? 8-1 Panzer PMPS 109 big scare today dose decrease?180@+4/152@+6/133@+7/141@+8

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
Panzer was @104/106 retest @ AMPS this morning. I gave him his 2.5 units & went back to sleep until it was time to get up & get ready for work, test & feed. I tested him @+4 AMPS & he was @57, I was freaked out by him being that low that early because I had to work & wouldn't be able to monitor him,so I gave him a 3oz can of HC fancy feast & left for work. I kept checking the cameras & he was laying in an unusual place, so I kept calling him over the camera. He wasn't responding at all, so I texted my daughter whom has a key to my house & asked her if she could go check on him. She was the only manager there so she could not leave. My friend Laura also has a key but couldn't leave work, my ex roommate who feeds the boys on Wednesday whom also has a key was in Oklahoma. I ended up getting a hold of my sister who doesn't have a key but hadn't left for work yet. I asked her to go by the house & ring the door bell & knock,she did & texted me when she was doing. I looked on the camera & he was still in the same spot but he was awke,standing up & looking at the door. I told her thank you & she went on to work. I continued to work quickly & looked at the camera. He was laying down in the same place passed out again. I finished work & sped home. Him & Spook met me at the door & I immediately tested him, he was 72@ +8.5 AMPS so he was safe & I then fed them as I normally do. His nadir seems to be between +4 & +8 sometimes at the next shot. I'm not sure if he dropped below 50 today & I will be testing from +4 -+8 this evening. Should I decrease him back to 2.25units? I have to be careful with testing I have 52 test strips either until DCIN sends me more or until next Monday when I will have $ to buy more.

DCIN sent me 2 solo star pens of Lantus, 60 syringes, 100 box of test strips (on the last 50 now) & 100 box of lancets. I've got about half of Panzer's vial of insulin left. My case manager said to keep track of how much Lantus he has & let them know by October how much he has left, so they can send more before it gets to cold to ship more. I told her the biggest thing I'm going to need is test strips because of how much I test Panzer, she laughed & said she used to be a test-o-holic too. She put in a request for more test strips to be shipped to me today. Fingers & paws crossed they ship some out ASAP. I'm not sure that 50 will be enough until I have more $ or I receive some from then. I may have to ask my daughter to loan me $20 ugh.

Another thing that has been happening is the dreaded pain meow before using the litter box,not every time but at least once a day. I don't have the $ for a urinalysis, not sure how much just to take a clean catch in. If he does have a UTI the antibiotic that finally worked for him was the doxycycline so that's more $ for both of those things. I texted a house that wanted me to clean when I had no openings & told her I had an opening even though it's giving up a Friday but I have no choice I can't keep up with everything. I haven't heard back from her so I'm getting ready to text another one. @Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD @tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA) https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ket-126-4-56-6-64-7-78-8.266210/#post-2979944
 
Panzer was @104/106 retest @ AMPS this morning. I gave him his 2.5 units & went back to sleep until it was time to get up & get ready for work, test & feed. I tested him @+4 AMPS & he was @57, I was freaked out by him being that low that early because I had to work & wouldn't be able to monitor him,so I gave him a 3oz can of HC fancy feast & left for work. I kept checking the cameras & he was laying in an unusual place, so I kept calling him over the camera. He wasn't responding at all, so I texted my daughter whom has a key to my house & asked her if she could go check on him. She was the only manager there so she could not leave. My friend Laura also has a key but couldn't leave work, my ex roommate who feeds the boys on Wednesday whom also has a key was in Oklahoma. I ended up getting a hold of my sister who doesn't have a key but hadn't left for work yet. I asked her to go by the house & ring the door bell & knock,she did & texted me when she was doing. I looked on the camera & he was still in the same spot but he was awke,standing up & looking at the door. I told her thank you & she went on to work. I continued to work quickly & looked at the camera. He was laying down in the same place passed out again. I finished work & sped home. Him & Spook met me at the door & I immediately tested him, he was 72@ +8.5 AMPS so he was safe & I then fed them as I normally do. His nadir seems to be between +4 & +8 sometimes at the next shot. I'm not sure if he dropped below 50 today & I will be testing from +4 -+8 this evening. Should I decrease him back to 2.25units? I have to be careful with testing I have 52 test strips either until DCIN sends me more or until next Monday when I will have $ to buy more.

DCIN sent me 2 solo star pens of Lantus, 60 syringes, 100 box of test strips (on the last 50 now) & 100 box of lancets. I've got about half of Panzer's vial of insulin left. My case manager said to keep track of how much Lantus he has & let them know by October how much he has left, so they can send more before it gets to cold to ship more. I told her the biggest thing I'm going to need is test strips because of how much I test Panzer, she laughed & said she used to be a test-o-holic too. She put in a request for more test strips to be shipped to me today. Fingers & paws crossed they ship some out ASAP. I'm not sure that 50 will be enough until I have more $ or I receive some from then. I may have to ask my daughter to loan me $20 ugh.

Another thing that has been happening is the dreaded pain meow before using the litter box,not every time but at least once a day. I don't have the $ for a urinalysis, not sure how much just to take a clean catch in. If he does have a UTI the antibiotic that finally worked for him was the doxycycline so that's more $ for both of those things. I texted a house that wanted me to clean when I had no openings & told her I had an opening even though it's giving up a Friday but I have no choice I can't keep up with everything. I haven't heard back from her so I'm getting ready to text another one. @Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD @tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA) https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ket-126-4-56-6-64-7-78-8.266210/#post-2979944
I am going to send you all of my ReliOn Premier test strips. I will check in a minute (cat sleeping on lap now) and see how many boxes I have and check their expiration date.
 
Will you be not at home much to test during this week? If so, I would consider reducing to 2.25 units because of what happened today. We have no idea if he would have dropped under 50 without the high carb food and we have no idea what happened after you left today. It may have been okay and maybe not. If he dropped really low you will probably see a bounce tonight. This is just a personal opinion about what I might do if this were my situation. You will also be testing tonight so that will give you more information on which to base your decision.
 
Will you be not at home much to test during this week? If so, I would consider reducing to 2.25 units because of what happened today. We have no idea if he would have dropped under 50 without the high carb food and we have no idea what happened after you left today. It may have been okay and maybe not. If he dropped really low you will probably see a bounce tonight. This is just a personal opinion about what I might do if this were my situation. You will also be testing tonight so that will give you more information on which to base your decision.
I have to work every day but Friday. Wednesday I have to leave them until +10 +11 relying on auto feeders that I'm doing baby steps with on them up until then. Spook isn't doing so well eating out of it. Panzer eats all of his & comes over to try & take Spooks. So Wednesday is probably going to be Panzer eating 2 meals poor Spook. He's still not eating right out of his regular bowl with me there. He's gotten better but he's not doing well on the feeder at all. I wish I knew what is wrong with the poor boy. He's still on the Mirataz & ondansetron & Panzer is too! I'm going to decrease to 2.25 tomorrow & possibly 2 on Wednesday, Thursday's job is a mile away & only takes me 4hrs tops. I will just base his dose off of his #s after that I guess that's all I can do. Hopefully he doesn't go back in to the 200s he will probably bounce though :(
 
If you are following TR, which is what your signature says, we do not reduce until we actually see them drop below 50. Many a time people have reduced early and not seen the reduction hold. Technically, Panzer is a long term diabetic, and TR says to hold until below 40, or times on separate days under 50 if he doesn't hold reductions well, or a week in normal numbers.

Sounds like Panzer was having a good snooze today in those nice green numbers. I expect he enjoyed the full can!!! of HC Fancy Feast you gave him before you left.
 
I have to work every day but Friday. Wednesday I have to leave them until +10 +11 relying on auto feeders that I'm doing baby steps with on them up until then. Spook isn't doing so well eating out of it. Panzer eats all of his & comes over to try & take Spooks. So Wednesday is probably going to be Panzer eating 2 meals poor Spook. He's still not eating right out of his regular bowl with me there. He's gotten better but he's not doing well on the feeder at all. I wish I knew what is wrong with the poor boy. He's still on the Mirataz & ondansetron & Panzer is too! I'm going to decrease to 2.25 tomorrow & possibly 2 on Wednesday, Thursday's job is a mile away & only takes me 4hrs tops. I will just base his dose off of his #s after that I guess that's all I can do. Hopefully he doesn't go back in to the 200s he will probably bounce though :(
I thought you were weaning them off of the Ondansetron and mirt? Or at least that Panzer was switched to Cerenia instead.
Very bad about the potential UTI. If you jump on it now, hopefully you can get rid of it more easily. I don’t think a culture will be absolutely necessary because you already had that done before and it’s so recent that it’s likely to be the same bacteria and you can still use the Doxycycline. This will save money.
 
I thought you were weaning them off of the Ondansetron and mirt? Or at least that Panzer was switched to Cerenia instead.
Very bad about the potential UTI. If you jump on it now, hopefully you can get rid of it more easily. I don’t think a culture will be absolutely necessary because you already had that done before and it’s so recent that it’s likely to be the same bacteria and you can still use the Doxycycline. This will save money.
I decided it would be best to wait because of my ex roommate going on vacation. He feeds them every Wednesday & basically spends a little time with them making sure there ok because I don't get home on Wednesday until at the earliest +10. So I'm stuck using the feeders for 2 Wednesday's but would like to use them more so I can leave for more than 4-5hrs as long as Panzer is safe to leave. So I'm going to try weaning them once he's back but I'm worried about Spook. I will check my balance on the care credit & give the vet a call about bringing a clean catch in for Panzer & getting him a script for the doxycycline if he's got a darn UTI. Panzer's @180 @+4 what the heck!
 
If you are following TR, which is what your signature says, we do not reduce until we actually see them drop below 50. Many a time people have reduced early and not seen the reduction hold. Technically, Panzer is a long term diabetic, and TR says to hold until below 40, or times on separate days under 50 if he doesn't hold reductions well, or a week in normal numbers.

Sounds like Panzer was having a good snooze today in those nice green numbers. I expect he enjoyed the full can!!! of HC Fancy Feast you gave him before you left.
I understand about TR & he just pulled 180 @+4 so I really don't want to decrease & it will probably throw him all out if whack if I do. I don't know what to do! Yes he probably did enjoy a whole 3oz of food loaded with chunky chicken & gravy rather then 1.5 oz of somewhat soupy pate like normal. He still had 3 tablespoons of water in it like his norm, I was afraid he wouldn't eat it because it's not as soupy in the pate but he chowed it down & was trying to get Spooks regular food as well! So if I decide to decrease on Wed do I need to change to SLGS?
 
I decided it would be best to wait because of my ex roommate going on vacation. He feeds them every Wednesday & basically spends a little time with them making sure there ok because I don't get home on Wednesday until at the earliest +10. So I'm stuck using the feeders for 2 Wednesday's but would like to use them more so I can leave for more than 4-5hrs as long as Panzer is safe to leave. So I'm going to try weaning them once he's back but I'm worried about Spook. I will check my balance on the care credit & give the vet a call about bringing a clean catch in for Panzer & getting him a script for the doxycycline if he's got a darn UTI. Panzer's @180 @+4 what the heck!
A bounce starting ??
 
If you are following TR, which is what your signature says, we do not reduce until we actually see them drop below 50. Many a time people have reduced early and not seen the reduction hold. Technically, Panzer is a long term diabetic, and TR says to hold until below 40, or times on separate days under 50 if he doesn't hold reductions well, or a week in normal numbers.

Sounds like Panzer was having a good snooze today in those nice green numbers. I expect he enjoyed the full can!!! of HC Fancy Feast you gave him before you left.
Wendy is right, of course. And she does have Panzer’s best interests at heart.
 
A bounce starting ??
Yes I think so 152 @+6 I'm sure the HC is probably part of it too. Oh well I gotta do what you gotta do when you can't monitor. He's such a good boy even though he claws me a little even with gloves on when we test, he's super cooperative. It's amazing the bond that we have with are kitty's even the non sugar babies:cat::bighug:
 
I will be giving Panzer his full dose of insulin @AMPS tomorrow, if he is low I will feed high carb again & drive home to test & feed by +8 AMPS, then go back & finish working. If he is at a good #, I will set up the feeders for them. We still have to do a trial run tonight with the batteries in & set to turn with food in them. I am very worried about Spook he didn't finish 2 feedings & threw up a little bit before PMPS feeding.

The clean catch for Panzer is $65 ridiculous! There will also be no vet in tomorrow so I will collect his urine Thursday morning & take it in after I am done working on Thursday.
 
I will be giving Panzer his full dose of insulin @AMPS tomorrow, if he is low I will feed high carb again & drive home to test & feed by +8 AMPS, then go back & finish working. If he is at a good #, I will set up the feeders for them. We still have to do a trial run tonight with the batteries in & set to turn with food in them. I am very worried about Spook he didn't finish 2 feedings & threw up a little bit before PMPS feeding.

The clean catch for Panzer is $65 ridiculous! There will also be no vet in tomorrow so I will collect his urine Thursday morning & take it in after I am done working on Thursday.
:bighug::bighug: You are a busy cat mama. I'm kind of concerned about Spook, but I know you can't take him to the vet just yet.
 
Yes & I got that new house to clean thankfully! That will help with my $ issue a little. I will be working Monday-Friday next week but still have every other Friday off. Yeah unfortunately I can't take him to the vet right now & the $65 for Panzer's clean catch is going to take away from the $85 payment I made last month! It's a vicious cycle but I will get out of it eventually!
 
Due to Spook puking 3xs a tiny bit of food & also he's been farting so he's gassey as well. I gave him famotidine @+4 PMPS feeding he ate all but a couple of tsps of his food & ate his boiled chicken treat twice out of 4 tests +8 PMPS feeding he completely refused his normal food I ended up giving him less than half a can of MC grilled chicken feast in gravy & he ate all but a couple of tsps. I remembered this morning he refused his AMPS feeding & I gave him a full pouch of weruva 2.8 ounces :banghead: he didn't eat all of it but alot of it. I noticed the night before that he was struggling to poop so I gave him an extra dose of MiraLax when I give Panzer his @+8 AMPS today! I think 2 different things that he's not used to made him feel like s*** :arghh: I don't know what I was thinking.

Panzer has been sliding along in the greens & still in them which is great but I have a feeling he's going to be low tomorrow. We will see. :cat:

I've decided that since my chewy order of 4 cases of FF is supposed to be here tomorrow between 930 & 230 & we are going to have a heat index of over 100 degrees tomorrow. I'm going to work from 9am-1130am 30min drive each way, get home for +8 AMPS feeding test Panzer feed the boys. Not sure how Spook will be eating tomorrow. I should be done with the boys by 1230 head back to work get there by 1 & hopefully finish up by 3 so I can get home for PMPS @ 4pm. Hopefully the chewy order comes in between my time at home because it will be bad for it to sit out in the heat:(

So that's the plan tomorrow. It's going to be a long day & alot of driving but I gotta do what I gotta do for my boys :) I wish I knew how to put a pic on here Spook nudged Panzer earlier & Panzer mothered him bathed him & then they laid close to one another & napped. Panzer could tell he didn’t feel good my boys are so good together :bighug: they truly love each other.
 
Back
Top