7/8 Purrcee Dose advice - +11.5 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Member Since 2013
Purrcee earned an decrease yesterday and the day before. After discussions on the board yesterday I'm not sure if I should implement it. Skipped his 7/7 am shot. Shot .75 at PMPS.
He would go from .75 to .50.

7/8 Amps 94 (ate 2 hours ago)

Need advice on what to shot this morning. Thanks!


Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99386
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee earned decrease but not sure to do???

I suspect that Marje and I may have differing opinions on this. I'd drop the dose to whatever you want to call the amount that's between 0.75u and 0.5u. (It's either a skinny 0.75u or a fat 0.5u). I'm thinking that the depot may be sufficiently drained but there's no real way to know. If it looks like the reduction isn't holding, increase back to the 0.75u.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee earned decrease but not sure to do???

Wow! Purrcee is doing great! :mrgreen: Are you going to be around to monitor, have plenty of strips, MC and HC food or karo/honey? You've shot an 87 and a 99 so you should be good with this 94. Unless someone with more experience says to shoot otherwise, I would go with the 0.5u.
Liz
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee earned decrease but not sure to do???

I implemented the first decrease to .75. Not the 2nd one to .5 so I was going to reduce to .5
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee earned decrease but not sure to do???

I won't be home all day. I should be able to get +2 for sure. I am going to feed/shoot .5
Does that sound like a plan?
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee earned decrease but not sure to do???

That would work but Leave food down,a lot of us make up frozen ice cubes out of there food so they don't eat it all at once.
What every you choice will be fine just get your test in...Your doing good :smile:
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee earned decrease but not sure to do???

What if Purrcee drops a lot at +2? Would you be able to adjust your plans?
Liz
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee earned decrease but not sure to do???

Hi Julie. Sorry no dosing advice here but tons of support and encouragement.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee earned decrease but not sure to do???

I think going with the 0.50 dose will be fine, and if his +2 is a lot lower than his AMPS, then you can leave a MC food out for him, or if it's real low you could leave out HC.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee earned decrease but not sure to do???

I fed and shot (Ithink it was .5 but it is hard to really get it perfect so may be a little less) so will test at +2 and if he is too low will adjust plans. I have HC and not sure about MC (Science Diet turkey maybe)? I do need more gravy food but have enough for today for sure. Plenty of strips...just bought 100.

Thank you all for your support
I will take down the 911
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58

In less than 1.5 hours he has dropped 36. Should I assume he is going to drop more at +2 and feed now or see if he goes below 50 at +2 to kick in another decrease in insulin?

Thanks!!
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58

I'd feed a little now. You don't want the decreases to come too close together ot they may not hold.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58

I think slow things down "now" rather than let him drop too much, too soon.
Spoonful of LC might do the trick. Test in 30? If it goes lower, break out the HC.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58

So going to feed LC first right?

Also do you know what is considered MC food?

Thank you!
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58

MC is usually about 10% to 15% carbs. You can make MC by mixing LC with HC. Fancy Feast Medleys are MC at about 12% carbs and the Fancy Feast Roasted varieties are about 10% carbs.

Your ss doesn't show what dose you shot this morning.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58

I am not sure where the line is between MC and HC food. Maybe 10%-15% would be considered medium?

As far as dose accuracty goes, have you looked at the pictures towards the bottom of this sticky thread? They might help when you're under 1u doses.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

What Ann said - good advice! When you're going down the dose ladder, you don't want the reductions to follow too close to each other, as many times what you are seeing is "depot" effect from the previous higher doses for the first couple days after a reduction. And if you go down too quickly, you could end up having to go back up when the numbers indicate that the reduction has "failed".

In this case, you want Purrcee to see 50s, and stay in the middle of the green zone all day long if possible. But not necessarily drop below the 50 line.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50!!

Went down again after eating to 50. I don't know how much more he will continue eating so maybe I should give him some HC? What do you think?
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50!!

Julie, do you have to leave for work? or can you be a little late today?

I would definitely give Purrcee some HC gravy, about 2 teaspoons if possible.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50!!

You don't want him to get too full, maybe just a tsp. of the gravy from the HC. Just a little t a time to keep bumping the numbers up, remember it takes a little while for the HC to get into his system. Check again in half an hour.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50!!

Julie,
I forgot you said you couldn't be home today. You want to get some HC in him and get the numbers up, like Dyana said.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50!!

Hey Julie, it looks like Purrcee wants you to stay home. Do you think you can be a little late to your appointment or work?
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50!!

I fed HC at 11:18 and just went with my gut and your recent suggestions. He ate it and I could probably give him more.
I have already changed my plans but need to leave in about 40 minutes. We have 5 feral colonies we take care of (not within the sanctuary) and have gotten it down to a science where we can feed every 3rd day. We want to trap them and bring them to our feral cat habitat but the last few at each colony are very wise and very stubborn. We want to shut down our colonies but can't do it knowing there are few left out there. So every 3rd day we travel to 5 stations to feed them. One station is really out of our area and takes the most time and of course has very smart cats that have seen all their friends slowly disappear.

will test before I leave.
When I leave should I give him more HC?

Thank you all.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50!!

I would test 20 minutes after the HC, and give him some more HC and test again in another 20 minutes.
Please let us know what numbers you get.

And yes, you will need to leave out HC.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50!!

20 minute test (11:45) ...49! Gave some gravy (not much gravy in the Friskies Tasty Treasures)
Will retest in about 20
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50 Now 49

Can you give him some more gravy with two drops of karo or other syrup, please? We need to get him on his way up, before you leave.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50 Now 49

If it were me, I wouldn't leave until he is on his way up without the help of food. Is there anyway you can stall your plans? Or feed the closest colony first and then come back to check on him?
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50 Now 49

No matter what I won't leave until he is on his way up...errands and colonies will have to wait.

Will give him more gravy and Karo (not sure he will eat the Karo)
Next test will actually be +3 or close enough

Can't we just buy HC gravy without food in it? I know they have gravy for dogs but don't know carb percentage.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50, 49 +3.25 63

Up a little at +3.25/63
Not sure what steps to take next? Please advise and thanks!
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50, 49 +3.25 63

Ah, I'm glad he's up a little. I would feed some LC with a little HC meat or meat and gravy mixed in. It's very early in the cycle, and nadir is not for a while, yet.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50, 49 +3.25 63

retesting in 30 min which is at 12:50 but am I suppose to feed first before next test.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50, 49 +3.25 63

If you use the FF Gravy Lovers, you can either dump a can or two into a strainer and let it drip through to separate the gravy or open the can and put a lot of pressure on the lid. It will separate the gravy from the solids.

Given the Karo, you can wait and see if numbers drop again if you don't feed. Alternatively, you could feed some MC (no Karo) and re-test in 30 min.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50, 49 +3.25 63 +4.75 70

Went down to 58...gave hc and I think that's all he will be eating for a long while. I need to get more gravy food and strain as suggested by Sienne. Already gave Karo once...do it again???

I think his dose is too high or something but I don't have enough know how only gut.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50, 49 +3.25 63 now 58

Purrcee is bolting down the dose ladder. Don't over feed with the HC. That's not a huge difference between the 63 and the 58. I'd try MC and see if he surfs.

Julie -- I'm at work and have an appointment. Just keep doing exactly what you're doing. We'll work on dose a little later once things have calmed down.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 +1.5 58 +2 50, 49 +3.25 63 now 58

Have not fed since 12:50 which was HC
Nadir around 3 p.m. If in a safe zone will fed LC and run to store at that time.

Today's numbers and events:
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94
8:15 AMPS 94
8:45 Fed
8:55 Dose .5
10:25 58 fed LC
11:10 50 fed HC
11:45 49
Noon Karo on gums and fed HC
12:20 63
12:50 58 fed HC
1:45 70
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 - Tests 58 - 50 - 49 - 63 - 58 - 70

Sounds like a plan.

I'm sorry your ferals had to go hungry.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 - Tests 58 - 50 - 49 - 63 - 58 - 70

My sister went alone which we usually don't like to do because it's on the down and low and some areas not the best. She is doing all the sanctuary errands by herself which is a lot and I know her day will be tiring. I owe her big time and will try to make it up to her.
Let's hope nadir is a good solid number!
Have a good day at work!
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 - Tests 58 - 50 - 49 - 63 - 58 - 70

Great job today, Julia! Have you tried explaining to the ferals what's going on and where the other cats are disappearing to? As you said, these are the smart ones and they may be happy being feral.
Liz
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 - Tests 58 - 50 - 49 - 63 - 58 - 70

I know they like being feral and they will be feral with us too but they are not spay/neutered which means more babies and that has to stop because we are out of room at the inn!:smile:

Thanks for stopping by!
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 - Tests 58 - 50 - 49 - 63 - 58 - 70

+6 68 fed some LC
going to the store...be gone about an hour

Today's numbers and events:
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94
8:15 AMPS 94
8:45 Fed
8:55 Dose .5
10:25 58 fed LC
11:10 50 fed HC
11:45 49
Noon Karo on gums and fed HC
12:20 63
12:50 58 fed HC
1:45 70
3:00 68 fed LC
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 - Tests 58 - 50 - 49 - 63 - 58 - 70

Will get a +8.5 which is around 5:30 and before I feed them all dinner. After test I will feed and won't test until closer to PMPS which is around 8:15. That gives plenty of time between eating and testing.
Really am concerned about giving him insulin tonight. I guess we can just see how the PMPS test is and go from there.
Any other suggestions please let me know.

Thanks.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 - Tests 58 - 50 - 49 - 63 - 58 - 70

Hi Julie, I dont have any advice for you about tonights dose but I wanted to stop by to say hi. You are doing a wonderful job testing and handling Purrcee numbers.

Hope you have a good day - and hope Purrcee surfs safely for you
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 - Tests 58 - 50 - 49 - 63 - 58 - 70

Thanks so much Jamie. Tonight I have to get some sleep and in the morning I have to take the dog to the vet without fail so I have to make sure Purrcee will be okay...not sure how to do it :smile:

I hope you are doing well and Jupiter too.
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 - +8.75 49

Not getting anywhere here. 5:45 p.m. +8.75 49
Will feed LC now and retest in about 30 min.
Any ideas?
Thanks!!

Today
Today's numbers and events:
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94
8:15 AMPS 94
8:45 Fed
8:55 Dose .5
10:25 58 fed LC
11:10 50 fed HC
11:45 49
Noon Karo on gums and fed HC
12:20 63
12:50 58 fed HC
1:45 70
3:00 68 fed LC
5:45 49 feeding LC
6:30 51
 
Re: 7/8 Purrcee AMPS 94 - +8.75 49

You can also put "dose advice needed" in the subject line of your first post if you need advice on how much insulin to shoot later, but I am guessing the more experienced members will want to wait to see where Purrcee is at a little closer to PMPS
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top