7/9 Latte - Evening Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
This a.m. Latte woke up very excited. When she 'jumped' up her lower body went one way, the other half went the other direction. She cant walk at all.

I gave a reduced shot because I have no idea whats going to happen and we cant afford any drama if she were to break this bounce (amps 341). Im quite certain she will not eat. I know she ate at 4:45am (pmps +10.75).

Her 8hrs from the bupe I gave her last night is not up and Im unsure if it is wise to give any early. I think I will give it 30 min early. I did also get her under the piano eventually. She wants to get up and keeps trying, but cant physically do it.

Im sick to my stomach, have a lump in my throat and my heart is aching for her...If only I had not seen what happened. Her face was so bright and happy to see me wake up. Then it all went wrong :(
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

oh carolyn .. Im sorry ... are you taking latte to the vet? This poor baby just can't seem to get a break, yet she keeps fighting on .... your love for her is so strong ... you two are amazing ...
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Oh Carolyn....I am so sorry....
But, if you had not seen it, you would not even know...so I think it is good that you saw what happened.
I hope she can rest ..but still, it sounds as if she threw her back out....what can you do now?
Think.
Can you take her to the vet? If you give her pain meds and she is no longer in pain, she might try to move and I am not sure if that would be the best thing right now. Can you call someone?
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

(((Carolyn)))

I know you will keep an eye on her, I hope she's ok!!


(((Latte)))
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

(((Carolyn-Latte))) OMG so sorry Latte hurt herself!! Hope maybe it was like a momentary thing & she will be alright--
Will be looking for your update!! Sending Healing Vines To dear Latte--Please be careful sweetie!!
Feel better!!!
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

((((((((((((((Latte Carolyn)))))))))))))))
Can you go have her checked out?
Bless you two.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

oh Carolyn - i am so sorry! I hope she will be OK - perhaps a vet call just to see what they suggest. Maybe rest today will help her recover. poor kitty - but it is good that you saw what happened, at least you know the reason. take care! Healing vines to Latte!
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Oh My Gosh, Carolyn (((Carolyn & Latte))) Poor girl. I pray that nothing seriously is wrong with her. Oh, please keep us updated with how she is doing. So worried for her.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Carolyn....what's happening?

I dont know. She was eyeing the LB, so I tried to help her, but I think it hurt too much. She ended up laying with her head about 6 inches from it. She keeps trying but cant scoot or get her legs under her. I dont know how to help. I keep asking and telling her its ok to pee herself...we will clean it up.

I dont know how to get her in the carrier to bring to the vet w/o hurting her more. I thing the possibility she broke her back is as likely as her badly tweaking it.

She is confused and scared. She is drinking from a cup I hold up to her and took maybe 1-2tsp baby food from a spoon.

I dont know what more to say. Im sorry.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Carolyn, I know finances is tight, is there any way you could call the vet to inquire?

please please be ok Latte!
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

carolynandlatte said:
Her 8hrs from the bupe I gave her last night is not up and Im unsure if it is wise to give any early.
it can be given btwn 6-8 hrs after the last dose. i usually stick to 8 b/c of renal clearance, but this may be an instance to make an exception. you can also give a little now and top it up later when the 6-8 hrs from last night's dose is up, sort of stagger it so it's not overdone. not sure if that'll work with your schedule.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

carolyn, pick her up as carefully as you can to put her in her carrier. if you think she may have broken her back, she needs to be seen by the vet.
(((hugs)))
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

((Carolyn))

This could be a pinched nerve. Please have your vet get x-rays. If we need to figure out a way to help you with the funds, we will work something out.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

I second the don't worry about funds -- we can figure this out.
Is there anyone you could call to hold her on a flat board, wrapped, in their lap as you drove her to dr.?
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Oh my gosh ((((((((Carolyn)))))))))) ((((((((((((((Latte)))))))))))))) Please keep us posted.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

if you can get a pillow under her, sort of like a pillow splint, you may be able to fit her into carrier. i'm afraid it'll hurt, but she needs to be vetted. it'll also keep her from rolling around if the carrier's larger. stuff it around the sides too, with towels or washclothes so she'll be supported, but make sure it's not too warm or suffocating. don't have to close the door, since she's immobile. (i don't usually advocate this but i think she needs to be seen).

check yr pm, pls?
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

I would agree ir sounds like a nerve got pinched or a muscle or possible a tendon tear. Can you slide something underneath her to carry her (like a cardboard or plastic tray?) I would have the vet look at it and perhaps x-rays or ultrasound. I hope it turns out ok. We are thinking of you!
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

I'm so sorry for you and Latte! Can you call your vet and ask their advice on how best to bring her in, or call emergency and see if a vet will come to you? We have vets that will make house calls. Maybe you can find one of them.
Praying for you and Latte.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

(((Carolyn & Latte))).

Saying prayers, crossing fingers, and sending feel better soon vines to Latte.

Good luck at the vet.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

sending more snowflakes...

I like the idea of sliding something under her. Think of the backboards for humans, get her onto something flat and maybe loosely tie some bandages or something around her to help hold her onto it. The carrier probably isn't necessary, especially if someone else can drive.

I'm sure the money part will be ok. LL is good about coming through for our friends.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Just checking for updates after talking to you earlier this am.

If she can't move, would putting her in a larger, open box work for getting her to the vet rather than trying to get her in the carrier? Normally I wouldn't suggest a box, but if she's not moving much, belt the box in the car and it might work?

Or can you take the top off the carrier and place her gently in it, and then put the top back on?

Let me know when get you an appointment. Will be checking in periodically, and my phone's on. Sending you calming vibes, and healing vibes to my precious Princess Warrior.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

I was thinking even a big box to lay her in and take to the vet.
Slide something firm under her to be able to lift her like Monique suggested and then lower her into a box and take her that way.

I hope all goes ok.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

((Carolyn)) I am sending so many snowflakes for Latte.
Praying this will pass and that you can get her to the vet.
As others have said above, take care of her, we will come through with the rest.
I have a big lump in my throat too and tears in my eyes.
((hugs))
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Oh poor girl!!! (((((((Carolyn)))))) (((((((Latte))))))) I hope she is going to be okay. Poor you - I can only imagine the worry. You love her so much!

If you can stabalize her - and get something under her - then even a laundry basket - best if you could have someone go with you to sit beside her in the car. I agree she should be seen - you need to know what exactly happened, and what you are dealing with.

Please keep us updated - there are many worried people here thinking of you both. I am sending as many healing vines as I can possibly muster up
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

(((((Carolyn))))) I am so sorry for you and Latte this morning. I hope its just a pinched nerve and that you can get back on track. I'm sending healing vines and energies to Latte and strength to you.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

OMG!!! I am so sad for you and feel how scared you are. Sending you tons and tons of healing vines for Latte and I hope it's only a pinched nerve.
I'm sitting here racking my brain as to what you could do? My childhood bestfriend's dad is a retired vet, he didn't know how to help me with FD,
but this I may be able to get you some advice if you like?
I am so sorry! It so sucks when things look good and this...Doodles is sending her love too!
I will keep checking to see how you two are doing.
(((((((((Carolyn & Latte))))))))
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

carolyn, I feel so bad for you guys. I know how much you love latte ... we all know how much you love her. I am more then willing to give what I can to help pay for latte's vet visit. It isn't much, but you can have it.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

I sent off an email my vet friend who is like a dad to me and hopefuly I will get back some ideas as to what to do or even how to move her without further hurting her.
heidi
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

((((Carolyn and Latte)))) Just sending vines, and snowflakes. I hope you or the vet can figure something out, and that she'll feel better soon. Thinking good thoughts for you both.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Oh Carolyn I hope you are on your way to the vet. Poor Latte really needs to be seen. Please let us know what;s happening as soon as you can. Many prayers are headed your way. Hang in there.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Carolyn I am almost in tears for you both, if I wasn't at work I would have lost it. I am praying so hard right now for you both. Please keep us updated. I hope sweet Latte is okay and starts to show some improvement very very soon.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

We are at the vet waiting to be seen.
She is not herself, tho part of it could be the bupe.
She paddled her legs a few times to get up both at home and in the carrier, but she knows she cant move so gives up and lays her head down.

I had to pick her up for the lb once she scooted a few inches and ended up with her head in the box. She cried a lot, but peed once I got her in there.

Her +3 was 367. I only decreased ..25, and she is going up so she is in a lot of pain.

Reception is spotty here so dont know when I can update again.

We have an appt w/ the AC later today.

I also have the next week off due to a death in the family I work for...so if she makes it thru another crisis, I can be here for her 24/7.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

I am relieved you are at the vet office; I am hoping you can find out what's going on and help Latte.
you are both in my thoughts, wishing you well.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

carolyn, i'm so sorry. i know how worried you must be. we're all worried for you. hoping it's something vet can give injection for to give latte relief. (((CAROLYN))) (((LATTE)))
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Sending blizzards of snowflakes, very wise and good vet vines, prayers, and healing white light, to Latte. And Big Ole Hugs to you, Carolyn.
Don't worry about money, okay.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Carolyn,

thank you for the update! So glad you are there at vets.

Please know there's a boat load-cruise-ship size of beans praying for Latte.

Lots and lots of positive vines!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

Sending a blanket of snowflakes to cover Latte and ((((Carolyn)))) for you. Will be checking in later to see an update....Oh, please, Lord, watch over Latte.
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

To help Carolyn with her vet bill today please contact me via PM here or facebook (Sarah Morse)

Back-up board link with donation info - http://lalalalantus.yuku.com/topic/804

Update - Fundraiser over - Whew! You guys are a generous bunch. :D
To those who had made contact with me to make other arrangements continue to follow though as I have you as part of the donor list. :)
 
Re: 7/9 Latte - hurt herself

My heart is breaking for you both! I hope all is going well at the vet and this is temporary. I'll be thinking of you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top