Come on Monkey...Be a good boy and get those numbers down. (cheering from the sidelines)
I am reviewing what can I improve in treat diabetes... I find that:
1. Check +1, +2, +3 maybe the most important because it is indicative for the overall trend of the day so I can plan for feeding to slow down the BG movement. Like Bron said, it bounces. I find that if AMPS is high and the BG falls fast, and at around +5 the BG is a lot lower than AMPS, then later of the cycle it increases in a fast rate that cause PMPS to be high. After injection it may fall again mostly slowly. However, sometimes the upward momentum is so strong that the injection at PM cannot stop it. Sometimes the PMPS is still low that makes me happy, however at PM +1, +2, +3 it shows a great upward acceleration that scares me. I think it is caused by the delayed upward bounce. Cat's BG is like stock market, it is not easy to predict

. I may need to be well-planned and systematic in monitoring.
I may want to check +1, +2, +3,+4,+5 to see if his BG is droping rapidly. If yes, then I give more food to Monkey the slow the moment. If no, then I do not need to give food. Does it make sense?
@Nan & Amber (GA) @Bron and Sheba (GA)
2. The vet told me if I want to change Lantus, I should have discussed with him and start with a dose of 2.0. He said I made the matter unnecessarily complicated. With hindsight, I think 2.0 U is a better dose for Monkey, as I may not need to handle Monkey's low BG and reduce the dose in such a rapid way that it may induce bouncing. The reason I started with 3.25 Lantus, was because I followed the advice from people here. I just trusted the people here more than the vet since he said: 1. Prescription diabetic dry food helps to manage diabetes. 2. full dose as long as BG > 80 ml 3. Use Caninsulin which we do not think it has any advantage to Lantus. (The vet said he prescript Lantus some cats but prefer to try Caninsulin on Monkey first, he may have good reason but I do not understand

4. Start with 3.0 U instread of 0.5 to 1 U as advised here.
As Monkey's parent (before I see him as brother, now I call him "Siu Monkey" which means little Monkey in Chinese

), I want to see Monkey to have good BG as soon as possible. I learnt a lesson that insulin should be given conservatively to avoid unpredictable trouble. Although the vet may make a better decision at the transitioning to Lantus, I would think that IF Monkey was not start with 3.0 U Caninsulin (plus my family did not handle it wrongly), but instead like people here to start with 1.0U Lantus, many troubles we are handling can be avoided. (But also I cannot blame him to start with 3.0 U, because I guess it is very uncommon for Hong Kong people to check BG so frequently, so the vet assumes that he can only rely on the data when the cat stay in the hospital for 6 hours

therefore he needs to give dose aggressively)