7/31 Harley PMPS 280

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
I am putting up a 911 because I am not sure what to do. Earlier this week, I had a low number and was told not to feed Harley, but it is time for his shot (which I will not do yet) and breakfast.

I will give a little chicken and wait for the shot.


Pattie
 
Re: 7/31 Harleyis AMPS 40

Do you have any tests from last night?
Stall, don't feed and retest in 30 minutes. Harley will probably bounce from here but this is too low to shoot. Did you shoot when Harley had a 51 for AMPS a week or so ago?
 
Re: 7/31 Harleyis AMPS 40

No, I did not shoot at the 51 because within an hour he had shot back up. I did not feed the chicken although he is looking at me like "it's breakfast lady, where is it".

Test will be redone in 15 minutes.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/31 Harleyis AMPS 40

Hi there, I'm not familiar with your situation (just read profile and SS) Harley is on a higher dose (which I agree he needs) and it looks like this is your first very low preshot. Not feeding is the correct procedure (to avoid a false higher number) Harley earned a decrease (for a high dose cat usually that means 0.5U less insulin) you want to keep checking his BG every 20 min- 30 min until it starts to rise (which signals the previous dose is wearing off) are you home and able to watch him test him for several hours today? If you are able to monitor then as soon as you have a good rising number you could give your full dose (minus the earned decrease) if you can't wait or can't monitor today then you need to consider giving a reduced dose (BCS dose) to preserve his shed but keep him safe from hypoglycemia.
 
Re: 7/31 Harleyis AMPS 40

Hmm....that is a big drop from +10.....sometimes when you get a number that does not seem right you should retest right away just to make sure it is not meter error....I always forget to do that myself.
I will check back in 30 minutes or less I guess now.

You can remove the 911and just put "help" in your subject line to get more attention.
 
Re: 7/31 Harley AMPS 40 - HELP

Just re-tested. I could not wait. It is now 60 and I would expect that he will go up fast from here. I did happen once before and within 1-1 1/2 hours he was in the high 300's.

Do I still wait to feed and shoot?

Pattie
 
Re: 7/31 Harley AMPS 40 - HELP

I would wait 15 more minutes to shoot if you are not comfortable shooting the 60. If you are going to be around and are comfortable I think you can shoot now. You know he gets a reduction for the 40. I am sure Harley is going up from here too.
 
Re: 7/31 Harley AMPS 40 - HELP

I may have only reduced by .25 but Monique suggested a reduction of .5 for high dose cats which I am not very familiar and she knows more about.
Good call with the reduction.
 
Re: 7/31 Harley AMPS 40 - HELP

Normally a high dose changes are made by 0.5U (in the protocol) If it were me I would shoot the 60 (with 6.0U) and test when you can. If it turns out the 0.5U was to big a reduction you can always increase at a later dose.
 
Re: 7/31 Harley AMPS 40 - HELP

I think you were fine to shoot the 6.0u this morning given the low number. However, since Harley is prone to ketones, I would suggest reducing a little more gradually. My thinking is to bring the amount back to 6.25u for tonight's shot. I'm going to see if I can round up a few others to take a look, too, before your PM shot.

Could you update your subject line with Harley's numbers? Generally, when you're shooting low numbers, you want to get a +1 and +2 at the minimum. (I'd get a +1.5, too, so you know what's going on.)

For your SS, the 60 is your AMPS -- whatever number you actually shoot (and the time you shot) is the pre-shot. Your PM shot is 12 hours from when you shot this AM. You can either put the 40 in the comments section or if you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see how I list multiple tests in an hour. (You need to manually adjust the colors if you do things the way I do.)
 
Re: 7/31 Harley AMPS 60, +1.5 359, +2.5 355

At +2.5 he is 355, could my machine be off. Seems like a big jump in a short amount of time. I am using the walmart relion BG meter.

Anyway, Harley seems to be feeling ok. Ate well, and is now sleeping. I will try the 6.25 tonight. I would love it if I could lower his dose a little.

Pattie
 
Re: 7/31 Harley AMPS 60, +1.5 359, +2.5 355

The swings are possible. Do you have a back-up meter? If so, I'd get a test with both the Relion and your back up and see if they are close. The other thing I will do is if I get an unexpected number is to test again. Sometimes, a meter can be sensitive to the amount of blood (too much or too little) but it doesn't register as an error. The only way to know if there's a meter problem is to try either or both of the strategies I noted.
 
Re: 7/31 Harley AMPS 60, +1.5 359, +2.5 355

I do have a back up meter but it is a relion also. The book suggests to get their solution to test the accuracy of the meter which I have sent off for. I will dig out the back up one and use both when numbers are strange.

Pattie
 
What a day. Harley stayed in the 200's beginning with the +6, which I expected based on some of the responses I received when this happened before. I shot 6.25 (or close to it) tonight and will not change the feeding routine. I read that it takes 3-5 days before you really know what a dose change will do.

I am afraid of ketones, but will keep up with that.

Thanks to all.

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top