?8/10 TooToo AMPS=121;+3=59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tooloo

Member Since 2013
Good morning. So AMPS=121; +3=59. According to the protocol, if TooToo drops below 50 today, I should decrease. That's per Phase 3. According to Phase 4, I need <50 at least three times on separate days in order to decrease. Not sure I understand that other than we're talking two different phases. TooToo is still Phase 3? Why the difference?
 
TooToo is a new diabetic so you should follow the one drop below 50 earns a reduction. Some kitties don't take reductions well so there is an alternate method of waiting until you drop below 50 3 times on one dose. This usually applies to cats that have been on insulin for some time. Make sure you keep an eye on that 59 and don't let it get away from you. Nice numbers!
 
Welcome to LL! That is a nice onset! :thumbup

It might be counter intuitive but we don't like to let them earn a reduction too soon. So when we get an early drop like this we feed a little LC food to slow things down. Often is dose reductions happen too quickly they don't hold, we try to keep them on a dose long enough for the pancreas to heal a little more before giving them a reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top