mariko
Member Since 2011
Hello!!!
Yesterday's
Recap
7/5 AMPS=149; +2=131; +8=115
7/5 PMPS=146; +2=113; +5=149
7/6 AMPS=124; +2=94; +3=99; +4.5=101; +7=104
7/6 PMPS=137; +2=59; +3=49; +3.5=50; +4=70; +5=83; +7=133
Late post today.
I went back to bed with the kitties this morning, and then after that had go out to get Lucy's med and drinking water.
Everyone thinks I'm joking when I tell them I buy spring or filtered water for my cats but I myself drink tap water :lol:
Water is cheap, but VERY HEAVY, so I don't want to have to go buy it too often.
Non of the water delivery companies here deliver on weekends, and I'm out on weekdays during their delivery time.
I called my vet and discussed with her about Lucy's prednisolone dose & schedule.
The good news is, she did have a plan and told me we are targeting to reduce her dose to 2.5mg every other day if she dose well on 2.5mg every day.
She said we should keep her on every day schedule for at least 2 weeks before reducing.
I strongly pointed out that I don't want her to lose her adrenal glands function during that time, and she said she didn't think that would happen and even if it did the functions will return fairly quickly.
The other vet I spoke with yesterday said that adrenal submission is rare in cats compared to dogs.
When I go to Lucy's acupuncture appointment tomorrow, I'll ask them if there is a blood test available to evaluate adrenal glands function, and if there is, I'll add that test to her regular blood panel next month.
I must be an annoying client :lol: I sometimes like to ask the same question to different doctors to get different points of vew :lol:
So.... I think I'm satisfied now.
I'm going to keep her on 2.5mg every day for 2 weeks, and discuss with the vet again about the possibility of reducing to every other day.
If this every day schedule is a preparation period for less dose in future, I can live with it without over-worrying about it.
I wanted to let you know about this because I've been talking about this a lot lately and some of you were concerned with me for Lucy.
Now Lucy....
She is doing very good.
She ate her 1st and 2nd breakfast by herself AGAIN!!!
This is becoming her new normal! I can't believe it!
I have a little bit of a headache from the earlier Costco shopping.
Going into crowded store always gives me a headache.
Lucy is napping on the sofa, so I think I'll join her for a bit.
I really would like to visit condo later today as I didn't have time yesterday....
Hope my headache will disappear with a nap....
Yesterday's
Recap
7/5 AMPS=149; +2=131; +8=115
7/5 PMPS=146; +2=113; +5=149
7/6 AMPS=124; +2=94; +3=99; +4.5=101; +7=104
7/6 PMPS=137; +2=59; +3=49; +3.5=50; +4=70; +5=83; +7=133
Late post today.
I went back to bed with the kitties this morning, and then after that had go out to get Lucy's med and drinking water.
Everyone thinks I'm joking when I tell them I buy spring or filtered water for my cats but I myself drink tap water :lol:
Water is cheap, but VERY HEAVY, so I don't want to have to go buy it too often.
Non of the water delivery companies here deliver on weekends, and I'm out on weekdays during their delivery time.
I called my vet and discussed with her about Lucy's prednisolone dose & schedule.
The good news is, she did have a plan and told me we are targeting to reduce her dose to 2.5mg every other day if she dose well on 2.5mg every day.
She said we should keep her on every day schedule for at least 2 weeks before reducing.
I strongly pointed out that I don't want her to lose her adrenal glands function during that time, and she said she didn't think that would happen and even if it did the functions will return fairly quickly.
The other vet I spoke with yesterday said that adrenal submission is rare in cats compared to dogs.
When I go to Lucy's acupuncture appointment tomorrow, I'll ask them if there is a blood test available to evaluate adrenal glands function, and if there is, I'll add that test to her regular blood panel next month.
I must be an annoying client :lol: I sometimes like to ask the same question to different doctors to get different points of vew :lol:
So.... I think I'm satisfied now.
I'm going to keep her on 2.5mg every day for 2 weeks, and discuss with the vet again about the possibility of reducing to every other day.
If this every day schedule is a preparation period for less dose in future, I can live with it without over-worrying about it.
I wanted to let you know about this because I've been talking about this a lot lately and some of you were concerned with me for Lucy.
Now Lucy....
She is doing very good.
She ate her 1st and 2nd breakfast by herself AGAIN!!!
This is becoming her new normal! I can't believe it!
I have a little bit of a headache from the earlier Costco shopping.
Going into crowded store always gives me a headache.
Lucy is napping on the sofa, so I think I'll join her for a bit.
I really would like to visit condo later today as I didn't have time yesterday....
Hope my headache will disappear with a nap....