8/10: LANDO DOSE REDUCTION! 48!

TankNRK

Member Since 2022
Previous Post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lando-is-still-well.280083/#post-3091973

Tonight he his 48, retest at 52, so I guess it's safe to say the reduction is here??
Gabe some kibble and he went to 53 @+15 (cause I need to go to bed haha!) So now I have him a little medium carb food and waiting for the next retest so I can get some sleep tonight.
Take him down to .25u??
These days I can almost never catch him peeing to get a keytone test! :p he pees like a normal cat! sometimes I've even forgotten to clean his favorite litterbox over 24 hours!

What do you all think??
Also new HAT PICTURE! You're all overdue!
 
Hi Tank! Long time! Love the pic.

Yes, please take the reduction to 0.25U. Congrats! :D Is there a reason you didn't reduce the first time he dropped below 50 on this dose (7/25)?
 
Hi Tank! Long time! Love the pic.

Yes, please take the reduction to 0.25U. Congrats! :D Is there a reason you didn't reduce the first time he dropped below 50 on this dose (7/25)?
Well, since he was right on the cusp and my immediate retest was 55, I figured I'd give it a little longer just to see how he did. I was concerned as well that I may not have gotten enough blood on the test strip! Since most days he's 70-80 nadir and some cycles 90-110 I just wasn't completely sure he was ready and couldn't tell if that was really a technical "below 50". But I think it's safe to say a reduction is earned 100% now. I know I got enough blood on the strips for these tests!
 
Well, since he was right on the cusp and my immediate retest was 55, I figured I'd give it a little longer just to see how he did.
49 and 55 are within meter variance so 49 was not a bad reading. Especially since you aren't able to test very much during the day, it makes sense to be conservative and reduce when he drops below 50. The higher numbers you are seeing could be him bouncing from dropping lower in cycles where you couldn't get tests.
 
49 and 55 are within meter variance so 49 was not a bad reading. Especially since you aren't able to test very much during the day, it makes sense to be conservative and reduce when he drops below 50. The higher numbers you are seeing could be him bouncing from dropping lower in cycles where you couldn't get tests.
This is great for me to remember! I guess I was focusing too much on the number being specifically below 50 instead of the meter variance in general. I'll keep this in mind for next time, that if it's within the variance and below 50 it's a reduction hands down! I have a variance sheet printed in his folder I'll pin up on the fridge so I don't forget it. His day cycles always sit higher, so I never worry these days. It's night times +3 through +5 where he drops (I've learned how this boy is now haha!)

Thanks for giving me that info so I remember for next time :) fingers crossed he holds it well!
 
He's officially gotten into the 70s with over 3 pretty rising numbers so I think I'm safe for bed! The boyfriend is gonna get another test for me in 30 minutes and wake me if he drops again but I think he's hit his nadir for the night :D
 
The higher numbers you are seeing could be him bouncing from dropping lower in cycles where you couldn't get tests.
I woke up this morning and reread our messages and I realized my message may have come out off earlier, I wanted to reiterate that I do you believe what you are saying about the higher numbers could be from him bouncing from dropping lower in his cycles and I'm missing it! In my reply I was trying to say that I hadn't been testing as much during the day because I've been believing that his numbers were sitting higher during the daytime, cause every time I ever run a curve or get mid cycle tests I never see low numbers... But you're right that it doesn't mean it's not happening when I'm not testing. I'd been working a lot and slacking on that part on my days off, so I haven't been as through lately!

I always trust your judgement, Bhooma! :p I hope I didn't sound dismissive earlier my reply came out a little weird haha!
 
And sure enough, bouncy bouncy this morning at 130! Time to ride it out! <3

If 130 is his bounce range now, the strange AMPS and PMPS I see on occasion make perfect sense to be bounces. Once in a blue moon I see a 115-125 and it throws me for a loop, and that has to be why! It's only slightly higher then his usual range so I never really suspected it was much of a bounce.
 
Back
Top