8/11 Jenks PMPS 299 +7.5 238

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
8/8

Recap:

8/9
-------
328 AMPS
285 +6
227 PMPS
154 +7
164 +9

8/10
----------
181 AMPS
334 +6.5
192 PMPS
163 +7.5

8/11
----------
AMPS 51 (stall)
73 +0.5
103 +3
99 +6
277 +10
299 PMPS
238 7.5

Welcome all to Mr. Jenks' Wild Ride! We increased the dose to 5.50U on the morning of the 9th, and these are the results so far. Nothing out of the ordinary, until this morning.

A 51 was very scary for OH, but she did the right thing and stalled him until she saw the rise and then dosed him. So far, he's remained in the excellent number range for the entire day. Ideally, these are the sorts of numbers we're all hoping for. But it's the precipitous early morning drop that's concerning me. That's 110 points in 4.5 hours.

What can we do to manage that better? Intuitively, I know there's nothing wrong with the 50s. And because we haven't seen any 40s, there's no reason to reduce just yet especially considering he was still experiencing less-than-ideal numbers on the previous dose.

Do we just hang tight and see how he adjusts to the new dose and react if we catch him in the 40s? Do I need to feed him even later than I am now to give him a later food bump to smooth out that drop? Something else that I'm not considering?
 
Re: 8/11 Jenks AMPS 51 +0.5 73 +3 103 +6 99 +10 277

it looks like today begins the bounce - he's going straight up from that 51.

hard to say. it's possible he was lower than 51 and that was a rise up from wherever he went to in the wee morning hours. it's possible he only came down that far. generally we suggest that you want to catch the low number and not just predict that it was there.

i'd probably hold the dose and increase the testing, cuz these numbers are flat-out awesome. After so long being high, mr jenks has a dose he likes and he is back in business!

sometimes if you can give a little more insulin - like you're doing right now with the 5.5u - and hold the dose for a bit, it will bring down the surrounding numbers. If Jenks can just get used to the normal numbers he'll (hopefully) stop bouncing. ideally he'll flatten out a bit.
 
Re: 8/11 Jenks AMPS 51 +0.5 73 +3 103 +6 99 +10 277 PMPS 299

Thanks Julie! Hanging tight sounds like a plan. Despite the inevitable bounce, it was a beautiful day for him.
 
Re: 8/11 Jenks AMPS 51 +0.5 73 +3 103 +6 99 +10 277 PMPS 299

sure was! looks like he had maybe 8 hrs of time spent in normal numbers today - that's great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top