8/10, Binie AMPS 374, +3 330

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-7-binie-amps-323-3-242-accu-check.292928/

Good evening,

Binie had another flat pink day today. And to make things worse, I gave a furshot tonight. :banghead: I think I penetrated through the tented skin on the other side out again. While I injected I could feel the fluid on my fingers, so I think nothing went in. :( I measured her ketones directly after that and they are with 0.2 mmol/dl in her normal range. So I hope this missed shot will not do too much harm.

Even though I increased the dose this week a bit to 1.25 fat, she only went higher. I will increase to 1.5 tomorrow evening and see if we are lucky this time and it is working. I don't know what is going on in her body. The wounds on her breast are still quite red but it is difficult for me to judge, if it is just on the surface of the skin or something deeper down. We will be at the vet again next friday to have a look at the wound and to take another blood test.

Besides I brought urin to the vet yesterday to do another bacteriogram. This time I collected the urine directly with a urine cup instead of using this medical litter. I hope this time it works and we get some helpful results about what is going on.

Even though I find Binies health situation quite complex at the moment, I feel that she is in an overall good mood. She is eating well, she is talking a lot with me and enjoys her time on the terrace. That helps a lot to stay hopefull.

Hope everyone has a nice and relaxed weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-7-binie-amps-323-3-242-accu-check.292928/

Good evening,

Binie had another flat pink day today. And to make things worse, I gave a furshot tonight. :banghead: I think I penetrated through the tented skin on the other side out again. While I injected I could feel the fluid on my fingers, so I think nothing went in. :( I measured her ketones directly after that and they are with 0.2 mmol/dl in her normal range. So I hope this missed shot will not do too much harm.

Even though I increased the dose this week a bit to 1.25 fat, she only went higher. I will increase to 1.5 tomorrow evening and see if we are lucky this time and it is working. I don't know what is going on in her body. The wounds on her breast are still quite red but it is difficult for me to judge, if it is just on the surface of the skin or something deeper down. We will be at the vet again next friday to have a look at the wound and to take another blood test.

Besides I brought urin to the vet yesterday to do another bacteriogram. This time I collected the urine directly with a urine cup instead of using this medical litter. I hope this time it works and we get some helpful results about what is going on.

Even though I find Binies health situation quite complex at the moment, I feel that she is in an overall good mood. She is eating well, she is talking a lot with me and enjoys her time on the terrace. That helps a lot to stay hopefull.

Hope everyone has a nice and relaxed weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike and Binie, sorry about the fur shot. It definitely happens to most of us at one time or another. I’ve had more than my share.
Try to be kind to yourself. I know you have a good attitude. It’s only one shot and you are watching her ketones and monitoring so closely.
Tomorrow you will be back on track.
I’m sorry her wound is still red. Curious what the vet will say. Sending you good wishes for a good vet visit this coming week.
I’m glad to hear she is eating well and chatty with you and enjoying her time on the terrace. It sounds like she is in good spirits and happy with her mom.

Just remember sometimes when we increase the dose sometimes the readings go higher. NDW (new dose wonkiness) can come into play. So make sure you are holding doses long enough before increasing more. (Hold 7 days when following SLGS).

Maybe you can get some more advice on dosing from the real experts :)
@tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo @Christie & Maverick

I’m sending you lots of good wishes and hope you have a good sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike and Binie, sorry about the fur shot. It definitely happens to most of us at one time or another. I’ve had more than my share.
Try to be kind to yourself. I know you have a good attitude. It’s only one shot and you are watching her ketones and monitoring so closely.
Tomorrow you will be back on track.
I’m sorry her wound is still red. Curious what the vet will say. Sending you good wishes for a good vet visit this coming week.
I’m glad to hear she is eating well and chatty with you and enjoying her time on the terrace. It sounds like she is in good spirits and happy with her mom.

Just remember sometimes when we increase the dose sometimes the readings go higher. NDW (new dose wonkiness) can come into play. So make sure you are holding doses long enough before increasing more. (Hold 7 days when following SLGS).

Maybe you can get some more advice on dosing from the real experts :)
@tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo @Christie & Maverick

I’m sending you lots of good wishes and hope you have a good sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci, thank you so much for your support and your sweet kindness! :bighug::bighug::bighug: It was definitely a challenge yesterday not to be too upset and worried about the furshot. I never felt 100 % secure with giving shots. So I try to make everything I can to make success more likely but it seems not to work 100 %. I would definitely feel better to see the syringe going in and so I would prefer to use the roll method. Binie didn't like it when I tried but maybe I should try to train her to tolerate it. Besides that I was amazed to see that she did go a little down anyhow and this morning she was even lower than before the furshot yesterday.

Today it is day seven on 1.25 fat so I thought it would be o.k. to increase but thank you so much for tagging our experts, sometimes I feel shy to ask. And besides the seven days, I don't know, if the fur shot changes something.

Hope you have a relaxed and happy sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Why did you fatten the dose? At this point increases should be by .25.

Thank you Elise for checking in on us! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I tried to go up from 1.25 iU to 1.5 IU two times on 7/20 and on 8/4. Both times she went below 90. But with 1.25 her numbers had room for improvement. That's why I tried 1.25 fat IU. What should I do? Give 1.5 IU another try from tonight on or wait, because we had a fur shot? Thank you so much!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, thank you so much for your support and your sweet kindness! :bighug::bighug::bighug: It was definitely a challenge yesterday not to be too upset and worried about the furshot. I never felt 100 % secure with giving shots. So I try to make everything I can to make success more likely but it seems not to work 100 %. I would definitely feel better to see the syringe going in and so I would prefer to use the roll method. Binie didn't like it when I tried but maybe I should try to train her to tolerate it. Besides that I was amazed to see that she did go a little down anyhow and this morning she was even lower than before the furshot yesterday.

Today it is day seven on 1.25 fat so I thought it would be o.k. to increase but thank you so much for tagging our experts, sometimes I feel shy to ask. And besides the seven days, I don't know, if the fur shot changes something.

Hope you have a relaxed and happy sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I’m so glad you got the expert help you needed yesterday! Don’t be shy! We all need to help each other!!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top