Krista & Copernicus
Member Since 2026
PP
Good morning,
I had them run a serum BG and his number was 333. His BGs are back up 210-479. They think the 100 reading (not verified on a second meter) means I was giving him too much insulin and he was at a risk for hypo. So they switched him to 14 units and sometimes they give him 10. His dosing is all whack now.
And I got my hand slapped for tight regulation even after supplying the PubMed paper. So I feel confused and defeated again. They said a cat's body can't handle increases that fast. My head is spinning with you need to increase him faster, you need to increase him slower, he doesn't have enough insulin, you're giving him too much insulin. All the while Copernicus is suffering as all the different comorbidities are destroying his little body. I need you this group and I need his vets to continue to treat him.
I see so much positive on this forum. I think a lot of kitties are winning. But Copernicus has an anxious Mom with her own health problems and I could never find a vet to support his care with the fluids and meds you all get and give. If I do, I am charged high markups just for a single bag of fluids. I get my hand slapped for trying to do subq at home because of the risks. Copernicus is in the hospital almost every other week with ketones, severe dehydration, acute kidney injury, and now cystitis. And every time I hear about how much insulin he is on. It comes to almost $3000-4000 each time. I know we can't sustain that and my husband had to step in for a "financial reality check" because i would just keep going if I could. I also think no one wants to hear all of this doom and gloom while you all celebrate your kitties. People want positivity in their lives.
The SRT treatment here starts at $8000 just for the imaging and goes up to $15,000 for one session of radiation. Thats not just one estimate. Thats two estimates. They are booked out until September just for the consult. I think his kidneys are too damaged because his electrolytes barely move even days on IV fluids. And I don't even know if would survive the anesthesia and SRT is not immediate. They already sent an email saying to get him healthier before they would do the treatment. Well, I've been trying. I'm failing.
Thanks for listening.

Good morning,
I had them run a serum BG and his number was 333. His BGs are back up 210-479. They think the 100 reading (not verified on a second meter) means I was giving him too much insulin and he was at a risk for hypo. So they switched him to 14 units and sometimes they give him 10. His dosing is all whack now.
And I got my hand slapped for tight regulation even after supplying the PubMed paper. So I feel confused and defeated again. They said a cat's body can't handle increases that fast. My head is spinning with you need to increase him faster, you need to increase him slower, he doesn't have enough insulin, you're giving him too much insulin. All the while Copernicus is suffering as all the different comorbidities are destroying his little body. I need you this group and I need his vets to continue to treat him.
I see so much positive on this forum. I think a lot of kitties are winning. But Copernicus has an anxious Mom with her own health problems and I could never find a vet to support his care with the fluids and meds you all get and give. If I do, I am charged high markups just for a single bag of fluids. I get my hand slapped for trying to do subq at home because of the risks. Copernicus is in the hospital almost every other week with ketones, severe dehydration, acute kidney injury, and now cystitis. And every time I hear about how much insulin he is on. It comes to almost $3000-4000 each time. I know we can't sustain that and my husband had to step in for a "financial reality check" because i would just keep going if I could. I also think no one wants to hear all of this doom and gloom while you all celebrate your kitties. People want positivity in their lives.
The SRT treatment here starts at $8000 just for the imaging and goes up to $15,000 for one session of radiation. Thats not just one estimate. Thats two estimates. They are booked out until September just for the consult. I think his kidneys are too damaged because his electrolytes barely move even days on IV fluids. And I don't even know if would survive the anesthesia and SRT is not immediate. They already sent an email saying to get him healthier before they would do the treatment. Well, I've been trying. I'm failing.
Thanks for listening.
I sure it's hard to stay positive. Maybe there are some alternatives to the SRT? Will this hospital help with the fluids, pain and nausea meds at least?