? 7/78 Gus BG 486 please advise on dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

elizabeth and gus

Member Since 2015
It was long morning for poor Gus. We are still waiting for lab results but other than chronic pancreatitis no abnormalities were found on ultrasound. Until lab work shows something he will be treated for pancreatitis. I got meds and note in the chart that if needed other vets in that practice could dispense meds. Vet offered lactulose for constipation but I wanted to do more research and have it pending if he needs it.

Gus had small BM this morning and big poo just now. It looks like pumpkin pure worked. I am still concerned with high BG:
AMPS 446
@+6 334
We need to increase dose to 0.5U and try new vial. I am going to be home tomorrow so we start in the morning.

Thank you all for the support
 
I'm glad Gus left you a good deposit in the litter box! (Where else to people cheer for poop?) Let's also see if his numbers drop now that his system is more "cleared out." There have been some members here who would swear their cat's numbers were better after a trip to the box.
 
I'm sure you are feeling very relieved that there were no unpleasant surprises from the vet visit. It's always best to know what you are dealing with. Three cheers for getting that notation in his file.

I'm glad the pumpkin did it's job. I agree with Sienne that sometimes kitties feel much better after a good BM. I really think it did affect Cinco's numbers when he was having chronic constipation.

Good luck with the dosecrease tomorrow.
 
I'm sure you are feeling very relieved that there were no unpleasant surprises from the vet visit. It's always best to know what you are dealing with. Three cheers for getting that notation in his file.

I'm glad the pumpkin did it's job. I agree with Sienne that sometimes kitties feel much better after a good BM. I really think it did affect Cinco's numbers when he was having chronic constipation.

Good luck with the dosecrease tomorrow.
Thank you thank you.....................................................
I just need little break now, maybe not jet I need to get many cans of pumpkin pure and pray that Gus will it it.
 
You can use frozen or baby food canned squash with no additives if you cannot find pumpkin.
 
I see on the spreadsheet that he had bupe and cerenia on the 4th. Is he continuing to get those every day or was it just that day? He probably needs them daily for now, along with subq fluids. Have you read the Primer on Pancreatitis?

Sending pancreatitis-healing-vines to little Gus. I hope he feels better.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) The bupe and cernia were just one day because we didn't know what is going on (constipation, one episode (~ 3.5 hours) of urination or straining outside LB, big spike in BG levels, throw up twice and lethargic. The decision to give bupe was based on him lethargic not moving much and not interested in what is going on around him so possible he was in pain or it was his BG high.
Today:
AMPS 486 increased to 0.5 @+3 455

Gus is sleepy drinking lot of water and was eating OK.

The lab results (included in SS)
ALT 196 (from 109)
BUN 75 (from 49, 57, 32)
CREA 1.6 (from 1.9, 2.4)
WBC 6.2
We still waiting for urine analysis.

Vet explained that if Gus was constipated so he also was dehydrated and BUN elevated but ALT???

No matter how many test we do we still don't know what is going on with Gus.

I remember in previous pancreatitis episode his BM was bit loose and light in color and for some now time his BM are black or very dark and dry is it intestinal bleeding thus BUN high and CREA normal ?????

What to do I am lost? Should we increase dose even more??
Any ideas please.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top