8/10 Jimmy's Upcoming Tests

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan G & Jimmy G

Member Since 2017
So I finally found a clinic...Cumming Vet Medical Center at Tufts. They do have an Dr who knows about Acro/IAA. Yay - however, they want $180 just to be seen, run a full blood panel (another $150) - and they said they can handle sending out his BW to MSU for the high dose tests (who know how much for their shipping materials), plus the MSU tests. It's an hour and a half away. University. (I can't believe in a city like Boston I have to travel to another city to get a specialist). He's OK in the car - after he settles down and we cruise along - but I'm not sure:
1) I want to drop what could possibly be close to $500 (on the low end) for a visit that won't tell me anything I don't currently know (we just had his BW done last month)
2) Take him on a round trip 3 hr road trip. And possibly have to give him gabapentin to chill him out...

My other option is to go at it alone - and bring him to a local vet down the street to draw the blood - and then I handle the shipping via UPS to MSU and the results come back directly to me. I think I know what I'm leaning towards - but could sure use some "that's OK, Susan - just get the tests done and take it from there." :nailbiting:
 
Hi Susan & Jimmy,

I'm a high dose Mom in Canada (IAA). When I had the testing done, I had my vet draw the blood and send it. The MSU site has all the instructions and I believe the only extra stuff your vet has to do is set up an account with MSU and package and send the sample as required. The cost of the tests themselves is actually quite reasonable...it's the blood draw and shipping that cost. My cost including shipping was $180.00 plus tax from Ontario. I think our shipping costs here are a bit steeper than yours.

If I was you, I'd just get your vet to do the blood draw. Once you have the results, if Jimmy is Acro and/or IAA positive, then you can always consult with the specialist if need be. I'm not sure there would be any extra value in seeing the specialist until you know Jimmy's numbers. There's always a chance he's just a big gulper.
 
My local vet was only going to charge me $110 to get any subsequent IGF1 tests done (including shipping) if I had her tech draw the blood and didn't have to see her for a vet visit charge.
 
I have a mobile vet who has pretty much washed her hands of Jimmy and the other local vet doesn't ship blood outside their own labs. Unbelievable isn't it.
 
Ok my curiosity is killing me! Why did the mobile vet wash her hands of Jimmy? Is there no place closer than the specialist where you could take Jimmy and hopefully deal with a reasonable, compassionate vet?
 
Local vet will only charge $35 for the BW...but I have to package it up. I spoke to MSU and they were fine with that. I have the ice packs and insulation and I just need to include the check with it. Guess I'll just bring it to UPS myself. Think I will call them again and confirm this. But geez you would think Boston would have a vet would/could handle this.
 
Ok my curiosity is killing me! Why did the mobile vet wash her hands of Jimmy? Is there no place closer than the specialist where you could take Jimmy and hopefully deal with a reasonable, compassionate vet?
She's just good for overall wellness visits - if BW or anything further needs to be done she has a local clinic she works with. I could try them to see if they would ship it.
 
I'm not sure I'd want to be packaging and shipping the bloodwork myself. If you did that, is MSU going to send you the results directly? I thought I read on the website that bloodwork had to be sent through a vet but that was back in 2015 so things may have changed.
 
I am chiming in, do it yourself. I had heard MSU had stopped individuals instead of vet's do the shipping, but if they said OK, then do it. That's what people used to do.

I wonder how your vet does full GI panels (only done at Texas A&M) or thyroid panels (Hemopet or MSU).

I agree with the others, find out what you are dealing with, then that will provide direction where to go next.
 
I'm not sure I'd want to be packaging and shipping the bloodwork myself. If you did that, is MSU going to send you the results directly? I thought I read on the website that bloodwork had to be sent through a vet but that was back in 2015 so things may have changed.
Yes. They said they would send the results directly to me.
 
Hi Susan
I'll be keeping an eye on Jimmy's journey. Looks like I should be calling MSU directly too. My vet is taking forever to get whatever he supposedly ordered from them to package and ship the samples. I'm getting very impatient and want to get testing done ASAP so I know what I'm dealing with. I'm sure you feel the same.
:cat:
 
Looks like a lot of good interaction and feedback, just today. I hope it comes back negative. But those are real high BG and insulin numbers. In general, I would keep raising the dose so Jimmy can experience some BG=150 nadirs. I went thru similar stuff with Leo, before the SRT treatments.

For vets in Boston, I bet there are vets that would do it. You probably just need to call around and switch vets.
 
Hi Susan
I'll be keeping an eye on Jimmy's journey. Looks like I should be calling MSU directly too. My vet is taking forever to get whatever he supposedly ordered from them to package and ship the samples. I'm getting very impatient and want to get testing done ASAP so I know what I'm dealing with. I'm sure you feel the same.
:cat:
I'm having trouble just trying to find a vet who will make the effort! So if tomorrow fails with this local vet (the one who originally confirmed his DX with blood work) - then I'll arrange for just the blood work done there and handle the shipping myself. Hoping they can get me in next week say Tues so they can run test Wed and get results Friday. Ah - the best laid plans.
 
Looks like a lot of good interaction and feedback, just today. I hope it comes back negative. But those are real high BG and insulin numbers. In general, I would keep raising the dose so Jimmy can experience some BG=150 nadirs. I went thru similar stuff with Leo, before the SRT treatments.

For vets in Boston, I bet there are vets that would do it. You probably just need to call around and switch vets.
Thanks! Yes - def staying with a TR as long as I can continue to monitor. I've been so wrapped up in trying to get this accomplished that I have yet to think about next steps when I get the results. *sigh* Praying for negatives.
 
[/QUOTE]For vets in Boston, I bet there are vets that would do it. You probably just need to call around and switch vets.[/QUOTE] One would think. I'm on my 4th - including one of the big animal hospitals. I really just don't want to wait any longer. Reminding myself to breathe.
 
I'm having trouble just trying to find a vet who will make the effort! So if tomorrow fails with this local vet (the one who originally confirmed his DX with blood work) - then I'll arrange for just the blood work done there and handle the shipping myself. Hoping they can get me in next week say Tues so they can run test Wed and get results Friday. Ah - the best laid plans.
I'm having trouble just trying to find a vet who will make the effort! So if tomorrow fails with this local vet (the one who originally confirmed his DX with blood work) - then I'll arrange for just the blood work done there and handle the shipping myself. Hoping they can get me in next week say Tues so they can run test Wed and get results Friday. Ah - the best laid plans.
I'm with you this shouldn't be this difficult or take so long to get it done. I'm calling my vet tomorrow to see if they got anywhere. Good luck to you guys. We'll all get the testing done...fingers and paws crossed for negatives!
 
I'm with you this shouldn't be this difficult or take so long to get it done. I'm calling my vet tomorrow to see if they got anywhere. Good luck to you guys. We'll all get the testing done...fingers and paws crossed for negatives!
Good luck to you too! Keep us posted.
 
@Susan G & Jimmy G @Beenie Make sure when you get the testing done that they do both IGF and IAA. A lot of vets don't think IAA is common enough to bother testing for it. Mine tried to discourage me from doing the IAA testing but I insisted. Needless to say, my vet was quite surprised and I was vindicated.
 
@Susan G & Jimmy G @Beenie Make sure when you get the testing done that they do both IGF and IAA. A lot of vets don't think IAA is common enough to bother testing for it. Mine tried to discourage me from doing the IAA testing but I insisted. Needless to say, my vet was quite surprised and I was vindicated.
Thank you Linda! Will do. I absolutely want both tests done. I think my vet probably thinks I'm being ridiculous for even asking for either test. He's just in uncharted territory but he does seem to listen. I think right now its just a lack of urgency.
 
I confirmed with MSU today - I have an appt Tuesday afternoon to get Jimmy's blood drawn for the two tests. I will then take the tubes with me in an insulated and carrier and head to UPS to have shipped overnight to MSU. I just need to include the forms (tests I want done with my contact info filled out) and the check. That's it - whew. Hopefully this time next Friday I have some answers one way or the other. I should have just taken charge weeks ago. Lessons learned.
 
Blood tests for IGF-1 are done once a week. If the blood doesn't get there in time for the day they start spinning, you may have to wait an extra week. Ask me how I know. :oops:

Glad you are able to do it yourself.
 
Blood tests for IGF-1 are done once a week. If the blood doesn't get there in time for the day they start spinning, you may have to wait an extra week. Ask me how I know. :oops:

Glad you are able to do it yourself.
Me too! ...and thanks for the heads up.
 
Finally!!! Went to vet today for my civvie and MSU mailer came in. Have bloodwork scheduled for this coming Monday 8/21, ship out same day for Tuesday delivery so it will be there for next Wednesday's testing.
Yayy! Congrats. I took Jimmy to the vet today - got the BW drawn and off I went to UPS. Sent overnight delivery to MSU for 8am. WOOT WOOT. Progress. Mind you - today was Jimmy's best day in weeks. I tested him at the vet and his BG was 260 not too bad considering that was his PMPS.
 
Yayy! Congrats. I took Jimmy to the vet today - got the BW drawn and off I went to UPS. Sent overnight delivery to MSU for 8am. WOOT WOOT. Progress. Mind you - today was Jimmy's best day in weeks. I tested him at the vet and his BG was 260 not too bad considering that was his PMPS.
Oh boy, that's great. I'm so happy to hear he's feeling good. Wow 260 at the vet is really good :cat:

Keep me posted!!!
 
That's a good BG value for Jimmy. He is drinking that insulin. Did you tell him to stop drinking it and use it for his diabetes yet? :)

I hope the results come back soon. At those high levels, it is probable that he has either IAA or Acro. At least you are catching it fairly early.
 
I called MSU this morning and everything was rec'd just fine. However, they weren't able to do the IGF yesterday. She suggested I call next Friday at 2 and give them my email and they will email the results to me. Ugh another week. Thanks to @Wendy&Neko though I was mentally prepared for that ;)
 
I called MSU this morning and everything was rec'd just fine. However, they weren't able to do the IGF yesterday. She suggested I call next Friday at 2 and give them my email and they will email the results to me. Ugh another week. Thanks to @Wendy&Neko though I was mentally prepared for that ;)
I thought about the package arriving by 8:00 am yesterday and wondered if it would get to where it needed to be at MSU in time for testing. At least they have what they need and I know it stinks to have to wait another week but it'll fly by. :bighug:
 
wow, I was lucky the lab my vet uses was used to sending stuff to MSU, so it wasn't an issue. They took care of everything. I thought it would be pretty standard across the board for labs to deal with MSU. Like you said Bostin is big :).... glad it got there keep us posted on results :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top