? 8/1 FLUFFY AMPS- 232|+4-77|PMPS 177|

Scarlette & Fluffy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-30-fluffy-amps-339-pmps-200-10-87.266483/
______________________________________

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fluffys-bg-is-77.266572/


Fluffy had a BG twice in the night will update the spreadsheet after Farm chores.
BG @ 1:51 AM-+5- 323
BG @ 5:01 AM-+8- 305 snack
BG @ 8:55 AM- AMPS -232 ate
BG @ 1:31 PM-+4- 77 bigger snack

He had his Insulin 3.5U on time, 8:55am

Is there something I need to do because his number is at 77?

@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
What should I do. Hes behaving normal, but Im concerned..I have to go grocery store, run errands. Is it gonna keep dropping? I feed him just now a whole can of wet pate ..Friskies. Do I feed him my daughters dry cat food high carb food?? I only brought wet food to the farm I forgot to get his special dry food low carb stuff when I was at home for the funeral.

Plz advise
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
Can you test again in 1/2 hour before leaving for the store? 77 is a safe and nice number, but under SLGS does mean lowering the dose another 0.25 units tonight.

When they first hit green, our suggestions are to give a couple tsps of food, not an entire can. You need him to be hungry in case you need to feed him again later. What carb% is the Friskies? Do NOT feed the dry food. If you need it, which you don't now, is there honey, syrup or karo in the house?

77 is not a 911 situation.
 
Can you test again in 1/2 hour before leaving for the store? 77 is a safe and nice number, but under SLGS does mean lowering the dose another 0.25 units tonight.
When they first hit green, our suggestions are to give a couple tsps of food, not an entire can. You need him to be hungry in case you need to feed him again later. What carb% is the Friskies? Do NOT feed the dry food. If you need it, which you don't now, is there honey, syrup or karo in the house?

77 is not a 911 situation.

Thank you for responding Wendy I was scared. I edited the title to say question. Thank you for responding!

I just took his BG again and it is at 88.

So I need to lower his insulin tonight to 3.25U??
Yes. I have a syringe full of karo with me. But I forgot his gravy wet food for an ER situation.

He eats friskies pate. Specifically just a bit ago mixed grill
I don't have the specific carbs memorized but I only buy the varieties that are lower than six percent carbs.
 
How much of his food did he eat before you tested? At what + time was the 88 and how long after he ate? How long will you be away shopping? I want to know how long he has to be safe while you are gone.

If you need high carbs while you are not at home, try just a drop of karo on a tsp or two of his regular low carb food. You don't need much, and you don't need it now.

SLGS says to reduce the dose immediately by 0.25 units if you get a number under 90.
 
How much of his food did he eat before you tested? At what + time was the 88 and how long after he ate? How long will you be away shopping? I want to know how long he has to be safe while you are gone.

If you need high carbs while you are not at home, try just a drop of karo on a tsp or two of his regular low carb food. You don't need much, and you don't need it now.

SLGS says to reduce the dose immediately by 0.25 units if you get a number under 90.

I tested him at 1:31 p.m. and got a 77 so I fed him a whole can of Friskies mixed grill pate then retested him at 2:34 and got an 88. I will only be gone about an hour and a half give or take.

I retested him just now 3:33 and got 94

Is there something that I should do before I leave to ensure his safety and not drop below 50??

@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Fluffy is doing great, Scarlette. Don’t worry- when I thought my cat was scary low (I don’t even think he was very low but it was 68 or something so not dangerous) - I fed him a whole can of FF Gravy Lovers high carb! Many of us have panicked ad done this, but your food choice was better than mine.
 
Fluffy is doing great, Scarlette. Don’t worry- when I thought my cat was scary low (I don’t even think he was very low but it was 68 or something so not dangerous) - I fed him a whole can of FF Gravy Lovers high carb! Many of us have panicked ad done this, but your food choice was better than mine.

With everything going on with my mother and my daughter's pre-planned vacation just collided, nobody planned it that way. When the good Lord calls you home it's your time! So when I left home to come to the farm I knew to grab his insulin, syringes, his pate Friskies and his syringe full of Karo, also his expensive low-carb dry food which was the bottom of the bag and we ran out in a few days we were here. When I went home for the funeral I stopped at my house to pick up some things for the funeral home and to take care of my cats that are at home and I meant to get a few things one being more dry food for fluffy that I use only as one tablespoon topper but that all went by the wayside because I forgot it and it's too expensive to order again

My daughter feeds her cats regular cat food and I'm sure it's high carb so if he needed a high carb dry food I do have that at my fingertips in an emergency. But as far as the wet food goes when I saw his numbers being so low the only thing that I could think was to feed him more and I didn't have any choice for wet food except for what I brought with me.

We are in the country and it takes about a 10 MI Drive just to get to a city to get any farm supplies or Walmart Etc.

I took his BG at 6:12 p.m. tonight and it was 97. I fed him about two tablespoons of wet food to carry them over to 8:45pm. PMPS time.

Thank you everybody for "holding my hand" thru tnis!!!!

With so many things happening at one time intermingled with the lives of my mother passing and my daughter's farm and my own life and fluffy I feel like my mind has become very porous and forgetful. *brain / emotion overload*

I truly appreciate all of you that have responded in guidance, encouragement and support & comfort.
It means everything! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Diane Tyler's Mom
@Bandit's Mom
@Chris & China (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Chrispooky12
@Ti-Mousse and Pepe
@Ashleigh & Ares
 
Last edited:

Actually I made a post for 8/1 for today but then I was panicking so I made a 911 about his numbers dropping to 77 then I changed the 911 to a question mark and then about 10 minutes ago I went over to my 8/1 post and linked the whole conversation from today about the number dropping.

Not sure I did that right or should I edit this title and make this title 8/1 Fluffy and delete the other o e?

@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Hi Scarlette no biggie but your SS says 242 for AMPS and above in your title it says 232 ?
What a nice string of green today, good luck with the reduction tonight
Oh you don't need to tell us times when you test since we are all in different time zones just put +4 or whatever it is when you test :cat:
 
Out of curiosity, which day did you and Fluffy go to the farm? Just wondering if his sudden need for less insulin is because he no longer can sneak the other cat's food.

Maybe update the subject line on this new combined post to show the numbers you saw later today.
 
Out of curiosity, which day did you and Fluffy go to the farm? Just wondering if his sudden need for less insulin is because he no longer can sneak the other cat's food.

Maybe update the subject line on this new combined post to show the numbers you saw later today.

We cane to the farm wed 27th but I don't keep the community bowl down . The other cats eat at same time as Fluffy. I put community bowl down and pick up again. But I have gotten distracted and fluff helped himself to the bowl but it wasn't for any great length of time that the bowl was down. Fluff got nibbles but not a full meal of it. But I suppose even that little bit of that high carb food would be enough to keep his numbers up.
 
Back
Top