Thank you Katherine! I have a feeling he won't be getting a shot at all. Just not sure what the protocol is on when to call it a no shot day!What a way to wake up!Do not give a shot for any number below 50, Kathy.
Thanks!What a way to earn a reduction! Congrats, Kathy!![]()
Thank you!! Tricky business!!!The protocol is stall, don't feed, test in 20 minutes to see if he is coming up. Since he ate, the number will be food influenced. How much did you feed him? If you can wait an hour to see if he comes up to a number that is safe to shoot, I would do it if that doesn't mess up your schedule.
Here's a bit from the Handle Low Preshot Numbers sticky:
Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
- 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
- 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
- When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
- If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
- Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Like Katherine pointed out above, if the preshot were in the 40s, you could stall and see if he comes over 50 and then shoot and if he didn't, to feed a little LC and retest etc etc. With HC and karo in the mix, you don't want to shoot because the numbers are food influenced and you could have a harrowing cycle ahead.Should I still shoot and if so at what number?
Should I still shoot and if so at what number?
Thank you Bhooma!Like Katherine pointed out above, if the preshot were in the 40s, you could stall and see if he comes over 50 and then shoot and if he didn't, to feed a little LC and retest etc etc. With HC and karo in the mix, you don't want to shoot because the numbers are food influenced and you could have a harrowing cycle ahead.
Test in half an hour and then an hour and see where he is. If it's quite a bounce you could possibly shoot, if your schedule permits the delay. If he's still hanging around low greens, you could just skip.
OK THank you!!!!I always skipped after a preshot under 40 and it always happened at amps.
Oh yeah!!!Congrats on the reduction. What did he eat? Bet that got you moving better than![]()







83 is an hour after food? AMBG +1?He is at 83 now. That is food bump I'm sure. I will not feed now and test again in half.
Nope half hour after 2nd food. He was at 45 after a half hour so I fed him HC karo again!83 is an hour after food? AMBG +1?
Thank you Chris!!! I think you are right. My preference would be to play it safe and not shoot at all!I think your best bet is to just skip the AM shot, let the depot drain a little. When they drop into the 30's, they're trying to tell us something.
With the dose you're on, even if you gave a reduced shot, the depot is still over-full so you may end up with another low number and having to feed more HC today
Skip. He will recover really soon.Could shoot but don't really want to...
Well we are at 102 an hour later after no food. Could shoot but don't really want to...
You know what I say in response to that!
Great Minds Think Alike!What is GMTA?
Only if you want to!Will think about changing shot time...
Is there anyone I can ask lol? My brain is NOT at it's tippy-top right nowGreat Minds Think Alike!
Only if you want to!

I don't need to test? I thought he might dip back down?You have to add one of you chilling and enjoying your testing-free Sunday morning!![]()
I don't need to test? I thought he might dip back down?
Whatever will I do all day?????![]()
Hi Marje,Kathy
we all enjoy pics but that is not what is most important here. Please fix your subject so we can see when you got all those BGs (what testing time). That is what all this is about. Once you put those in, then you can add “Pics”. Thanks.
if you want to adjust your shot time, to
He was very hungry early so we did adjust by a half hour--not because I wanted to lol!!!if you wanted to change his shot times,
We did enjoy our day off!![]()
You are exactly right. He very well could have. Let’s review this a bit so you and others understand:I don't need to test? I thought he might dip back down?
Whatever will I do all day?????![]()
Thank you Marje!You are exactly right. He very well could have. Let’s review this a bit so you and others still understand:
The best option, to keep in mind for the next time, is to test about 2.5 hours after the last HC to be sure it’s worn off. If the BG was still headed up, no more testing necessary and feed LC through the cycle as you normally would.
- His AMBG was very low.
- He had HC food which stays in the system about two hours.
- Skipped shot (smart because you do not want to shoot for at least two hours after feeding HC).
- Testing was stopped at+1 while he still had HC in his system.
- Tiger has a fairly good sized depot which means his cycle today could have been exactly the same as if you had not skipped u til later in the cycle when he probably would have lost some duration. You can tell this is true by his PMPS which is fairly low after a skip.
Questions?
You’re welcome.Thank you Marje!
Thank you Summer!Scary for you this morning, Kathy. You handled it well. Always enjoy the pictures of your kitty family.

Thank you Suzanne! I hope you are correct!Hi Kathy. I think Tiger is feeling so much better after nearly a week since his dental extractions that his BGs are showing it. Get ready because he may need more reductions this week. Congratulations!
Love you Darcy!