bobjoh
Member Since 2021
(previous) 7/1 - Alphyne AMPS @ 375 / +3 @ 316 - will drop by PMPS | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
Hello again!
Well, after 2 reductions in a row, and some great lower numbers, Alphyne is back in the 300s. Such a stinker!
But, frustration aside, I am having shoulder surgery tomorrow. I have a friend coming in to give her shots while I'm out of it, and for safety's sake, I lowered her dose to 1.5U (she's currently at 1.75U) so she doesn't have to mess with the calipers or doesn't give her too much insulin. Since I use syringes with 1/2 unit markings, I figured that would be the safest route (and I saw that's what others in the forum have done).
My question is on the curve. She's been all over the place number wise, and there have been a few days where she got no shot or a token dose. I was planning for a curve on the 10th, which is 11 days after she started the new dose. But, since I'm reducing for my surgery, do I start the curve day count after I get her back up to full dose? I know with TR the count starts over, but with SLGS, I'm not really sure how to count it, with all the missed/reduced shots in the past few days, and knowing she'll be getting a lower dose for a day or two now. I'm assuming her depot will probably be depleted...
Thanks in advance!
Hello again!
Well, after 2 reductions in a row, and some great lower numbers, Alphyne is back in the 300s. Such a stinker!

But, frustration aside, I am having shoulder surgery tomorrow. I have a friend coming in to give her shots while I'm out of it, and for safety's sake, I lowered her dose to 1.5U (she's currently at 1.75U) so she doesn't have to mess with the calipers or doesn't give her too much insulin. Since I use syringes with 1/2 unit markings, I figured that would be the safest route (and I saw that's what others in the forum have done).
My question is on the curve. She's been all over the place number wise, and there have been a few days where she got no shot or a token dose. I was planning for a curve on the 10th, which is 11 days after she started the new dose. But, since I'm reducing for my surgery, do I start the curve day count after I get her back up to full dose? I know with TR the count starts over, but with SLGS, I'm not really sure how to count it, with all the missed/reduced shots in the past few days, and knowing she'll be getting a lower dose for a day or two now. I'm assuming her depot will probably be depleted...
Thanks in advance!
Last edited:
