7/28 Lightning PMPS 235, +3 309, +5 338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela and Lightning

Member Since 2010
7/27 Condo
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20854
Recap
AMPS 162 1 can FF 1.75u
+3 77 1 tsp HC
+7 67 1/2 can FF
+10 62
PMPS 67 1 can FF 1.5u
+3 38!! Yikes!! 1/2 can FF plus 1tbsp HC
+3.3 61 1 tsp HC
+4 115
+5 115
+7 137
+10 248

This morning his bounce doesn't seem too bad, and I gave him the 1.5u....but since he dipped so low yesterday should I have reduced to 1.25u? How long do you have to keep with the decreased dose before you decrease again?
 
Re: 7/28 Lightning AMPS 292

So here's the deal. Theoretically, you should not have reduced the dose for the PM shot since AM numbers did not drop below 50. I wouldn't have suggested feeding HC at AM +2 unless you couldn't be around to monitor. I would have given some LC and tested in 30 min. LC would have either gotten Ligntning surfing or slowed things down and he could have earned the decrease.

He was, however, done with the dose and gave you the below 50 during the PM cycle. So, keep the dose where it is -- 1.5u. Also, it is possible that there will be some leftover shed action this cycle.

You might want to consider spreading out Lightning's food a little. Giving a can of food at pre-shot is a lot. If you spread it out, it may slow some of the early drops in numbers.
 
Re: 7/28 Lightning AMPS 292

Sienne and Gabby said:
You might want to consider spreading out Lightning's food a little. Giving a can of food at pre-shot is a lot. If you spread it out, it may slow some of the early drops in numbers.

I tried giving him only 1/2 a can during AMPS, then 1/2 a few hours later and so on...but he is not satisfied at all...he continues to bother me for food. A few weeks ago someone told me that if they are hungry and asking for food, you are supposed to feed them....So now I'm really confused and have no idea if I'm supposed to feed or not.

Yesterday I had to go to work after the +2 so that's why I gave him the HC....I was able to come back a few hours later, but didn't want to chance anything while I was gone.
 
Re: 7/28 Lightning AMPS 292

Not being home, the HC at +2 makes good sense!

Until a cat is better regulated, they are hungry all the time. I would experiment with feeding. For a variety of reasons, Gabby's food is spread out primarily over the first 4 hours (pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3 and a snack at around +8 or +9). The food spread out over the early part of the cycle has helped her to not have plummeting numbers. It may not satisfy Lightning to get part of his food at PS and then the rest 4 hrs later but maybe 1/2 can and then 1/4 at +1 and the rest at +3 (or whenever it may work for your schedule). Just a thought...
 
Re: 7/28 Lightning AMPS 292

Hi! I will agree with what Sienne has said about feeding - My guy is a horrific bouncer and this approach to food has helped him alot.
Sienne and Gabby said:
Until a cat is better regulated, they are hungry all the time. I would experiment with feeding. For a variety of reasons, Gabby's food is spread out primarily over the first 4 hours (pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3 and a snack at around +8 or +9). The food spread out over the early part of the cycle has helped her to not have plummeting numbers. It may not satisfy Lightning to get part of his food at PS and then the rest 4 hrs later but maybe 1/2 can and then 1/4 at +1 and the rest at +3 (or whenever it may work for your schedule).
It isn't a cure-all but really has helped with getting more stable curves.

Have a great day - I hope Lightning has another good day. and I agree - do wish FF came in bigger cans....
 
Re: 7/28 Lightning AMPS 292

I am definitely willing to adjust his food....I've been doing it for the last month and still don't have anything set in stone that seems to work. I am usually around at +1, +2 so I'll see if I can give him 1/2 can PS and then 1/4 +1, +2, etc. I just gave him 1/4 can right now at +2.5 because I'm about to leave for work. Will give him the other 1/4 at around +6 when I'm back.
 
Re: 7/28 Lightning PMPS 235, +3 309

Hhhmmm....BG is going in the wrong direction...I don't know what's up with that? I even gave less food right after the PS and then some at +1 and +3....I hope that means the shot hasn't kicked in yet and its going to start heading south.
 
Re: 7/28 Lightning PMPS 235, +3 309

Moonie is doing the same thing as we speak!! Wrong way kitties!!!
Hope he comes down soon-Could just be a food spike--Do you have the how to do a bg curve info??
It is in the sticky that says for newcomers--Not to worry, it will go down..Have a good Ni Ni~!
 
Re: 7/28 Lightning PMPS 235, +3 309

I'm hoping its just a food spike too, especially since this is the first time i've tried the interval feeding thing during the PM....he usually drops really fast right after his PM shot, so this is new.....Not sure how many tests I'll be able to run on him tonight to get a curve but I'll be sure to test before I go to bed.
 
Re: 7/28 Lightning PMPS 235, +3 309

It could just be a food spike - food will offset the drop, and level things out some when it it given at the beginning of a cycle. It will come down. Have a great night! Lightning - be good to your mom, and don't keep her up to late. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top