning to increase to 6.25u in 2.5 hours. Please confirm that this is correct.
 
One high blue for today, at +3 and then all yellows. I would recommend the increase with the next shot. We need to get him out of those pinks.

Others may give different opinions.
 
Hi Lauren - it was good to see Marley touching his toes to the blue today. It looks like you are increasing tonight. I think that's a good idea. Paws crossed we'll see some more blues in this next dose.

One thing you might want to consider is talking to your vet about getting Marley tested for acromegaly IGF-1 test and IAA IAA test info. Both of these tests require blood be send to Michigan State University for analysis. Once kitties here reach a dose of 6 units while following the protocol, it's time to think about getting these tests. I had my Neko tested last year and she was positive for both. She got up to a high of 8.75 units. Both of those high dose conditions used to be considered very rare in cats, but recent research has shown they are more common. If your vet is like mine was, she thought is was a waste of my money until we got to over 10 units, so my vet was much more surprised than me on the test results. There are a few of us with high dose cats posting here on this forum.

I know that this is probably a lot to take in - believe me, I've been there. One of the main reasons we suggest people have the tests is that if the cat has acromegaly, there are some side effects that should be monitored. A major side effect is growth of organs, especially the heart which can become serious if not monitored. My Neko has a heart murmur and a slightly larger left ventricle wall. For now we just monitor.

If you have any questions, please ask. We have lots of information on both conditions on the Acromegaly/IAA forum but few people post there.
 
Re: 8/12 Marley PMPS=326, +3=259

Thanks for the info., Wendy. Someone on the main forum mentioned those conditions to me previously, but at the time, we decided that our dose was so high because we had been following the incorrect and inexact protocol of changing doses based on infrequent once a week testing. I'm still worried that his dose is actually too high, or rather, that our starting dose was too high. I am really hopeful that we start to see some blue and green and that he begins to earn reductions. Paws crossed. In the meantime, I will certainly ask my vet about testing for those conditions. Thanks again for the suggestion and the info.
 
The other thing I wanted to mention that got me thinking of the possibility was Marley's behavior. Neko didn't use to hang out on the kitchen counter tops, but now I'm really good at making sure they are clean. I saw you posting the other day asking for tips to prevent counter surfing. If you find something that works, I'd love to know. :lol: Neko is also a carb-o-holic. Before her diabetes diagnoses, we started getting suspicious when she busted into banana bread, blueberry muffins, and a baguette. I can't imagine how hard it is to keep the contraband away will young ones in the house!

Even if Marley does have a high dose condition, the most important thing you can do for him is to get his blood glucose numbers into a good range, so you are doing the right thing by increasing according to the protocol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top