7/4 Jupiter update-vet appt/surgery - antibiotics

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99108

welll...... I reduced his dose today...more like a big chicken shot!!! needed to be able control his numbers better though and was hoping to be able to leave the house for a few hours... dane and I were going to go sit down by the river to get out of the house for my birthday. but its looking like Jupiter wants to spend the day with us!!!

jupiter is doing well today all cats seem happy

have a safe and happy 4th

Todays numbers:
AMPS-157
Shot 1.5u @ 9:00am
+2.25-112
+4.5-65
+5.5-65
+7-52 coaxed Jupe to eat some LC
+7.75-46 gave some 15% HC gravy
+8.25-53
+9.25-61
+10.5-59
+11-57
PMBG-48
SKIPPED SHOT
+0.5-50
+1.5-58
+2.5-64
+4.5-85
+6-77

Recap of yesterday:
SKIPPED BOTH AM AND PM SHOTS!
AM-102
+2.5-106
+5.75-59
+6.5-69
+7.5-51
+8.5-53
+9.25-45!!
+9.75-54
+11-80
PM-89
+2-77
+3.5-65
+5-95
+6-102
+10-148
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 big chicken shot today!

Okay I just wanted to update you all on Jupiters vet appointment.

A few days ago I posted a picture in my condo of Jupiters back paw. He had what I thought was an abscess or something and it had grown a lot bigger and I found spots of blood around the house. My first reaction was to go check all of the cats paws to figure out where the blood was coming from. That’s when I realized just how bad his back leg looked. A few people suggested that I take him to the vet to get it check right away. I couldn’t do this as I did not have the money for the appointment. Fortunately LLEF was able to help us and pay for the appointment so he went on tuesday. he has been started on antibiotics. amoxicillin 100mg 2 times a day.

The vet said it’s a small mass/tumor. They did a fine needle aspiration to get some cells and they did a “cytology, in house (tissue)”. The vet said that when she reviewed the sample under a microscope they only got blood cells. She said that the mass needs removed ASAP.

The vet said if the mass continues to grow, she will not be able to remove it because if it gets any bigger and they remove it there will be too much skin that they have to cut off and they wont be able to stretch it that much to stitch it back together. She said he needs to be put under anesthesia and have the growth removed, and then sent away for a biopsy to see if it is benign or malignant.

She said there could be 3 outcomes to the biopsy:
Best case scenario – its benign, and after its removed the area will heal and not grow back.

Malignant – they said if its malignant it could possibly keep growing back over time. I am not sure what all options there would be at this point. It may end up needing to be removed again overtime.

Worst case scenario – if its malignant and spreading to the rest of the body – obviously very bad – and I am just trying to not let my mind go to the worst case scenario.

Obviously the surgery and any follow up appointments are a huge financial concern for us. We know LLEF is going to help pay for the appointment although we are not completely sure how the whole cost will be paid at this point. This surgery really has us worried but we are trying to stay as positive as possible. Surgery is scheduled for July 18th.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 update about vet appt/surge

BIG HUGE HUG JAMIE and headbutts Jupe...

We'll stay positive - it'll be gone for good when it's gone! Lots of thoughts and prayers between now and then...don't worry yourself sick about it.

ANOTHER BIG HUGE HUG!!!
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 update about vet appt/surge

wow jamie. keeping jupe in my prayers that this is nothing to worry about.
hugs to you and dane
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 update about vet appt/surge

So sorry to hear about Jupiters foot. I hope the surgery goes fine and they can remove easily. Please be optimistic about it,don't think about the worst. I hope he feels better soon. His numbers have been great lately.
I'm glad you can take some time out for yourselves.

Try to enjoy the holiday.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 update about vet appt/surge

Sending tons of vines. I agree -- stay positive and take it one step at a time.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 update about vet appt/surge

Tons and tons of prayers for you and Jupiter...and don't forget how powerful LL prayers are!! You've got lots of people behind you, Jamie :YMHUG: .
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 update about vet appt/surge

Loving vines sent to you and Jupe. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

All our prayers for the best of outcomes.

Shai and the Pirate Fitz (GA)
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 +7/52 update-vet appt/surge

Well, +7 - 52.... looks like we will stay home with Jupe today. I am still happy staying here with Dane and my furbabies to celebrate my birthday though - and we will postpone going to the river for another day.

I have no idea why but hes been hiding under the couch all day. I am thinking he does not feel well. He has some really smelly gas too. Maybe the antibiotics upsetting his belly a bit?
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 +7/52 update-vet appt/surge

ABs can easily cause an upset tummy and diarrhea. You might want to give Jupiter a probiotic. (You need to give the probiotic several hours before or after the AB. Best to ask your local pharmacist about the amount to time between the two.) You can use FortiFlora if you have it. Some folks here give Culturelle. My vet suggested Pearls because it's a tiny pill.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 +7/52 update-vet appt/surge

The a/b could definitely upset his tummy. Sending lots of vines and prayers for a negative result on his foot. As everyone else has said, baby steps.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY JAMIE!!!!!!!​

images
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 +7/52 update-vet appt/surge

I do have a couple of packets of Forti Flora. I sprinkle some on his food ocassionally and sometimes he acts like he likes it and sometimes he acts like he doesnt. I also have a container here that I got from someone... its...."complete probiotics for pets" its says mercola healthy pets....

I am also not sure how much Forti Flora I should be giving him?
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

Thanks Marje and Rhiannon!

Thank you everyone else for visits and prayers they are appreciated so so so much.

+7.75 is 46. I really cant understand why he keeps dropping under 50. I really dont like when he drops under 50... I fed some of the gravy from a HC can of food... 15% I think

How much Forti Flora should I be giving?
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge
 

Attachments

  • birthday-24th.gif
    birthday-24th.gif
    151.8 KB · Views: 1,880
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AMPS/157 +4.5/65 +7/52 update-vet appt/surge

The FortiFlora box says to give 1 packet a day. I think you want to give it a few hours after the ABs to put back in the good bacteria that the ABs destroyed. You don't have to give the whole packet at once, you could just sprinkle some on each meal as long it is a few hours after the ABs.


HAPPY BIRTHDAY JAMIE!
:YMHUG:
happybday.gif

Maybe Jupiter will let you go out for a bit later this evening.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

I am wondering how much should I shoot tonight? I skipped 2 shots in a row and even today gave a big chicken shot and yet... he still went under 50!!!
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

Happy Birthday Jamie :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Prayers for Jupiter's surgery. Postitive vines coming your way. He is doing so good!!

Hope his tummy settles, AB upset my stomach too.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

Jupiter, how about a nice surf for your bean? Sending tons and tons of vines for Jupiter's surgery. Big hugs for you. Try not to worry, I know it's hard. Happy Birthday, Jamie! :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

Depending upon his +12 number, maybe you could shoot the 1.50 dose again. Let's see what others have to say.
Maybe, if he keeps going lower, you can skip another shot, tonight. We'll see.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

I fed a whole bunch of HC gravy after +7.75. tested at +8.25 and hes at 53.... really thought it would boost him up a little more then that
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

Hi Jaime - HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I do hope you have a good one. I'm sorry you won't be able to go to the river. I so remember how that is when we have FD furkids. I will wish you much luck with the pending surgery for Jupiter. I've been through this a couple of times with some of my kitties, and it is as you describe. Each case was a benign mass. We too were told that we needed to remove it asap as they too needed skin to work with in order to close the surgery site. it worked out well for us, and I am sure it will for Jupiter. I hope your vet will be lenient on the expense. Mine worked with me so that was nice. Paws crossed for you. Yes too on the AB's: they can cause stomach upset, nausea and runny poo. As Mannie grew older and the more times he took them the more susceptible he was to the effects. I found that in addition to the meds, we fed a greek style yogurt, as it was easier than pilling, and Mannie really liked it. It did help with the stomach upset and the LB issue. He tolerated dairy well, so it worked for us. Try not too worry - I know how hard it can be. Hugs to all.

Good luck with tonight dosing. WOW on the 46! impressive Jupiter! If it were me I'd feed that 46, and see how the numbers are throughout the rest of the cycle. If they continue to run this low skipping will not hurt. You have to be comfortable with what you are doing. I'd post what you have around +10 or so, and hopefully someone will be around to help you if you need it.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

Jamie, what a day for you! I hope Jupiter cooperates and lets you get out for a bit. Depending on his PS #'s a skip is a definite possibility. Sending many healing vines for sweet Jupiter. Our shelter had a cat with a mast cell on the head which just couldn't be operated on. I'm glad you've got a date for the operation. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

What a day for a birthday - do take some time to celebrate it!
cat.jpg
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

happy Birthday Jamie.

is there any reason you have to wait til the 18th for surgery especially if there is a chance it can get bigger
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

They said this is one of the first available appointments they have, and I think they wanted him to finish all antibiotics first, not completely sure
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

I dont think Jupe will eat yogurt and he doesnt want to seem to want the forti flora.... will try more forti flora later.... should i try stirring it into his food or just sprinkle on top?
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

nope. is it okay to let him eat some grass? he loves grass especially when he has an upset tummy


and he is just so incredibly picky!!!
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

Happy Birthday Jamie, looks like Jupiter wanted to celebrate your b-day too :-D we are sending you tons of prayers and vines for the best possible outcome. Hugs,
Kathie
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

My cats love grass too. But, grass might make him throw up and you probably don't want him throwing up his meds and/or food. You can mix the FortiFlora in with the food.

Way back when, before I joined this board, one of J.D.'s favorite foods was the Friskies Salmon and Beef with Gravy and I think it's close to 23% carbs as are a lot of the Friskies with gravy. Friskies being less expensive than FF, I just thought I would put that out there for you to try when you have to feed gravy. There would be a lot more gravy in the Friskies 5.5oz can.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7/52 +7.75/46! update-vet appt/surge

yes thats the kind of hc we are using. he likes these flavors much better too! and he will rarely eat the FF gravy lovers


thank you all for suggestions
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +10.5/59 update-vet appt/sur

+10.5 is 59..... so I am wondering what I should shoot tonight... just dont want to wait til last minute and there not be anyone on to help me decide...

should I just shoot maybe like 1u tonight?


are these lower numbers still due to depot? or from this AMs dose?





i am also worried that if I dont feed him for an hour and half that he will drop under 50....
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +10.5/59 update-vet appt/sur

Hi Jamie.
Happy Birthday to you!
Sending lots of vines and prayers for Jupiter.
I hope you'll get an advice about tonight dose soon....
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +10.5/59 update-vet appt/sur

57 at +11.... obviously really worried about shooting 1.5u again and him going too low overnight. any suggestions?
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +10.5/59 update-vet appt/sur

I'm still thinking you should skip tonight's shot. Get a good night's sleep or go out for an hour or so to celebrate your birthday. Is the river close to your house?
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +11/57 dose advice needed

its close but its getting late so we will have to save that for another day. dont like the mosquito's!

what do u think about shooting a more reduced dose? i hate to completely drain his depot when hes doing so well
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +11/57 dose advice needed

I think whether you shoot some insulin or not, he will probably stay in these nice numbers.
If you want to shoot something, I would go with something closer to 0.75 or even 0.5. These are just my thoughts.
Is he eating fine? How do you feel?
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +11/57 dose advice needed

eh I am not feeling great but thats normal. I wont be able to stay up all night but I would be able to wake up in between naps to test. I could just shoot .5u if you think thats a better idea
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +11/57 dose advice needed

Late to the party. (hope your birthday was a good day, Jamie. Even even with all the chaos).
I agree with Dyana. I think I'd skip tonight.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +11/57 dose advice needed

Looks like he's surfing. I agree with Dyana. But why don't you wait until PMPS and see where he is. If he's up a lot, then maybe a small dose, but otherwise skipping would be best.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +11/57 dose advice needed

Jamie, even with 2 skipped doses yesterday, the 1.5U dose this morning was too much for Jupiter. You were propping him up with more HC food today again. I'd skip if I were you.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +11/57 dose advice needed

Thank you all for the help. His PMPS was 48, so we did skip the dose tonight.

What should we shoot in the morning?

-Dane
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +11/57 dose advice needed

Hi Dane. I would get a +10 or +11 and post the number in the morning, for advise.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +11/57 dose advice needed

I guess I fell asleep. Good job to Dane for posting and taking care of things. Hmmm gonna try to coax jupiter to eat atleast something.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

HaPpY BiRtHdAy Jamie :RAHCAT party_cat party_cat, Just got in and read your condo
Sending healing vines out to Jupiter cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter AM/157 +7.75/46 +11/57 dose advice needed

Jamie & Jupiter said:
Thank you all for the help. His PMPS was 48, so we did skip the dose tonight.

What should we shoot in the morning?

-Dane

Others may disagree, but as long as you continue to see numbers in the normal range (40-120) at shot time, I would skip the shot. And I'd probably go with a fairly lower dose if you see a higher number than that, like 1u, until you see evidence that the lower dose "fails".
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

I'm in agreement with Carl on the dose strategy.
 
Re: 7/4 Jupiter PM/48 Skipped shot... update-vet appt/surger

if hes at 100 or above tomorrow can I maybe just shoot .5u but if hes 150 or higher ill shoot 1u?

id rather shoot small doses rather than skip.... cause it will drain his depot completely and cause his numbers to go back up right???
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top