7/31/2024 Max HYPO event!!! 911

MaxsMom74

Member Since 2024
In the middle of a HYPO event right now. I gave MAX 1.75 units when his BG was at 239. I checked him 45 minutes later and he was at 157. I gave him a little food. Checked 45 mins after that and Libre said 68!. I gave him treats and more food. Checked with his regualer meter said 57. Gave more food, small amount of syrup and checked again 20 mins said 57. Last libre said 50 and the meter said 40!. I put more syrup in his mouth and gave more treats. He has no symptoms. I am continuing to give him syrup and treats. I need advice asap. Do I take him to the vet or continue to give treats and syrup? Sorry don't have time to update spreadsheet right now.
 
Is he symptomatic? If not just feed a teaspoon or two of hc and recheck every 20-30 minutes. Post results. It takes 20-30 minutes for the bg to respond so you are doing everything right. What food are you giving? Do you have gravy lovers or hc canned food? Is he eating the treats?
 
He ate some temptations treats. I have also given some syrup. A drop on my finger and then a little in a syringe. The last was 10 mins ago so I will wait another 10 and check back in with his BG. He is showing no symptoms that I can tell. He doesn't like gravy lovers, even before he got sick so unfortunatley I don't have that lever to pull. :-/
 
He normally eats FF classic pate. I think he is full now. He isn't wanting to eat anymore food but still isn't acting weird that I can tell. He wants to go to sleep as this is normally bed time. He looks to be coming up a little bit. Will check in 5 mins, which will be the 30 minute point. Here are the libre numbers so far...

upload_2024-7-31_21-58-15.jpeg
upload_2024-7-31_21-58-34.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-7-31_21-58-15.jpeg
    upload_2024-7-31_21-58-15.jpeg
    31.7 KB · Views: 80
  • upload_2024-7-31_21-58-34.jpeg
    upload_2024-7-31_21-58-34.jpeg
    30.6 KB · Views: 79
Just tested him again with both meters it said 44. I'm going to give a little more syrup. Once we get through this night, and assuming his numbers are above 200+ do I reduce his dose now back to 1.5? Just getting ahead incase no one is around when I get up in the morning.
 
Yes. Reduce to 1.5. When this type of cycle happens you need to feed small amounts and keep him hungry. I’d try and find a hc food he likes. For Max he loved Soulistic triple harmony pouches. Max needs to be at least 60 without food for two hours before I’d stop testing. 44 is too low.
 
Ok, I will reduce to 1.5 in the morning. I will try to find some HC food, but he has ALWAYS been a pain to feed. We just tested him and he is at 80 so yay we are going in the right direction. I will continue to watch him until he is stable without food and syrup. I did give him some FF as well...
 
Ok, I will reduce to 1.5 in the morning. I will try to find some HC food, but he has ALWAYS been a pain to feed. We just tested him and he is at 80 so yay we are going in the right direction. I will continue to watch him until he is stable without food and syrup. I did give him some FF as well...
Wishing you a safe cycle tonight, Jana and Max:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Thank you! So far he has been doing ok today. Last night was a loooong night. I am so grateful for all the help from everyone on here and the great info that allowed me to be prepared for when it happened!
 
Back
Top