? 7/4/2015 AMPS 266 +5 321 Bounce Bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindywith4cutecats

Member Since 2014
Happy 4th of July everyone. Hope everyone has a safe holiday and remembers fireworks upset our littl fur babies. Norman had a fantastic evening last night, beautiful PMPS of 110 + 2 83 +4 91 +5 109 +6 114 we surfed him by feeding his regular LC food , a tablespoon every two hours then he had a regular meal after his 114. Well now comes the bouncing. I have never totally understood the bounce in the past but now I am certain that is what I am seeing now. We are on the 6th cycle of 2 units so I am inclined NOT to raise his units by a .25 this evening. Do you agree with me ? I feel that we need to see if this bounce clears out and see where he lands before a dose increase again or reduction ! How many days could I expect to see this bounce, 24 hours to possible 3 days ? Any insight would be helpful.

previous condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-295-6-256-pmps-110-2-83.140432/#post-1448830
 
I am not experienced to give dosing advice but IMO this looks like a bounce from the lower numbers last night. This is the exact pattern my Tuxie does when he reaches the lower numbers that he is not used to. I believe the rule of thumb is to allow up to 3 days (6 cycles) to clear a bounce, unless you are seeing no downward movement. My guy can take up to 5 days to totally clear a bounce, so as long as he is hitting some lower numbers that is how long I leave him. ECID Hopefully some of the more experienced members will be around later if they are not all out for July 4th activities.
 
Looks like a bounce to me too. Not surprising, been a while since he's been green. Lovely cycle last night though. :)

I'd hold this dose for at least 10 cycles - let's see if he can find the green again. From the TR protocol sticky:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
So he has already had 6 cycles, so hold off 4 more cycles before deciding if an increase is needed ? I am so hopeful he finds green again on this dose
 
I think the 10 cycle count would start from when they see the green rather than when that dose started. In this case you'll definitely want to wait longer than 4 cycles anyway, to give the bounce (which can last up to 6 cycles) a chance to clear and see where the dose takes him. His depot probably wasn't quite full at 2 units for that lovely run last night (since it was only his fifth cycle at that dose) so he may go a little lower on it when the bounce clears.
 
Yes, I'd wait to see where he ends up once he's finished bouncing, how ever many cycles that takes.
 
we are going to wait and watch. PMPS 315 +5 231 so he is starting to drop from this bounce. I am shocked cause he is usually a little upset over fireworks but he is out playing and doesn't have a care in the world right now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top