7/5 Monkey AMPS 502

Definitely :(.

Whatever is going on with him, it looks like he needs more juice. My vote would be for an increase in the morning if he is still high then, we need to get these numbers down. Bron, what do you think?
 
How come you have reached PMPS at this hour Peter? It is usually not for another hour and a 1/4 at least?
I am confused.

I am pushing the injection hour 15 minutes per cycle. So Monkey'dose will be injected in 20 minutes. What's unit of the next dose? I am able to monitor him till PM+5 or +6. So he will be safe even we increase the dose.
Great news that the vet told me that in his urine sample, there is no ketone and stones. Only some inflammation and high sugar value that we have already known.
 
Ok. I see what you are doing now.
I would not increase tonight but as @Nan & Amber (GA) said, increase in the morning to 1.25 units providing he doesn’t drop low tonight and you are able to test for the morning cycle tomorrow and have plenty of test strips and high carb food if it’s needed.
Good news no ketones.
 
Come on Monkey...Be a good boy and get those numbers down. (cheering from the sidelines)

I am reviewing what can I improve in treat diabetes... I find that:

1. Check +1, +2, +3 maybe the most important because it is indicative for the overall trend of the day so I can plan for feeding to slow down the BG movement. Like Bron said, it bounces. I find that if AMPS is high and the BG falls fast, and at around +5 the BG is a lot lower than AMPS, then later of the cycle it increases in a fast rate that cause PMPS to be high. After injection it may fall again mostly slowly. However, sometimes the upward momentum is so strong that the injection at PM cannot stop it. Sometimes the PMPS is still low that makes me happy, however at PM +1, +2, +3 it shows a great upward acceleration that scares me. I think it is caused by the delayed upward bounce. Cat's BG is like stock market, it is not easy to predict:rolleyes:. I may need to be well-planned and systematic in monitoring.

I may want to check +1, +2, +3,+4,+5 to see if his BG is droping rapidly. If yes, then I give more food to Monkey the slow the moment. If no, then I do not need to give food. Does it make sense? @Nan & Amber (GA) @Bron and Sheba (GA)

2. The vet told me if I want to change Lantus, I should have discussed with him and start with a dose of 2.0. He said I made the matter unnecessarily complicated. With hindsight, I think 2.0 U is a better dose for Monkey, as I may not need to handle Monkey's low BG and reduce the dose in such a rapid way that it may induce bouncing. The reason I started with 3.25 Lantus, was because I followed the advice from people here. I just trusted the people here more than the vet since he said: 1. Prescription diabetic dry food helps to manage diabetes. 2. full dose as long as BG > 80 ml 3. Use Caninsulin which we do not think it has any advantage to Lantus. (The vet said he prescript Lantus some cats but prefer to try Caninsulin on Monkey first, he may have good reason but I do not understand:confused: 4. Start with 3.0 U instread of 0.5 to 1 U as advised here.

As Monkey's parent (before I see him as brother, now I call him "Siu Monkey" which means little Monkey in Chinese :rolleyes:), I want to see Monkey to have good BG as soon as possible. I learnt a lesson that insulin should be given conservatively to avoid unpredictable trouble. Although the vet may make a better decision at the transitioning to Lantus, I would think that IF Monkey was not start with 3.0 U Caninsulin (plus my family did not handle it wrongly), but instead like people here to start with 1.0U Lantus, many troubles we are handling can be avoided. (But also I cannot blame him to start with 3.0 U, because I guess it is very uncommon for Hong Kong people to check BG so frequently, so the vet assumes that he can only rely on the data when the cat stay in the hospital for 6 hours:blackeye: therefore he needs to give dose aggressively)
 
Last edited:
Peter you are one of the most diligent care givers I've ever run across. Its inspiring how you want to help Siu Monkey. Your dedication is second to none. A kitty cat couldnt ask for a better caregiver. When it comes to insulin types and dosage I'm sadly behind the times. I hope Bron and Nan can answer this question / logic.
I'm here to cheer all of you on, so everyone can learn and do their best for Monkey. ;):bighug::cool:
 
Peter you are one of the most diligent care givers I've ever run across. Its inspiring how you want to help Siu Monkey. Your dedication is second to none. A kitty cat couldnt ask for a better caregiver. When it comes to insulin types and dosage I'm sadly behind the times. I hope Bron and Nan can answer this question / logic.
I'm here to cheer all of you on, so everyone can learn and do their best for Monkey. ;):bighug::cool:

I could not believe that I am outstanding:p. If I give a score myself, I would give myself 60 to 70 out of 100. Due to my approach is not very systematic and well-planned. I am working to be more accurate in the timing of checking and dosing. And have more monitoring at PM cycle. Later I should film a Monkey's greeting video for you people. :D
 
Back
Top