7/6 Frank AMPS 435 / Dose timing for DPS-Question!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delma and Frank

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo

I am still thinking (obsessing?) about leaving Frank in the hands of the DPS for my week's vacation. This is the first time I leave for a week with Frank on Lantus. Last summer when I had vacation he was on Vetsulin, a short-acting insulin. This allowed for much more wiggle room in shot timing.

After being here with Frank at the Lantus forum, one thing I follow without really understanding, is a 12/12 schedule. In blind faith, I don't shoot early, knowing it acts as a dose increase…. visa versa with a late shot. In trying to understand why, I comprehend what's being said but a piece is missing for me. Perhaps I should test this to see it in action. But I don't want to try and make Frank feel any worse than he does.

Despite telling DPS, I worry she may not adhere to the 12/12 schedule.
I am pretty sure that I will be lowering his dose for my vacation week or I would not be comfortable with no testing. Now, if the dose is lower, is it as important to stick to the 12/12 time table? Wouldn't this allow for some wiggle room? Wouldn't it be OK to shoot 1 hr early or late then :?:
 
Hi Delma

I don't really know what else to offer other than what was suggested yesterday.

I understand your fears thou - (will everything be done on schedule)
I do think it's always important to stick to a 12/12 schedule, and do a test before shooting...sorry - remind again - can DPS test preshots?
Would she/he be willing to test preshots?

Let's see what others can add.
By the way, I know it's stressful, but you have a huge amount of time before the trip - a lot can change by then, and I'm glad you opened a condo today .
I hope you can continue, leading up to trip week.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top