7/28 Cinco PMPS 203 +5 137 +6 138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
7/27 Recap:
1.5 units bid
AMPS: 316
AM+3: 238
AM+7: 248
PMPS: 289
PM+3: 208
PM+6: 210

Yesterday's Condo

Cinco continues to have flat yellow cycles, and I still haven't figured out why. If I am going to increase the dose, should I count from the last greens or from the start of this dose? If it's the latter, this morning was the sixth cycle. If it's the former, this is only the third cycle. Any advice would be welcome. I just am not sure what to do anymore. :sad: At least he is otherwise doing well - if he wasn't I'd be nervous about his Oncology check up on Thursday. However, I really don't have any apprehension, since the only issue is his fondness for yellow! Am I being naive?

Sasha continues to soldier on. Dr. P (the radiology oncologist) told me that the cough is most likely caused by the fact that they intubate her everyday, and that irritates the lining of the esophagus. It sounds like a chesty, congested cough to me, but her lungs are clear, so what do I know?

Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: Special thoughts and prayers to Lucy and Mariko.
 
Re: 7/28 Cinco AMPS 251 +2.5 227 +6 226

Good question!

The protocol says:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing

but Cinco isn't "new to numbers under 200" so that doesn't count....now the "starts to see nadirs under 100" could pertain, but it's not like Cinco hasn't "seen nadirs under 100" before quite often too

I think I'd probably give him at least one more cycle (tonight) and if you don't get down into blues, go up tomorrow (but hopefully some of the more experienced members will be along to offer their insight soon)

Darn it Cinco! Knock it off! China misses her swimming buddy!!
 
Re: 7/28 Cinco AMPS 251 +2.5 227 +6 226

I don't know about the dose change. I hope it helps Cinco get back to blues and greens whenever you give it. Sending more prayers for Sasha.
 
Re: 7/28 Cinco AMPS 251 +2.5 227 +6 226

Yoohoo Cinco - your presence is requested at the lagoon ASAP!

You count the cycles from when you first started the dose. As Chris quote from the protocol, you hold for 6-10 consecutive cycles (for nadirs under 200) before increasing. The part about seeing nadirs under 100 is for cats new to insulin when they first see green. It could be that Cinco is bouncing from the greens he had a couple nights ago - it has been a little while since he last saw them. Because he might still be bouncing, and this cycle is really flat yellow, I might give him another cycle before doing the increase, provided you are around to monitor tomorrow.

Sending vines for Sasha's throat. A couple weeks before Neko had her SRT (4 days in a row of intubation), Tracy/Leo were getting SRT done at Colorado State University. He too got the cough and hoarse mewing because of an irritated trachea from intubation and had to have an anti-inflammatory. Acrocats can have soft tissue growth down there, so it's a risk factor I have to watch out for.
 
Re: 7/28 Cinco AMPS 251 +2.5 227 +6 226

Hi Tricia,
I would hold the dose another cycle, too. Flat yellow "means" action to come (maybe!).

More vines for Sasha. How is she feeling other than the cough?

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/28 Cinco AMPS 251 +2.5 227 +6 226

I'm glad Sasha's lungs are clear. Cinco, time to come down!! If it's not one thing it's another. I hope the "threat" works wonders, Tricia.
 
Re: 7/28 Cinco PMPS 203

Thanks, Chris, Carla, Wendy, Ella and Elise.

I figured it was from the start of the dose, but wanted confirmation. Except for running Sasha to and from UCD (35-40 min each way), I'll be home all day tomorrow, so unless I see something prettier than yellow when I get home from bowling tonight, I'll increase him tomorrow. If he's blue when I get home, I'll give him another day on this dose.

I still can't quite figure out how he dropped from 226 at +6 to 203 at PMPS. Does that mean he nadired after +6? It's not the first time his PMPS has been lower than his last AM test. Maybe I need to start getting a +8.

Sasha is doing amazingly well. She cuddles with me all night, just like she always has, and is eating well. I met the doctor in charge of the Radiology Oncology department today. She was very nice. She told me, like everyone else has, what a good patient Sasha is, and how everyone just loves her. It makes me feel like she has a cheering section there at the hospital, too. We'll take all the positive vibes we can get.

China, I'm hoping you'll be seeing Cinco at the lagoon soon!
 
Re: 7/28 Cinco AMPS 251 +2.5 227 +6 226

Lantus is famous for it's "double dips", Tricia

China has them all the time

Cinco sure is one flat cat today though! Hopefully this is the flat cycle before a big move down!
 
Re: 7/28 Cinco AMPS 251 +2.5 227 +6 226

IMHO, his looks more like he's trying to clear the bounce than a second dip but no way to know for sure.

I hope you see some good numbers soon.

Glad Sasha is doing fairly well other than the cough. Cuddling is :-D :-D :-D
 
Okay, he's bought himself a reprieve. At least one more day at this dose.

Double dips are relatively new to Cinco, Chris. That's why I haven't been able to figure them out. Interesting that he would start doing it after all this time. Whether it's a double dip or he's clearing a bounce, he's keeping me confused, for sure. I would just like to say I'd rather not have a "big move down" - at least not all at once! Slow and steady would be much nicer, please, Cinco.

I hope you're right, Marje. He's never taken this long to clear a bounce before, but he is a cat, and that means nothing should surprise me, right? We'll see what tomorrow brings....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top