8/11 Michael amps 217 + 5 323 PMPS 339 +2 360

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/11 Michael amps 217

hi paula! i saw your note on the spreadsheet about michael not liking the duck and pea pill pockets. that's too bad - you might continue to try to give him little balls of it. small ones, just like a little pea, to continue to try to get him to adjust to the taste. punkin didn't like them at first, but then he started going nuts for them.

with the other pill pockets, yes, they have sugar in them so likely are high carbs. does it say on the package how many carbs? you can use even less than 1/2 pill pocket. just use a thin coating to cover the pill. sometimes i threw down "blanks" - just a bit of pill pocket without the pill, to keep punkin encouraged to eating the pill pocket when it had the pill.

Do you know about New Dose Wonkiness? That's when you increase the dose and the BGs go high, for an unknown reason, for a day or so. that may be part of what's going on with his numbers. With the meds and the pill pockets, he might not have the normal Lantus cycle either.

Thanks again for explaining about your vision issue. Ya just do the best you can - and Michael started off his day pretty well!!
 
Re: 8/11 Michael amps 217 + 5 323

Thanks Julie, and Good Morning
I will take this into consideration. I wish he liked the duck pockets as much as he likes his freeze dried chicken treats. After he eats them. he struts around the house as if he is a king. (Well of course, he is!! LOL)
I forgot to tell you why I have such a problem focusing. As a result of the brain aneurysms, I am constantly woosy( dizzy) and it's hard to get my eyes to focus. I have to keeping turning my head certain ways to get in focus and if I try too long I end up seeing double. I have exercises I do, and they help a little.

I would like to see him go into remission but if can't that's ok too. Thanks for explaining about the doses.
Now, that you mentioned it, I have probably given a fat dose with out realizing it, due to my eye problems.

Paula
 
Re: 8/11 Michael amps 217 + 5 323

:lol: too funny! cats are so ridiculous! i just love them, of course. i gave my 3 some catnip this morning (we grow it on our deck) and they went bananas over it.

i saw your question in Charlie's condo - BCS is a "Big Chicken Shot" - ie, you shoot less than the regular dose, just a token amount to get some in, because you're not going to be able to monitor, or the cat is sick, or there is some other reason you don't want to give the regular dose. In Darin's case, no one was going to be able to monitor Charlie yesterday morning. So they gave a one time reduced dose to keep him safe.

Your other question was about f2.0 in his dose column. When people are really close to The Right Dose, ie, the nadirs are looking great, but perhaps they are just fine-tuning the dose, people will "fatten" or "skinny" a dose. So a f2.0 means it's a "fat 2 unit dose." He's giving 2.0units, but the plunger is slightly more than exactly on the 2.0u line. If you're not working towards remission on Michael, you probably won't be doing this kind of fine-tuning of a dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top