7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +8(66) +9(106)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
7/2 Hershey

Happy Tuesday!!

As my grandma would say, "I don't know no news," so here's how Hershey's looking so far today.

AMPS (174) Almost +12.25 - Shot .75u at 7:10am
+4 (212)

Not sure why +4 is sometimes higher than PS...unless maybe he delayed finishing his food? I don't know...

Y'all have a great day!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

+6 (138) - fed and eating well - Got into Oreo's crumbs
+9.5 (93)

PMPS (148) Almost +12 - Shot .75u at 7:00pm
+4 (88) - feeding 1/3 meal, somewhere between tsp and T - closer to T
+4.5 (80) - fed T
+5 (68) - fed T, but he didn't finish it
+5.5 (50) - fed T LC, heated a little for renewed interest
4 T so far, so about 2/3meal....
+6 (41) - fed T 8% carbs Friskies Pate' Mixed Grill - same food he got in trouble for getting into AM +6
+6.5 (35) - fed T 19% Friskies Prime Fillets with Salmon & Beef in Sauce
6 T food total ~full meal
+6.75 (33) - fed T 19% - finished in no time flat!
+7 (40) - fed T 19% - finished before I updated SS
+7.25 (51) - fed T 19%
+7.75 (61)
+8 (66)

+8.5 (77)
+9 (106)
TOTAL FOOD: 4 T reg food (4%) + T (8%) + 4 T (19%) = 9 T
REG MEAL ~ 6 T, so ~ 1-1/2MEAL
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212)

Morning everyone!

Interesting on that +4. Mannie often spikes at +2, and I know for him it is all the food kicking in. Maybe it is the same for Hershey.

And I am with you: no news is often good news.

Enjoy your day today. :-D
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212)

Hi Libby,
I think that Hershey's + 4 is often higher than his preshot because the Levemir is just beginning to onset at +4. It may not even have begun. Onset and nadir are much later with Lev than with Lantus. Rusty is often higher at +4 and begins to drop at +4.5. ECID. The late onset of Lev gives you a lot of leeway when shooting a lower number because you are shooting what you suspect will be the number 4 hours later.

Lookin' good. Full Moon party for all kitties tonight at Camp Stu. Menu is in Mannie's condo.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212) +6(138) OH, NO! Tonight's

+6 (138) - fed and eating well

I was just thinking of posting about increasing...was going to say - don't want to do it at tonight's shot since we'll be gone to the game...OH, NO!!! GONE TO THE GAME!!!!!! We're supposed to leave about 5:30pm and shot time isn't until 7pm. WHAT WAS I THINKING?????????? I can't shoot THAT early - ugh!!!!

THOUGHTS??????
 
Re: *7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212) +6(138) OH, NO!Tonight's

Thanks, Ella, that makes sense. It looks like we were posting at the same time. I'm sure Hershey will go over and check out tonight's menu after lunch. :smile:

Trying to figure out tonight's shot...
- Guess we could skip it - ugh.
- We could shoot late when we get home, may be as late as +6 - not ideal and would mean starting this dose over.

That's all I can come up with...
 
Re: *7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212) +6(138) OH, NO!Tonight's

I think you have the options spelled out -- shoot late or skip. I don't think shooting 2 hours early is an option if you're not going to be there to monitor.

I also think Ella made a good point. The sample curve in the New to the Group sticky is based on Lantus. Onset and nadir for Lev are later so it's no surprise that you may be seeing higher numbers around +4 and then a gradual drop toward nadir.
 
Re: *7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212) +6(138) OH, NO!Tonight's

Thanks, Sienne. Yeah, shooting 2 hours early sounds way scary to me. :YMSIGH: I'd rather shoot late and work back to 7/7 shooting.

Thanks, again -
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212) +6(138)

or skip the shot and shoot early in the morning.

or - this is crazy and would only work if you are at a game that is close enough - we sometimes have an evening group and one of us leaves, comes home and shoots punkin and then goes back. takes me about 1/2 hr out of the evening, but it keeps him on schedule.

i haven't said hi since you switched to Lev, so mostly i just wanted to say hi, libby!
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212) +6(138)

hi libby!

here's another another option for you: shoot a +18/+18.

shoot at +18 tonight (6 hours after when you normally shoot). this will allow you to enjoy your evening.

the next shot would be due 18 hours later... at your normal shot time tomorrow night.

it's an all but forgotten technique which has worked well for many kitties. no fuss. no muss! :mrgreen:


whatever you decide... have fun tonight!
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212) +6(138)

As is often the case with the rushing in and out at my house - there was a miscommunication about which night tickets were bought for and the game is actually tomorrow night. So, instead of being behind in the planning of his PM shot, I'm ahead. :-D Going with the 18/18 sounds like a plan. Thanks, Jill! And, thanks for visiting us!!

Julie - Hey! Thanks for stopping by. Yeah, wish the game was close but it's about an hour away. The Bulls are much closer but we've been doing the 4th game at the Mudcats for years. We used to go to several games each season, autographs, etc, but I think my kids got tired of getting attached only to have their favorites leave. I hope all is well with you and Punkin. There are so many condos to visit here; I don't think I'll ever get to know everyone. Last night, I sat down with the intention of visiting every 7/2 condo. I visited 2 or 3, then saw new posts on those and went to read them. Visited another 2 or 3, saw new posts and went to read them...eventually, got lost as to where I was in the visiting and saw it was heading towards 1am! :lol:
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212) +6(138) +9.5(93)

GREEN!!!!! +9.5 (93)

Do you think he was listening to us talk about increasing???
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212) +6(138) +9.5(93)

Or he's been reading over your shoulder... or talking to Grayson on the flat thing...
Nice green Hershey!

Carl
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212) +6(138) +9.5(93)

Thanks, Carl. I thought about you last night as I was heading to bed. Went to turn off the living room light and noticed Jessica had left an open bag of Hershey Kisses on the futon. Snatched them up and put them in an upper cabinet! :lol:
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey AMPS(174) +4(212) +6(138) +9.5(93)

Really nice GREEN, Libby!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Good job Hershey!
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148)

Thanks, Donna; I was tickled to see it!

PMPS (148) Almost +12 - Shot .75u at 7:00pm

Awesome PS for Hershey, but hate the green was short-lived
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) :-o

+4 (88) - feeding 1/3 meal, somewhere between tsp and T

I think:
1) Hershey read about the dosecrease

2) Hershey knew I was planning to take a nap as soon as I tested and not get up until +6.

Fed him a little, as I said, but now wondering if it's okay to take that nap or should I stay up and retest? Going to get ready for bed and come back to see what y'all think...
 
Re: ANYBODY UP? 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) :-o

Guess if I don't hear from anyone, I'll retest in 5 - 10 min and figure something out...
 
Re: ANYBODY UP? 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) :-o

I'd get the +5 and decide what you're going to do based on the numbers. Hershey's nadir is late so you've got to factor that in.

BTW, if it wasn't patently obvious, Gabby is a diving diva!

And, he never poos on DH because they give presents to the ones they love the most!!!!!!
ROFLAMO!!!
 
Re: ANYBODY UP? 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) :-o

I'm up :-D Looks like he onset. How about two tsp of LC and just to see how fast hes coming down, retest in 30? Then we can decide from there what to do. Yay Hershey!
 
Re: ANYBODY UP? 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) :-o

Thanks, Sienne. It's :30 until +5 and by then it won't be worth the hour nap until +6...Hershey does seem to enjoy making sure we know who's in charge. Sweet Gabby dives so it'll help you help others. Oh, the sacrifices they make for us. :-D
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +4.5(80)

Looking at the amount I gave at +4, it's close to a T

Hey, Marje - Looks like we were posting at the same time. I did another test

+4.5 (80) Gave another T LC. This time I put Oreo's food out, too, because :30 ago he looked pitiful and deprived. But, he's not eating it...

Glad y'all were up!!!
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +4.5(80):-o

OT OBSERVATION ABOUT OREO'S EATING:

Y'all may remember my laments about trying to get Oreo to eat - sometimes he'd eat this flavor or brand, sometimes not - sometimes wanted it warmed, sometimes not, sometimes warmer still - sometimes wanted out of this particular bowl or another - sometimes the bowl had to be elevated - often had to start off spoon-feeding...well, we've made an observation and not sure what it means...Since we like to keep Hershey out of Oreo's food, I decided to give Oreo a head-start on eating. I heat Oreo's food and let him start while I take Hershey to be tested. As long as we put only Oreo's food down and Hershey isn't there, he'll go right to the bowl and eat. Let Hershey be there and he usually has to be spoon-fed initially. Not sure what that means...Jessica said she thinks Hershey threatened him! :lol:
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +4.5(80):-o

Well that's pretty perfect! Especially for onset. Gracie onsets like a locomotive on lev :-D

It's early here...I'll be up 3 more hours and if you are still up and he's coming down, I can stay up later.

I'll keep checking in. Nice job getting that to flatten but it is waaayyyy early in the cycle.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +4.5(80):-o

Hershey pretty much finished the 2nd T of LC and is laid out in the floor looking around...looking pretty pleased with himself actually...

It's :15 until +5. You're about 3 hours behind us, I think. It's almost midnight here. The change in hours has been hard on Doug and he prefers we all go to bed by midnight. Jessica is out of school this week and would prefer to be up later, so we've been up watching movies or having Remington Steele marathons! :-D

Thanks for checking in on us. Want to gain confidence in Lev, but still feeling...new...know what I mean?
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +4.5(80):-o

I know 150% exactly what you mean. We felt like we were newbies again and Grace was on lantus a year so we weren't but
I think lev cycles can be more variable from cat to cat. until they really settle in, it's hard to know what they will do and when to test.

When Mike is gone and I'm running the show alone, I always get to bed by midnight and then get up. Gracie actually nadirs at +15 or +16, so often, she is headed up at +5 which is also midnight. Then she onsets about +9 so I can get four hours of sleep UNLESS I have newbies to stay up with OR she is just solid green with so much overlap that I can't tell where one cycle stops and one starts.

So even if you go to bed at 12 and get up, I'll be here until your +8. :-D
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +4.5(80) +5(68)

+5 (68) - fed T, but he didn't finish it

Thinking no nap for me, since it's :50 until +6 and time to feed anyway. Maybe I need to take a closer look at the mini meals I keep reading so much about...

Gracie nadirs at +15 or +16? So, do you shoot like every 16 or hours 18 or how does THAT work? :o

Marjorie and Gracie said:
So even if you go to bed at 12 and get up, I'll be here until your +8. :-D
Comforting thought, but make sure you're getting enough sleep!
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +4.5(80) +5(68)

Now he's really going! Yes, I would test in 30. Do you have any higher low carb? I'm not sure what % carb you feed.

I shoot every 12 hours. When I have her dose right, she gets phenomenal duration and overlap. But I've been having syringe issues and/or time to change pens.

No worries..I always stay up until midnight.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +4.5(80) +5(68)

Hi Libby!

Look at those greens! See I told you Hershey would get there!! He's doing great!
Keep it up Hershey!

Have a good night!
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +4.5(80) +5(68)

Thanks, Melanie! HAPPY to see the GREENS!!!!

Marje - He usually eats Wellness <6% carbs and today's is 4%. I have Oreo's food - Friskies Pate' which (off the top of my head) I believe are like 7% and Oreo's today I believe is 8% - Mixed Grill. Other than that, I have Friskies HC 19% that I use when it's time to bring out the big guns. ;-) The other day I was actually thinking I might should stock some MC foods. When I have time to stay with him, the LC brings him up. I don't usually have to break out the HC unless I need to leave and bring him up in a hurry, like on 6/15.

+5.5 (50) - fed T LC, heated a little for renewed interest (Usually Hershey wants his straight from the fridge. No muss, no fuss, feed me NOW!! :lol: )
4 T so far, so about 2/3meal....From here, looks like the bowl is empty
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +5(68) +5.5(50)

I think I'd give him some of the 7% or so and see if he'll surf. He still has a way to go to nadir. See you in 30 :-D
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +5(68) +6(41)

+6 (41) - fed T 8% carbs Friskies Pate' Mixed Grill - I know he thinks I've gone nuts; that's the same food he got in trouble for getting into AM +6! :lol: Tricksy hobbit found a way to get it after all!! :lol: :lol:

I couldn't decide if I should open a 7% or go with the 8% that was already open. Since he was down to (41), I went with the 8%. He's still 1T shy of his +6 meal. Should I go ahead and feed or wait and retest at +6.5?
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +5(68) +6(41)

I'd test then feed. Lather rinse repeat. I think the 8% was a fine choice. You might want to add a little HC gravy into that to get him up. Still long time to go and I don't want him surfing in the 40s ok?

So he gets a reduction with that number. Congrats and good luck!

See you in 30.... I gotta feed gracie and crew but will be back.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +5(68) +6(41)

Disclaimer: My brain is getting foggy

I think I'm confused. This is the 8th cycle on this dose and I probably should've already increased the dose, so why the lower numbers now? And, I think I'm understanding you reduce by .25u, which would take us back to .5u. If the reduction doesn't work (after holding 3-5 days), go back to .75u. Sound right?

I'd rather not have him surfing in the 40's either. :smile: SURELY, some of the food will have hit by +6.5 (which is about :05)

**Oreo appreciated that he got another WHOLE meal at +6. :-D
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +5(68) +6(41)

Congrats on the reduction! FYI:tonight is a full moon. Some cats react with a drop in numbers. It's one of those quirky things to be aware of.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +5(68) +6(41)

Woohoo! Hershey is lovin' the Lev. Congrats on the reducie. Hope you get some sleep soon.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +5(68) +6(41)

The protocol states that if nadirs are less than 200, hold the dose 6-10 cycles. Sometimes it takes kitties to settle in when you've increased the dose. So, yes, you have to reduce him back to .5u although you can shoot through the bounce once if he bounces before the next cycle.

On the reduction, you don't have to wait 3-5 cycles. They don't settle into reductions like they do increases. So if he's not bouncing and he's not getting into greens, then you want to take him back up to the last good dose.

Sometimes you have to go up and down around a dose. If you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see this. It's not uncommon. But let's see if he can hold the reduction first :-D
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +6(41) +6.5(35)

Ok...time for a drop of karo with his food.

I want to be sure we are on the same page...when you test, you feed him, right :-D So let's start giving him a little karo to get him up this once. See you in 30.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +6(41) +6.5(35)

Hershey said, fine - he won't surf in the 40's, he'll drop to (35)

+6.5 (35) - fed T 19% Friskies Prime Fillets with Salmon & Beef in Sauce
6 T food total ~full meal and he's looking fat and happy :-D . Oreo, on the other hand, sat and stared while Hershey got kitty crack. ;-)

Thanks, Sienne and Wendy. I hope we're dancing around a nice dose for Hershey, but am afraid that's too much to hope for so soon.

Thanks, Marje. We'll plan on going back to .5u as of AM. Good day for it, since we'll be gone tomorrow night. Maybe I won't worry the whole time...I try not to, but can't usually help it, know what I mean?

Should I test at +6.75 or wait until +7? Sure don't want him to drop any more, but seems like the food should hit any time now...the first of the food was 2:45
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +6(41) +6.5(35)

It takes about 30 mins for food to affect the numbers. So +7 is food.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +6(41) +6.5(35)

Yes, ma'am. I test and immediately feed. I'd like to try the HC again before breaking out the karo. Think that'd be okay? I've only had to use karo once and it was followed by ugly black numbers. Sure would like to avoid that, if possible.

Think I'll test again now...+6.75 - brb
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +6(41) +6.5(35)

Yes...try the HC first if you want but it takes a little longer to kick in then karo.

Is he doing ok?
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +6(41) +6.75(33)

+6.75(33) - fed T 19% - finished in no time flat!

He's doing great. Sitting here grooming post meal, seemingly quite pleased with himself. He has never shown any hypo signs - THANKFUL we home test!

Didn't start asking for food until he heard me spooning around in the kitty crack. He's walking normally, looks like himself, alert and bright-eyed.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +6(41) +6.75(33)

I know you don't want to use karo but he's earned his reduction...let's get him up. I know you are worried about the bounce but he will come back down.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +6.75(33) +7(40)

Sorry, I was testing/feeding and just read your post.

+7 (40) - fed T 19% - finished before I updated SS

He rose ~7 in :15. Think the food is starting to hit or do I still need to break out the karo? Planning to test at +7.25, which is ~:10
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +6.75(33) +7(40)

- Would more mini meals earlier on help ward this off?
- Since he usually eats 4%-5% carbs, are 7%-8% MC enough or should I look at stocking some that are closer to 10%?
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +4(88) +6.75(33) +7(40)

If you don't want to use karo, pls continue to give him gravy. He's just surfing right now and he needs to come up.

I'll be looking for your next number.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +7(40) +7.25(51)

Better....how about a little more LC with just a tiny bit of gravy......we want him up a little more but not skyrocket. I'd give him a break and test in 30 ok?

Are YOU ok, Libby? I'm sure you are exhausted. Nice job getting him up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top