8/10 Lucy PMPS=133;+2=88;+3=76

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Saturday to you all!

Yesterday's condo

8/9 AMPS=113; +1=115; +2=85; +3=74; +7.5=112
8/9 PMPS=133; +2=140; +4=205

8/10 AMPS=211; +3=176; +7.5=131
8/10 PMPS=133; +2=88; +3=76

I went back to bed this morning, and over-slept!!
She had a huge softy yesterday evening.
Her number went up to yellow, and this morning's AMPS was still yellow. :sad:
I don't know what raised her number... probably inflammation from IBD.
Her appetite is morning was not joyously good, but acceptably good, so that's good!
Her mood is OK, she's sleeping looking comfortable.
Hoping for a firmly today.

I'm going to call the vet tomorrow to discuss her IBD, and we'll probably decide to increase her prednisolone dose back to what it was before we reduced 3 weeks ago.
I wonder what people do if a kitty is dx'd with FD first, and then developed IBD later.
Would a vet still prescribe steroids?
Or is there any other treatments more appropriate for FD kitties?

I added a link to Lucy & Ginger's lab reports and ultrasound reports in my signature.
I just copied everything without really understanding most of it :-D
Units they use in Canada are probably different from the US standard units, though.....

Will report back on poopy later!!!
 
Re: 8/10 Lucy AMPS=211,+3=176 // LAB REPORT

I don't know that much about the lab results, but I do see that it looks like she's had pancreatitis for a while.
You are doing such a good job with her and Ginger cat_pet_icon I love looking at Lucy's ss ..and her pretty picture.
 
Re: 8/10 Lucy AMPS=211,+3=176;+7.5=131 // LAB REPORT

I don't know the answers to your questions, but I had to check in on sweet Lucy today! A big softy is better than no poops at all. Hopefully she'll firm things up for you. Have a great evening, Mariko!
 
Re: 8/10 Lucy AMPS=211,+3=176;+7.5=131 // LAB REPORT

No answer for the labs but hoping for a good poo, you can have one of Lucky's he still poops like a dog and smells like one too :lol: Lucy is one Lucky girl to have you she is so pretty
 
Re: 8/10 Lucy AMPS=211,+3=176;+7.5=131 // LAB REPORT

Mariko --

Aside from the elevated kidney values, the thing that leaps out at me is that Lucy's white count is high. This typically indicates there's an infection. It may be a result of the pancreatitis but I'm wondering if Lucy has been on an antibiotic and maybe she should be.

There are cats that have developed IBD after a diabetes diagnosis. If steroids are needed for a medical problem, the insulin dose is worked around the steroids if there's no other option.

Aside from B12, you might ask the vet whether probiotics would help (or not). You might also think about looking for foods that are higher in protein as well as low in phos. I know the Weruva chicken is high in protein but I don't have a clue about the phosphorus.

If the pancreatitis is chronic, do you think Lucy needs pain meds? Any inflammation, infection, or pain can cause a rise in BG numbers.
 
Re: 8/10 Lucy AMPS=211,+3=176;+7.5=131 // LAB REPORT

Hi Mariko,
Looks like Lucy is going for a swim in the blue lagoon today :-D Hope her IBD stabilizes soon. She's so lucky to have a great mum like you!
 
Re: 8/10 Lucy AMPS=211,+3=176;+7.5=131 // LAB REPORT

Hi Mariko,
Weruva Paw Lickin Chicken has a relatively low phospherous score: 196 on Dr. Lisa's list.

Lucy has good numbers considering that she has a few medical issues. Sending good-poop vines!

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/10 Lucy AMPS=211,+3=176;+7.5=131 // LAB REPORT

Thank you all very much for your visit and vines!
Good news! Lucy had a firmy this afternoon.
It's just one firmy after many softies, so I know it doesn't mean she's all good, but better than another softy!

Sienne, thank you for looking at her lab report.
The vet didn't mention about the high white blood cell count, so I'll ask her about that.
I'm quite sure the vet thinks it's from the pancreatitis and/or IBD.
If Lucy has an infection, I don't know where....
She was on metronidazole for a long time in March because of diarrhea.
At that time, diarrhea stopped while on metronidazole, but came right back as soon as we stopped.
I did ask her about probiotic, and she said it's OK to try but didn't think it would help with her IBD.
Lucy didn't like any of the Weruva food, but I'll try again.

I'll see if her poop improves.....and decide if I need to put her back on more steroids right away or I can want and see some more....

Thank you again for your comment, vines, advice, etc etc.
 
Re: 8/10 Lucy AMPS=211,+3=176;+7.5=131 // LAB REPORT

Yay for the firm poo!!!! Good job, Lucy! Also, I see a nice little slide for her today. :-D I hope you get some good advice/answers on her lab work. I read those lab reports about as well as Shasta reads them! :lol: Scritches to Miss Lucy! Hope you're having a great Caturday, Mariko!
 
Re: 8/10 Lucy PMPS=133;+2=88

Chief Inspector Crapdash and Detective Poo are pleased to read that Lucy is firming up!

mariko said:
I am wondering what med you give Zener for his IBD.
Lucy also has IBD and CKD......

We give Zener 1mg Ondansetron and 0.5mg Zantac twice a day before his AMPS and PMPS meals. The ondansetron is to help with nausea, as we often need to give him 0.25mg to 0.5mg Cyproheptadine for appy stimulation. The Zantac is similar to pepcid for stomach acid, but also helps a bit with GI motility. He gets 1mg Cerenia (tablet form) three times per week (although mostly used for vomiting, recent research shows it is effective as an anti-inflammatory for IBD). We haven't had to put him on steroids or other IBD meds yet. We also aren't giving him anything yet for his CKD as it is in the early stage, though the appy stimulant could be helping with poor appy from CKD. We also give 100mL lactated ringers solution fluids on occasion, if he is dehydrated. Here is the link to the feline IBD group. I've found some helpful info here.
Yahoo feline IBD group

Here is the link to Tanya's CKD information, it is excellent.
http://www.felinecrf.org/

And her CKD support group, a very active one.
http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/tanyas-crf-support/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top