7/31 Khloe | AMPS 142, +2 238, +4 93

Sara & Khloe

Member Since 2026
Previous Post

Well Khlo Khlo saw another lime last night so I reduced her dose this morning. Did I make the right call?
I know it can take 6 cycles for the depot to drain, and she was on cycle 5 since her last reduction but I felt like I had to feed a lot more 14% to keep her above 50 than I usually do.

And this morning I feel like somehow I didn’t notice and gave a FS? Or maybe it’s NDW? Or maybe a bounce?

On a good note, Khloe has been feeling good lately. Playing and chasing her sister more often ☺️

Hope everyone has a good day and weekend! 🤗
 
Khloe really, really wanted a shrimp from my Shrimp Alfredo.
IMG_7865.jpeg
 
I wouldn’t consider this a back to back reduction. Yes, the depot of a previous dose can potentially influence 4-6 cycles following a reduction, so let’s say you got under 50 on cycle 2 or 3 after the reducie, then I would have held the dose. I think the reducie was fine to take since you got under 50 on cycle 5.

No NDW on reduced doses, they only just happen sometimes after an increase ;). My vote goes to a wee bouncette; if she stays up in the lemon tree or continues up a bit more the rest of the cycle, then it’s a bounce. Hopefully clever Khloe hasn’t found the hidden pogo-stick 🤞
 
No NDW on reduced doses, they only just happen sometimes after an increase ;). My vote goes to a wee bouncette; if she stays up in the lemon tree or continues up a bit more the rest of the cycle, then it’s a bounce. Hopefully clever Khloe hasn’t found the hidden pogo-stick
Oh good to know that about NDW!
So if staying yellow or higher is a bounce, what was this today? Are they still bounces but Khloe just breaks them really fast?
 
The +2 today could have been reflecting a bit of the preshot meal, and if onset occurred just a little later than your test then as you saw, numbers came down, instead of staying flattish up in yellows; therefore, not a bounce. Sometimes too you can get a bit of a change in absorption. Some cycles where she rises quickly at the back end of the cycle I think you are actually seeing more so loss of duration. I don’t know if I explained that very well lol
 
The +2 today could have been reflecting a bit of the preshot meal, and if onset occurred just a little later than your test then as you saw, numbers came down, instead of staying flattish up in yellows; therefore, not a bounce. Sometimes too you can get a bit of a change in absorption. Some cycles where she rises quickly at the back end of the cycle I think you are actually seeing more so loss of duration. I don’t know if I explained that very well lol
Interesting. Sorry for the million questions today but can I control anything for loss of duration? I would assume it’s the feeding schedule (my nemesis), right? Or should I be concerned with the insulin?

If Khloe’s little body is doing all it can then I can accept that, but if I can optimize anything I’m willing to do it. Or I can keep on with exactly what I’m doing and just see how it goes. Still figuring out ‘know thy cat’ lol
 
I think you have been doing a great job with the feeding, the higher LC really does seem to help. Her cycles are actually looking really good. Doesn’t look like you are feeding after nadir, that’d be the first thing I’d consider if you were doing that. I mentioned absorption earlier, that’s also sometimes a factor. You aren’t the first to ponder how to extend duration, in many cases using higher LC food like you are can work well to flatten out the curves. Maverick’s duration was terrible on Lantus, regardless of what I did with feeding. I don’t mind questions :), plus others may come along and have some thoughts. If it were me, I wouldn't change anything right now.
 
Sara, maybe my question is too naive or silly, but I became very interested in something and I wanted to ask you.

I noticed that on two days, at Khloe’s AMPS cycle, her +2 increased instead of dropping significantly or dropping quickly. At +2, her numbers were still very well controlled (higher than AMPS).

1785527231634.png


If you don’t mind me asking, what did you do differently on those days? Was the biggest difference offering HLC and also a larger amount of food at AMPS, +1, and +2? I noticed this did not happen during the PMPS cycles (Khloe is improving fast, huh? 🫶), but it happened during the daytime cycle.

(I feel like I may need to do something similar with Mami Cat, or even use HC if necessary. This is something I might try with her.)

Thank you so much 🥰
 
If you don’t mind me asking, what did you do differently on those days?
I didn’t do a whole lot different those days.
On 7/29 AM cycle she ate 10% at PS & +1, then 5% at +3. But as you can see, I did the exact same thing on 7/29 PM cycle and it was a massive dive.

On 7/30 AM cycle, she didn’t get a meal at +1 just because I know when she starts a cycle around 100, the +1 meal isn’t as helpful.

But I’ve been feeding HLC or higher since 7/17, so sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. But Khloe may react differently than other cats. It’s a lot of experimenting and seeing what works.

Good luck with finding a plan for Mami Cat ☺️
 
Good luck with this new dose Sara! I’m so thrilled that Khloe’s little body seems to be demanding more and more reductions lately :)

You do such an amazing job with her. Khloe agrees too except the part where you neglect her with no shrimps.

In all seriousness though, we tried grilling a big shrimp and gave it to Moonie as a post testing snack, and she’s been obsessed with getting another shrimp ever since! Clearly she and Khloe have been communicating and conspiring as shrimp fiends 🍤
 
Good luck with this new dose Sara! I’m so thrilled that Khloe’s little body seems to be demanding more and more reductions lately :)

You do such an amazing job with her. Khloe agrees too except the part where you neglect her with no shrimps.

In all seriousness though, we tried grilling a big shrimp and gave it to Moonie as a post testing snack, and she’s been obsessed with getting another shrimp ever since! Clearly she and Khloe have been communicating and conspiring as shrimp fiends 🍤
Thank you Connie 🤗

These 2 little goobers are just too similar! I was thinking of trying these for Khloe since she seems to like shrimp so much. I’ve never had her beg that much before! You ever tried them for Moonie? There was also a krill option too. I was just thinking how much they like seafood but I worry about too much fish.
 
Thank you Connie 🤗

These 2 little goobers are just too similar! I was thinking of trying these for Khloe since she seems to like shrimp so much. I’ve never had her beg that much before! You ever tried them for Moonie? There was also a krill option too. I was just thinking how much they like seafood but I worry about too much fish.
Ohh no I haven’t tried them! Ever since she stole the shrimps off my pad thai, I occasionally just take a frozen shrimp and cook it for her in boiling water (and then cut it up and bring it to the right temperature before serving). The grilled shrimp yesterday was new though.

This might be good to try as a topper when she’s feeling picky so I’m going to grab one! Thanks for the link!
 
Ever since she stole the shrimps off my pad thai, I occasionally just take a frozen shrimp and cook it for her in boiling water (and then cut it up and bring it to the right temperature before serving). The grilled shrimp yesterday was new though.
Khloe & Kiah thank you for the idea of boiling frozen shrimp 😂 I always have frozen shrimp here so I’m going to make them some tonight! 😋
 
Indeed, every cat is different. And regarding the massive PM dive, there are so many variables.
AM cycles can be very different from PM cycles, I would say - counterregulatory hormones, temperature, feeding responses, even emotional factors and sleep patterns. Maybe at night the dose was already showing signs of being a little too strong, for example. We never really know for sure.


On 7/30 AM cycle, she didn’t get a meal at +1 just because I know when she starts a cycle around 100, the +1 meal isn’t as helpful.
That's interesting... I wouldn't have guessed.

Thank you, Sara! Food is indeed just one of many factors. I’ll have to do some experimenting.
 
Right?? I said the same thing to myself when looking at the numbers on the meter.
Food, in my opinion, is the hardest part of all this so I just try my best to see what works.
Yeap.
I get it, but honestly, you're doing such a great job finding solutions and making real improvements. I mean it.

In my view, having a beautiful little "diver" who doesn't follow the textbook Lantus response is part of what makes this journey so (let's say) unique.
And then I have some vets telling me, "No, Lantus is supposed to produce a nice, flat curve. This isn't normal." And I have to explain that, with my cat, things are different. Sometimes I don't feel heard.

I see cats surfing on just one drop, or even having higher numbers at +2, and I'm always like, "How is that even possible?!" 🥹
 
Back
Top