7/5 Simon | AMPS 291+3 347 PMPS 375 -- Pet sitter dose advice

Daniel and Simon

Member Since 2026
7/3 | AMPS 240 +3 196 +6 170 PMPS 317

Neighbors set off some small fireworks last night. Simon literally army crawled down the hallway and into a hiding spot and stayed there most of the evening. 😓

Simon will be boarding at the vet for a few days soon. He's boarded many times before at a kennel, but this is the first time he'll be boarding at the vet with his new medical issues. As long as he doesn't go on his usual hunger strike I think he'll be fine
 
I hope today is much calmerđŸ„°
Sorry to hear about all the noise 😱

Hope it’s a smooth boarding experience. Do they have ability to follow all the protocols to keep Simon safe?
 
Hope it’s a smooth boarding experience. Do they have ability to follow all the protocols to keep Simon safe?

I've talked to them about the pre shot tests and I'll leave my AT3 device with them. Whether or not Simon tolerates them poking his ear is another question
 
I've talked to them about the pre shot tests and I'll leave my AT3 device with them. Whether or not Simon tolerates them poking his ear is another question
You may want to ask here if a “pet sitter “ dose is suggested (a lower dose) or if it appears the current dose would be safe while you’re gone since you’re not sure what testing will go on.

You could use the drop down “question mark” prefix and put “pet sitter dose advice” in your title to get some suggestions.
 
You may want to ask here if a “pet sitter “ dose is suggested (a lower dose) or if it appears the current dose would be safe while you’re gone since you’re not sure what testing will go on.

You could use the drop down “question mark” prefix and put “pet sitter dose advice” in your title to get some suggestions.

That's a great idea!
 
Does anyone have any input on Simon's dose while he's boarding at the vet? He's actually already on a slightly reduced dose from last month after I derailed the depot with skips (because of panic over low numbers + Simon not eating well). He's been bouncing a lot over the last week, but acting fine and eating well otherwise. The vet is aware of his tendency to eat slowly. I could ask them to further reduce his dose just in case.
 
Even though they are vets or vet techs, I think I would still leave a sample syringe with 3 units (or whatever your pet sitter dose is) with colored water taped to a piece of paper with his name on it to be attached or taped onto his cage for reference. Ask Tell them to test for ketones, if he acts off, isn't eating much, or is throwing up.
 
Even though they are vets or vet techs, I think I would still leave a sample syringe with 3 units (or whatever your pet sitter dose is) with colored water taped to a piece of paper with his name on it to be attached or taped onto his cage for reference. Ask Tell them to test for ketones, if he acts off, isn't eating much, or is throwing up.
Excellent advice!!
 
Even though they are vets or vet techs, I think I would still leave a sample syringe with 3 units (or whatever your pet sitter dose is) with colored water taped to a piece of paper with his name on it to be attached or taped onto his cage for reference. Ask Tell them to test for ketones, if he acts off, isn't eating much, or is throwing up.

That's a good idea. They actually used water in a sample syringe to illustrate to me what a unit looks like when Simon was initially diagnosed. Now it's my turn! 😆
 
Back
Top