7/8 Copernicus AMPS= 414 PMPS=428

Krista & Copernicus

Member Since 2026
Hello,
Can someone please explain something to me about the TR protocol...if there is always new dose wonkiness and bouncing, when is there time for the dose to settle and how will I ever know what the real numbers are if there is new dose wonkiness and he's not on a dose for very long? Thank you.
 
Hi Krista

Great to see you.

First, at where he is with his dose, you should be increasing by 1u if you increase after every six cycles.

He’s not bouncing at all so it’s ok to take that out of the equation but when he starts seeing some blue and green nadirs, if he bounces, it can take up to six cycles to clear the bounce. While we can increase during a bounce, it depends on the specific cat as to whether we would recommend increasing during a bounce.

When we fast-track, we will increase after four cycles as long as nadirs are above 300 but we only do this twice. Then we will hold the next increase for a full six cycles to let the depot catch up.

Here are a couple things you can read about NDW and bouncing.
NDW

Myths Debunked. See post 17

I do want to take @Wendy&Neko as she can better advice you at these doses whether you want to just increase by 0.5u if you are fast-tracking or whether you can increase by 1u while fast-tracking.

Not every cat gets NDW and I’m not seeing any indication of it on his SS. You’ve held some doses longer than TR or we would recommend and he’s just high and fairly flat.

You are giving cabergoiline, right?
 
Hi Marje, I have seen comments on my posts calling it NDW and bouncing. I thought that was when he would go higher after a dose increase instead of flat or lower? The reason I stayed on a dose a little longer than 6 cycles is because my husband wasn't comfortable with me increasing the dose if I had to leave town for a doctors appointment. I am doing cabergoline compounded oral 40 mcg every 48 hours. His leg weakness has rapidly increased the last few days.
 
Hi Marje, I have seen comments on my posts calling it NDW and bouncing. I thought that was when he would go higher after a dose increase instead of flat or lower? The reason I stayed on a dose a little longer than 6 cycles is because my husband wasn't comfortable with me increasing the dose if I had to leave town for a doctors appointment. I am doing cabergoline compounded oral 40 mcg every 48 hours. His leg weakness has rapidly increased the last few days.
Early on when he had all those black BGs, he was also very sick so likely a combination between not enough insulin and illness.

I don’t know who mentioned NDW or bouncing but I am not seeing either. When I look at dose increases you’ve done from when you raised through the next 24 hours, I’m just not seeing NDW. And he really hasn’t dropped much to trigger a bounce. I see some loss of duration sprinkled around.
 
Here's the link to your previous post here: 6/30 Copernicus AMPS= 394, +6= 274 and PMPS=228! so people can see what happened last time you posted.

I do see a big drop from PMPS to +2 tonight. Will you be able to get a +4? Big drops can also cause bounces. You've been missing a few second tests in the PM cycle, so you might have missed some other fast drops.I
Staying up all night is what flared my chronic illness last month. I am trying to stay healthy so I can continue to take care of him. So I need to figure something out bc I shouldn't be staying up til midnight to test. I bought an automatic feeder so I don't have to do all nighters without sleep. So say he had a big drop, would that change anything? Wouldn't you all just say to stay the course with TR and increase every 6 cycles anyway? I guess I don't understand, are you saying I'm missing drops that could mean I found his dose? What is the "so what"
if he is dropping fast? Then what do I do? This is all very confusing bc I know I was told one test in the cycle was ok. Thank you
 
Early on when he had all those black BGs, he was also very sick so likely a combination between not enough insulin and illness.

I don’t know who mentioned NDW or bouncing but I am not seeing either. When I look at dose increases you’ve done from when you raised through the next 24 hours, I’m just not seeing NDW. And he really hasn’t dropped much to trigger a bounce. I see some loss of duration sprinkled around.
I'll try and go back and find out where that was called out.
 
Back
Top