? 7/6 Pudge AMPS 163 +5 65 +6 75 +6.5 94 +8 100 +9 125 +10 132 PMPS 180 +3 215 +6 202 +10 234 +11 241

Woohoo, well done Pudge. First greens. :D:D. How was Pudge acting during that green stretch? BTW, you did the right thing, when they first hit green in a cycle, a couple tsps of regular LC can help them coast in those healing green numbers.

To answer a couple of your questions, including one from yesterday. No, your cat does not need to be regulated to have a dental. It's just that some vets are not comfy with the protocols for anaesthesia for a sugar cat. Neko's first dental she started the day over 400. :rolleyes: Some cats actually will not get regulated without a dental, if there is infection or inflammation in the mouth.

You also asked about shooting lower. Cats don't drop the same amount at a low preshot as they do in higher numbers. One of the reasons that shooting lower numbers eventually becomes addictive, is they they are more predictable cycles. We say "shoot low to stay low". I loved shooting the 80's, cause most times Neko stayed didn't move more than 10 points the entire cycle.
 
well now thats settled for the moment.. (THANK YOUU :bighug:) what to do about dosing from here.. cause he has steep drops sometimes despite PS number.. how does TR exactly work w this? At times he just coasts.. others hes dropped 100+ (like today!) gonna really examine his SS but like… hm. if lower than 160/150.. reduce/adjust?.. 1/1.25 instead of 2 U?.. i really dont know :bookworm::blackeye:
So, Kit is a huge fan of quick, steep drops. Her onset is early in the cycle, and she likes to nadir sometimes as early as +2. One of the things you can try is to manage the curve with different percentages of food, fed at different times.

So, for instance, what I do with Kit, she gets fed at shot time. Before her recent spate of actually being in the greens and blues a lot, if she was above 150, I fed a tbsp of 7% at +1 and a tbsp of 9% at +1.5. Then a tbsp of whatever she needed (ranging from 2% to 20% based on where she was bg-wise) at +2, and probably again at +3. If she was below 150, it was safe to just do preshot, +1, +2, +3, because she had less distance to fall. Lately, to stay on top of the dose that got her more consistently in the greens and low blues, I went back to having that +1.5 feeding added in, because girl was hitting limes every dang day. Today is the first day it might have worked.

But, what to take from that is - it's an experiment. Figuring out how carb sensitive Pudge is. When to feed what. And you have to try it for awhile. I worked with Angela a lot on this early on, and when we say awhile, sometimes it takes a couple of weeks. And it's helpful to try one thing at a time, so you know if something worked, it's that one thing. If you're making lots of changes at once, and something works, you don't know which something it was. As always, with more data it gets easier to figure out if it's a moment to feed or not. And it has to be consistent. It seems counterproductive to feed a higher carb food when they're already high, but you want to ease them down to those better numbers. And taper off as needed.

So try some things, but keep track of it so you know what you've been trying and can adjust. And that also helps make judgement calls about what to feed when low, etc. Because sometimes just because you see a lower number, doesn't necessarily mean they need fed. Kit's had some several hours long coasts in the 50s where I fed her the first and maybe second test, but then stopped to see if she could hold it. I'm a fan of the whole feeding the curve thought mentality. :)
 
With TR you want to see normal bg of 50-100 if possible. So mostly greenmand nice flat cycjes. That’s the goal. So today’s cycle was a nice one with time spent in normal bg and helping the pancreas to heal. If your goal is remission you will need to get used to green if following TR. I remember the first time I saw a 65 because I was not yet testing so I was at my vet’s office for a nadir check. I started home testing right after that.

If you don’t want to see the bg under 90 you would follow SLGS. I hope you stick with TR.
hiii!! sorry i knew i was forgetting some and meant to tag you tooo ~ :arghh: well just.. yes. would like to follow. just brought this to vet attention, just to see what was said :rolleyes:, and he says he doesn't like TR because there's little room for error.. can maybe explain? it feels that way a little cause the numbers are low but yeah. today was a nice cycle! :)

he's acting like he doesn't feel good.. not great. has some other stuff going on.. going to try taking him in somewhere Monday. has had vomiting a few times the past 4-5 days.. thing is.. but does he need to get used to lower numbers like this? or is he supposed to be feeling great?

my goal is remission, as much possible. does healing happen on SLGS?.. cause I am a little nervous I won't lie. im just worried about hypo.. but I understand w this you have to get used to treating it. I don't know.. not sure. am following it at the current moment. :bookworm:.. but not sure. he's going up very slowly it seems..
 
Beautiful cycle! Well done you too.
really?? :cat::cat::cat: where do we go from here? do I shoot whatever the number is?... im feeling weird today. he doesn't seem to be feeling great.. this expected after high numbers (300s) for months?
 
Woohoo, well done Pudge. First greens. :D:D. How was Pudge acting during that green stretch? BTW, you did the right thing, when they first hit green in a cycle, a couple tsps of regular LC can help them coast in those healing green numbers.

To answer a couple of your questions, including one from yesterday. No, your cat does not need to be regulated to have a dental. It's just that some vets are not comfy with the protocols for anaesthesia for a sugar cat. Neko's first dental she started the day over 400. :rolleyes: Some cats actually will not get regulated without a dental, if there is infection or inflammation in the mouth.

You also asked about shooting lower. Cats don't drop the same amount at a low preshot as they do in higher numbers. One of the reasons that shooting lower numbers eventually becomes addictive, is they they are more predictable cycles. We say "shoot low to stay low". I loved shooting the 80's, cause most times Neko stayed didn't move more than 10 points the entire cycle.
well... it was okay earlier, but idk how he's feeling rn.. I don't think he feels good at the moment. :( do lower numbers take some getting used to? he's eating very well, even w the low numbers.. he's been getting snacks and meals since i had to go out a little.. tysm for that. good to know. going to try getting him one then.. geez! oh no. :/

I see!!!.... okay. well. :/ the fact of doing a low number at night after all the drama and exhaustion sounds like a bad idea in case it goes bad, cause we're on our own.. but, if its low, still give the full 2.25?.. think of course gonna say yes haha.. ugh wendy we're tired.. im worried. :( it's been a hard road..
 
So, Kit is a huge fan of quick, steep drops. Her onset is early in the cycle, and she likes to nadir sometimes as early as +2. One of the things you can try is to manage the curve with different percentages of food, fed at different times.

So, for instance, what I do with Kit, she gets fed at shot time. Before her recent spate of actually being in the greens and blues a lot, if she was above 150, I fed a tbsp of 7% at +1 and a tbsp of 9% at +1.5. Then a tbsp of whatever she needed (ranging from 2% to 20% based on where she was bg-wise) at +2, and probably again at +3. If she was below 150, it was safe to just do preshot, +1, +2, +3, because she had less distance to fall. Lately, to stay on top of the dose that got her more consistently in the greens and low blues, I went back to having that +1.5 feeding added in, because girl was hitting limes every dang day. Today is the first day it might have worked.

But, what to take from that is - it's an experiment. Figuring out how carb sensitive Pudge is. When to feed what. And you have to try it for awhile. I worked with Angela a lot on this early on, and when we say awhile, sometimes it takes a couple of weeks. And it's helpful to try one thing at a time, so you know if something worked, it's that one thing. If you're making lots of changes at once, and something works, you don't know which something it was. As always, with more data it gets easier to figure out if it's a moment to feed or not. And it has to be consistent. It seems counterproductive to feed a higher carb food when they're already high, but you want to ease them down to those better numbers. And taper off as needed.

So try some things, but keep track of it so you know what you've been trying and can adjust. And that also helps make judgement calls about what to feed when low, etc. Because sometimes just because you see a lower number, doesn't necessarily mean they need fed. Kit's had some several hours long coasts in the 50s where I fed her the first and maybe second test, but then stopped to see if she could hold it. I'm a fan of the whole feeding the curve thought mentality. :)
oh dear me.. my head is spinning haha.. goodness me! lol :) Ill be honest I don't think I could manage this.. so glad you do if need to.. and it is, an experiment, isn't it?.. trying to do just that.. ugh. ohhh yes, ive heard this.. but what about combatting ketones? or that's done w once even low cycles establish? :cat:
 
ugh wendy we're tired.. im worried. :( it's been a hard road..

I’ve been concerned about how to get you more sleep with all the late night tests you do. :bighug: I wonder if you could aim to get a +2 at night? Then you could follow that up with +3, so you can see where the cycle is headed. Then you’d hopefully have more nights with a long chunk of sleep if his numbers look good. Will he use a timed feeder so he can get snacks overnight without you being awake? That would be another good way to get a long stretch… test to confirm you feel comfortable leaving him and then have timed snacks overnight. You now know that his regular food provided a little bump in numbers, and can use that to your advantage at night. ;)
 
I’ve been concerned about how to get you more sleep with all the late night tests you do. :bighug: I wonder if you could aim to get a +2 at night? Then you could follow that up with +3, so you can see where the cycle is headed. Then you’d hopefully have more nights with a long chunk of sleep if his numbers look good. Will he use a timed feeder so he can get snacks overnight without you being awake? That would be another good way to get a long stretch… test to confirm you feel comfortable leaving him and then have timed snacks overnight. You now know that his regular food provided a little bump in numbers, and can use that to your advantage at night. ;)
friend I am tired at night... :joyful::rolleyes: running on adrenaline tho. so tired head bobbing tired.... but not so not tired rn. hah.. plz.. and you know, I've been doing it to catch numbers!!! especially lately. like fr.... I was semi-prepared for it to be trash cause the dose hadn't been found yet.... and he's hungry. honestly too, he's really hungry a lot, been hungry for months.. :( and waking me up which is also why there are so many as well (little nugget... :( ) because nights show up differently.. I wanted to see how night vs day was.. so great to hear everything is great... omg. :arghh::bighug:.... ok. :arghh:
 
EVERYONE.. he's still very/pretty hungry. as numbers stabilize over time, will this get better?.. I was thinking he wouldn't be so hungry with the numbers he had today, but he is. not as voracious I would say.. well that's good then? :)
 
EVERYONE.. he's still very/pretty hungry. as numbers stabilize over time, will this get better?.. I was thinking he wouldn't be so hungry with the numbers he had today, but he is. not as voracious I would say.. well that's good then? :)

Cooper was like that for the first couple weeks in green (and pretty reliably anytime he hits 56/57 or less). He’s still the same cat he was the last 13 years (very food driven), but now he has long stretches in his cycle where he’s not hunting around for food/plants/plastic. He actually started being settled again for long naps as his numbers regulated.
 
How long until shot time? Get a +11 or if past that post pmps. The fuse would be 2.25 unless you want to do SLGS. If that dose is 2.0 because of the drop under 90. Cats do go into remission sometimes from SLGS. The odds are better with TR.
 
do lower numbers take some getting used to?
Definitely! I compare going from high blood sugar to normal numbers as drinking lots of caffeine then trying to cut back. He's used to that sugar in his system, and normal is a shock to his body at first. Neko hid under the bed at her first greens. :rolleyes:. She used to play at low pinks. I was so happy when play time moved to low blues/upper greens.

As far as tonight goes, remember that he hasn't seen green before. There's a decent chance he might bounce. The size dose you shoot depends on the dosing method, as others have said.
 
You already know the answer ;) you can do it!
Just keep updating numbers for us to see and for the board to help you!
wee!! lol ... omg. just happy it went a bit high so my anxiety not too much.. but would've done it if lower! haha.. other doses didn't help enough.. just didn't. :/
THANK YOUUU!!! :) ok :bighug::bighug:
 
Definitely! I compare going from high blood sugar to normal numbers as drinking lots of caffeine then trying to cut back. He's used to that sugar in his system, and normal is a shock to his body at first. Neko hid under the bed at her first greens. :rolleyes:. She used to play at low pinks. I was so happy when play time moved to low blues/upper greens.

As far as tonight goes, remember that he hasn't seen green before. There's a decent chance he might bounce. The size dose you shoot depends on the dosing method, as others have said.
woof!! great to know :coffee:.. (aw!! poor Neko.. haha.) really good to know hmmmm yes o_O:bookworm: .. right.
 
Back
Top