7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +8(66) +9(106)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +7(40) +7.25(51)

I'm a little on the sleepy side, but doing okay. A little adrenaline to keep me going ;-)

I tested :10, so will wait :20 and feed reg LC (Bet he'll be madder than a bee in a jar not to get the good stuff! ;-) ) and tiny drop of gravy.

You seem so confident with Lev and it's workings; hard to believe you felt like a newbie just 10 months ago. I appreciate you sitting up with me!! Lower numbers were easier to bring up on ProZinc. I guess because the insulin doesn't last as long and because I had more experience there. But, all together Hershey has only been on insulin not quite 6 months, so we had 5 months on ProZinc.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +7(40) +7.25(51)

Good job.

I have actually found Gracie to be more predictable on lev. Not that she doesn't ever surprise me...she does. But not like lantus. I can also feel more confident about running out on a quick errand if she's in green because I know when she will generally go up or down and she's much flatter on lev. I really love it...I wish we'd tried her on it earlier.

It takes a while for their pattern to emerge and when it does, it can still change. But you'll get the hang of it and how his cycles will run.

I just want to be sure that you know that HC can wear off and numbers can wobble. Especially since he may not be at his actual nadir....which might be masked by the HC. Lev has really long duration in some cats so it's I portent to catch the drops early and try to flatten them out.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +7(40) +7.25(51)

i don't want to interrupt, but i had to pop in and say you nearly killed me with your comment about punkin pooping on the one he likes best. :lol: i didn't tell DH that! ;-)

Hershey seems to be liking this lev just fine. i hope you get some sleep along the way. i'm fond of the sofa and cell phone alarm method myself. :-D
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +7(40) +7.25(51)

The (88) at +4 caught me by surprise because we were ready to increase since this was the 8th cycle at this dose.

I wish we had been on Levemir from the start. Our vet only uses ProZinc, so that's what we started on. But, Hershey never saw the PS's on ProZinc that he's seen on Lev. I'm really hoping this is the answer for him!

I look forward to seeing some kind of pattern with Hershey, too! This staying up 'til all hours of the night is more than Doug signed on for. From the way the vet talked, it'd be pretty easy and not terribly schedule disruptive. Of course, that was feeding kibble, not home testing and shooting whatever was prescribed.

Did you see my earlier questions about mini meals and MC? I'd appreciate any thoughts you have about them...
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +7(40) +7.25(51)

Sorry about the questions.

To steer Gracie, I use 8% and 10%; her regular food is 4%. I found that, for her, the MC and hC foods with gravy caused horrible bounces. If she gets in the 20s, I use karo.

So...yes, I'd have some MC and see if he comes up with it. Or....like tonight, when he starte dropping, you could see if a MC would slow him down.

As far as feeding, you'll have to experiment based on his curve. Jill feeds Alex two portions at PS and then another meal around +6 when she onsets, I believe.

Since Gracie has a very late nadir (or sometimes a second dip), I feed her PS, +2 and +3 and then again later when she onsets to try and catch that drop. So I would try to feed him around onset certainly.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +7(40) +7.25(51)

julie & punkin said:
i don't want to interrupt, but i had to pop in and say you nearly killed me with your comment about punkin pooping on the one he likes best. :lol: i didn't tell DH that! ;-)

Hershey seems to be liking this lev just fine. i hope you get some sleep along the way. i'm fond of the sofa and cell phone alarm method myself. :-D

Sorry, Julie. I just saw your note. Didn't mean to about kill you ;-)
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +7(40) +8(66)

I had asked about mini meals once before because several people seem to think they made a big difference in regulating or even getting their kitties OTJ. Jill said keep on doing like we had been and we'd figure it out later. Seems like the first hurdle is figuring out when are onset and nadir for him.

So, you think karo causes less bounce than HC with gravy? Guess for MC I can just use Oreo's food, then, because his is 7% - 8%. Good deal. Don't really have the extra cabinet space looking for something to fill it! ;-)

My sweet boy with the (now) round tummy gave up trying to lure me back to the kitty crack and has now gone to sleep at my feet. I was thinking of feeding him a little more but think I'll let him nap a few min (at least one of use can sleep!), test again at +8.5 (in :18), then maybe feed him. Last food was at +7.25.

If you want/need to go to bed, I think we're okay.
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +7(40) +8(66)

We do like to see a pattern develop before we suggest a feeding schedule...otherwise, you don't have any idea when to feed to manage the curve. And, it takes adjustment once you have it. Fine tuning. So...until you really know what his cycle is, I agree with Jill.

Gracie doesn't bounce as hard from karo but that doesn't necessarily mean Hershey won't. While I can't really explain it, it does seem like the higher carb food/gravy I see people using, the harder the bounce. I also think karo should be used for really low numbers but if you have a good LC or MC that will bring him up, that fine as long as it does.

I'm glad he's fine.. You did super. I think I'll take your offer and hit the sack. Please just be sure to test him again in an hour and see where he is.

Reducie tomorrow! Good luck. Ni ni Libby!
 
Re: 7/3 Hershey PMPS(148) +6.75(33) +7(40) +8(66)

Goodnight, Marje. Thanks, again. Think I'll stay up with him a little longer. I'm sleepy, but know I won't sleep well until I know he's okay.
 
+8.5 (77)
+9 (106)

Thinking he'll be okay for me to go to bed. Doug will be up around +11...Hoping AMPS won't be too scary...
 
"I'll take FDMB Quotes for $200, Alex."

"And the answer is...
.Thanks, Carl. I thought about you last night as I was heading to bed.
"

Question: "What are words that no man in the world can ever hear too often?" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Libby, nice catch on the Hershey Kisses!!! You don't want to go anywhere close to "there". Just a little bit goes an awfully loooooong way! Hope you've advised Jessica on proper chocolate storage techniques?

Carl

P.S. Marje, you're awesome!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top