7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49;+3.5=50;+4=70

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Hello!!!

Yesterday's

Recap

7/5 AMPS=149; +2=131; +8=115
7/5 PMPS=146; +2=113; +5=149

7/6 AMPS=124; +2=94; +3=99; +4.5=101; +7=104
7/6 PMPS=137; +2=59; +3=49; +3.5=50; +4=70; +5=83; +7=133

Late post today.
I went back to bed with the kitties this morning, and then after that had go out to get Lucy's med and drinking water.
Everyone thinks I'm joking when I tell them I buy spring or filtered water for my cats but I myself drink tap water :lol:
Water is cheap, but VERY HEAVY, so I don't want to have to go buy it too often.
Non of the water delivery companies here deliver on weekends, and I'm out on weekdays during their delivery time.

I called my vet and discussed with her about Lucy's prednisolone dose & schedule.
The good news is, she did have a plan and told me we are targeting to reduce her dose to 2.5mg every other day if she dose well on 2.5mg every day.
She said we should keep her on every day schedule for at least 2 weeks before reducing.
I strongly pointed out that I don't want her to lose her adrenal glands function during that time, and she said she didn't think that would happen and even if it did the functions will return fairly quickly.
The other vet I spoke with yesterday said that adrenal submission is rare in cats compared to dogs.
When I go to Lucy's acupuncture appointment tomorrow, I'll ask them if there is a blood test available to evaluate adrenal glands function, and if there is, I'll add that test to her regular blood panel next month.
I must be an annoying client :lol: I sometimes like to ask the same question to different doctors to get different points of vew :lol:

So.... I think I'm satisfied now.
I'm going to keep her on 2.5mg every day for 2 weeks, and discuss with the vet again about the possibility of reducing to every other day.
If this every day schedule is a preparation period for less dose in future, I can live with it without over-worrying about it.
I wanted to let you know about this because I've been talking about this a lot lately and some of you were concerned with me for Lucy.

Now Lucy....
She is doing very good.
She ate her 1st and 2nd breakfast by herself AGAIN!!!
This is becoming her new normal! I can't believe it!

I have a little bit of a headache from the earlier Costco shopping.
Going into crowded store always gives me a headache.
Lucy is napping on the sofa, so I think I'll join her for a bit.
I really would like to visit condo later today as I didn't have time yesterday....
Hope my headache will disappear with a nap....
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy AMPS=124,+2=94;+3=99;+4.5=101;+7=104

Yay on Lucy eating be herself again! Go Lucy!

That sounds like a good plan on the prednisolone. I hope your headache goes away soon.
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy AMPS=124,+2=94;+3=99;+4.5=101;+7=104

Excellent report all around...except, of course, for the headache. I hear ya on that sort of shopping. I loved to shop when I was a kid. Now, it's a fate worse than death. When DH asks if I want to go to Lowes or Home Depot with him, I swear I start shaking :lol: ...and then say "No way!!".

Have a great night, Mariko!
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy AMPS=124,+2=94;+3=99;+4.5=101;+7=104

Great news on Lucy's new normal! Nice to hear that she may get a reduction on the pred - and nothing wrong with getting varied opinions from professionals. Keeps them on their toes :-D Hope your head feels better Mariko~
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy AMPS=124,+2=94;+3=99;+4.5=101;+7=104;PMPS=137

Carla, Amy, Jane,

Thank you for your visit.
My headache is gone!
I had a nice nap with her.
When we nap together on the sofa, she likes to sleep between my legs.
It's funny because she never does that when we go to bed.

Lucy ate her 1st dinner by herself.
She's looking for more food.

Now the pred schedule is sorted out, I'm wondering if her insulin dose is right.
Some cycles look like it's the right dose, and some cycles look like she needs more juice.
I think I'm going to post a dosing question tomorrow morning......

I'm supposed to do dinner & movie with a friend, re-try of the one I had to cancel a couple of weeks ago.
I hope she'll let me leave home for a few hours today....
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137; +1=92

Even Walmart gives me a headache,wish i could do all my shopping from home lol Lucy looking good you can sleep tonight though :smile:
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59

OMH What a dive.....
I cancelled the dinner & movie tonight.
Lucy wants me to stay at home with her.
I guess she doesn't want the dosecrease I was thinking about....

I hope someone will be available tonight in case I need to put up the 911..... nailbite_smile
At least she is eating...
She just had the 3rd dinner at +2, so I won't feed her anymore until I test her at +3.
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49

Sorry for the 911, but panicking a little here....
OK maybe no karo yet....
I think HC....
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49

No Karo yet. A spoon of HC, heavy on the gravy. And test thirty minutes later.
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49

I gave about a tsp of HC.
Will test in 30min....
I don't know if this is a 911 worthy number, but I don't like how she's been dropping since PMPS today.
I wanted to catch someone's eye before she goes even lower....
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49

Thank you very much, Carl!
I did exactly what you said!
Will report back in 30 min.
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49

Leave the 911 up until someone else responds.
I would stay up but I was up till sunrise this morning after two Jupiter and Purrcee decided to have fun last night. And I have to get up for work in six hours or so...
Have you done the low numbers dance before?
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49

I'm still here. You can take down the 911 now.

At the next test, if she's still below 50, then another spoonful of gravy. I usually reserve the drop of corn syrup for under 40, unless Lucy has gastro issues with the gravy.
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49

Your doing good,just keep checking back in someone will see you, You weren't suppose to do the PJ party tonight but your up with Jamie and Jupiter tonight. :smile:
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49

Thank you Wendy!!!
I took down the 911.

Linda, you were wrong about me going to bed :-D :-D
The next test in 10 min.
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49

She is 50 at +3.5.
Should I give her another 1tsp of HC?
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49;+3.5=50

That's a little close to the line and I'm not sure where her nadir is. How about adding some gravy to her regular LC? The LC will help keep her up but I think we want her a little bit higher too. Then I'll see you back in 30.
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49;+3.5=50

I have a question about dosing....
She went 49 at +3, and dose this mean she earned a reduction?
I was thinking about increasing her dose to 0.5 unit until this happened....
She is currently 0.25 fat, so if I reduce a full 0.25 unit, that would leave us ..... a fat?
She'll get almost nothing.
Her nadir hasn't been so low until tonight...

Should I keep her on the same dose from tomorrow, or just shave the fat and give her 0.25 unit?
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49;+3.5=50

Normally with cats that are coming back from OTJ, the rules are a little bit tougher for reductions. What I've seen are 3 times between 40-50 or one time under 40 gets you a .25 reduction. I think that would put you at .1? But maybe you could try a skinny .25? The exact dose might be a question for Marje or Sienne to answer.

If I don't get back to you right after your next test, I'm off testing Neko. But I'll be back.
 
Re: 7/6 Lucy PMPS=137;+1=92;+2=59;+3=49;+3.5=50

Thank you Wendy.
Lucy is coming back up rather quickly.
Her +4 is 70.
I think we are OK now.
I'll stop feeding her, and test again in 1 hour <--- Is it OK?

I'll PM Marje and Sienne about her next shot's dosing...
 
I think testing in an hour is good. Are you good on your own?

I think your current dose is still the same dose tomorrow, as this is just the first time under 50. But when she does earn the reduction, I'm not sure what it'd be.
 
I had problem getting back on the board!!

Thank you Wendy, I'll be OK now.
And thank you for the dosing.
I'll keep the same dose tomorrow!

Good night!
 
For some reason the board got really slow for a bit.

Good luck tonight. I hope you don't have to stay up too late. Neko just told me I could go to bed. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top