8/1 Tiger PMPS 222,+2 182,+4 134,+5.5 121,+6 110,+6.5 109

Kathy and tiger

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

Tiger woke me up insistently. Ray was starving too. I fed last night as normal--not sure why this happened...
I had to feed him--NOW!
So I will test in half hour increments.
Not sure what to do about shot???

Thanks!
 
The protocol is stall, don't feed, test in 20 minutes to see if he is coming up. Since he ate, the number will be food influenced. How much did you feed him? If you can wait an hour to see if he comes up to a number that is safe to shoot, I would do it if that doesn't mess up your schedule.

Here's a bit from the Handle Low Preshot Numbers sticky:
Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
 
The protocol is stall, don't feed, test in 20 minutes to see if he is coming up. Since he ate, the number will be food influenced. How much did you feed him? If you can wait an hour to see if he comes up to a number that is safe to shoot, I would do it if that doesn't mess up your schedule.

Here's a bit from the Handle Low Preshot Numbers sticky:
Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Thank you!! Tricky business!!!
 
Should I still shoot and if so at what number?
Like Katherine pointed out above, if the preshot were in the 40s, you could stall and see if he comes over 50 and then shoot and if he didn't, to feed a little LC and retest etc etc. With HC and karo in the mix, you don't want to shoot because the numbers are food influenced and you could have a harrowing cycle ahead.

Test in half an hour and then an hour and see where he is. If it's quite a bounce you could possibly shoot, if your schedule permits the delay. If he's still hanging around low greens, you could just skip.
 
Should I still shoot and if so at what number?

I think your best bet is to just skip the AM shot, let the depot drain a little. When they drop into the 30's, they're trying to tell us something.

With the dose you're on, even if you gave a reduced shot, the depot is still over-full so you may end up with another low number and having to feed more HC today
 
Like Katherine pointed out above, if the preshot were in the 40s, you could stall and see if he comes over 50 and then shoot and if he didn't, to feed a little LC and retest etc etc. With HC and karo in the mix, you don't want to shoot because the numbers are food influenced and you could have a harrowing cycle ahead.

Test in half an hour and then an hour and see where he is. If it's quite a bounce you could possibly shoot, if your schedule permits the delay. If he's still hanging around low greens, you could just skip.
Thank you Bhooma!
He is at 83 now. That is food bump I'm sure. I will not feed now and test again in half.
 
I think your best bet is to just skip the AM shot, let the depot drain a little. When they drop into the 30's, they're trying to tell us something.

With the dose you're on, even if you gave a reduced shot, the depot is still over-full so you may end up with another low number and having to feed more HC today
Thank you Chris!!! I think you are right. My preference would be to play it safe and not shoot at all!
 
Today's pics are here!
"We're starving!", "ray basket play", "tiger play", "calm campa" :

we're starving!.jpg
ray basket play.jpg
tiger play.jpg
calm campa.jpg
 

Attachments

  • we're starving!.jpg
    we're starving!.jpg
    52.1 KB · Views: 156
  • ray basket play.jpg
    ray basket play.jpg
    113.3 KB · Views: 160
  • tiger play.jpg
    tiger play.jpg
    109.3 KB · Views: 156
  • calm campa.jpg
    calm campa.jpg
    54.5 KB · Views: 154
Hi Kathy. I think Tiger is feeling so much better after nearly a week since his dental extractions that his BGs are showing it. Get ready because he may need more reductions this week. Congratulations!
 
Kathy

we all enjoy pics but that is not what is most important here. Please fix your subject so we can see when you got all those BGs (what testing time). That is what all this is about. Once you put those in, then you can add “Pics”. Thanks.
 
Kathy

we all enjoy pics but that is not what is most important here. Please fix your subject so we can see when you got all those BGs (what testing time). That is what all this is about. Once you put those in, then you can add “Pics”. Thanks.
Hi Marje,
I responded in the PM you also sent!
Sorry I am just seeing your multiple messages because I took the day off as advised by the better minds here!
 
I don't need to test? I thought he might dip back down?
Whatever will I do all day?????;)
You are exactly right. He very well could have. Let’s review this a bit so you and others understand:
  • His AMBG was very low.
  • He had HC food which stays in the system about two hours.
  • Skipped shot (smart because you do not want to shoot for at least two hours after feeding HC).
  • Testing was stopped at +1 while he still had HC in his system.
  • Tiger has a fairly good sized depot which means his cycle today could have been exactly the same as if you had not skipped until later in the cycle when he probably would have lost some duration. You can tell this is true by his PMPS which is fairly low after a skip.
The best option, to keep in mind for the next time, is to test about 2.5 hours after the last HC to be sure it’s worn off. If the BG was still headed up, no more testing necessary and feed LC through the cycle as you normally would. If he’s still lower or flat, keep testing until you see a rise.

Questions?
 
Last edited:
You are exactly right. He very well could have. Let’s review this a bit so you and others still understand:
  • His AMBG was very low.
  • He had HC food which stays in the system about two hours.
  • Skipped shot (smart because you do not want to shoot for at least two hours after feeding HC).
  • Testing was stopped at+1 while he still had HC in his system.
  • Tiger has a fairly good sized depot which means his cycle today could have been exactly the same as if you had not skipped u til later in the cycle when he probably would have lost some duration. You can tell this is true by his PMPS which is fairly low after a skip.
The best option, to keep in mind for the next time, is to test about 2.5 hours after the last HC to be sure it’s worn off. If the BG was still headed up, no more testing necessary and feed LC through the cycle as you normally would.

Questions?
Thank you Marje!
 
Back
Top