8/10 Gilbert AMPS 315, PMPS 36 Fed high carb

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christy & Gilbert

Member Since 2013
Gilbert has been throwing me a few low #s here lately. When this happens I don't shoot because I am too scared, but then the next 12 hr reading is sky high. What should I do? I fed high carb dry & will ck him shortly, but should I give a reduced amt of insulin later this evening?
 
Do you have any high carb canned, or some karo/maple syrup you can add to canned? Only because dry takes longer to digest, so it won't boost the numbers up as quickly.

Any time you see a number in the 30's it means the dose needs to be reduced.

Can you test again in about 20-30 minutes?
 
Christy...you need to get some HC wet, like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers to use for these low numbers instead of dry. Dry takes too long to work, and takes longer to get back out of his system (the effects of dry can last several days)

The other thing you can do (if you don't have any) is to use honey, Karo or maple syrup...just add a couple drops to his usual LC wet food

When you get low numbers like this (under 50), you should just give a couple of teaspoons of the gravy part of the Gravy Lovers, and retest in 20-30 minutes...and post and ask for help! The more experience members are happy to help guide you through it!

You don't have enough tests during his cycles for me to feel comfortable giving you dose advise, (other than to say Gilbert HAS earned a reduction since he dropped below 50) but those high numbers you've seen the last few cycles are most likely a bounce from the lows on 8/8 plus being elevated because you fed dry for that cycle too.

If nothing else, please get some HC wet food to help with these lower numbers!
 
Thank you guys! I ckd him 40 min after feeding & he was @ 52. I have friskies high carb wet gravy food so will be sure & do that next time & I do have karo as well. I didn't know that about dry food! I appreciate the info & think I will reduce his dose slightly tomorrow.
 
52 is good. But you also want to check again to make sure it didn't drop back down.

You skipped the shot, right?
 
Christy --

Once you get Gilbert settled down, I want to ask you to give some thought to how to best manage Gilbert's numbers. I honestly don't recall if you have limitations with your schedule. Looking at your SS and tonight's numbers, I suspect that Gilbert is seeing some low numbers when you're not testing. I'm nervous that you've been raising Gilbert's dose without having any spot checks that would give you information about how low Gilbert's numbers are at nadir. It's tempting to think that our kitties are safe if they have a high pre-shot number. That's not always the case. If you go back to Gabby's SS, on 11/2/2009, her AMPS was 429 and her PMPS was 400. If I hadn't been testing during the cycle, it would have been tempting to increase her dose. However, her +4.5 was a 47. Instead, her dose needed to be reduced.

If your schedule is challenging, think about getting a before bed test every night. Test before you go out and as soon as you come home. Grab a test whenever you can. I would be careful about raising a dose if you don't have spot checks. Without that information, Gilbert may end up in numbers like tonight without your knowing it.
 
Yes...I skipped the shot tonight. Is nadir for lantus +5 or +7? I had a hysterectomy on july 24th & my husband was in charge of testing & shots for a while. He is not real good @ getting blood on the 1st prick & sometimes not even on the 4th...poor Gilbert...so we have been slack on mid cycle testing. Since I am doing better I have been trying to get before bed & early morning readings before I let him out of his pen. Once he is out @ about 9am there is no chance of getting another reading until he is back up for the night & he has been a real booger to get back in the pen here lately. He hates it indoors & has always been skiddish. Once he is in a confined area he is soooo sweet & loves to be brushed, petted, etc. I am trying to get back on track & am going to start reducing his dose tomorrow.
 
Nadir is supposed to typically happen around +6, but it doesn't seem most kitties care about "typical" unfortunately. That's a good time to aim for, however, if you can test around then.

I am glad to hear that you are feeling better since your operation. A hysterectomy isn't exactly an easy operation to recover from. What it comes down to is that you do what you can do as far as testing. You work with the schedule that you can work with, and around the uniqueness of your kitty (because every one of them IS different), and work around all the other things that life throws you way outside of "this". Before bed and early morning tests are great tests to get. Every bit of data helps over the long term.

I think reducing the dose is a good start. And if possible (if the numbers let you), try to find a dose and stick with it for 3-5 days so that you can let things settle down and let the numbers tell you what to do next. Of course, ask for suggestions or help when you aren't sure. We're all here to help however we can.
 
Thanks Carl! I just noticed that one of your kitties passed recently. So, so sorry. When a pet passes it is NEVER easy. Prayers to you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top