7/27 Lucy PMPS=121;+1=121;+2=106

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Saturday to you all!

Yesterday's

7/26 AMPS=238; +1=257; +2=234; +7=155; +8.5=169
7/26 PMPS=158; +2=133; +7.5=117

7/27 AMPS=106; +2=106; +3=119; +6=133
7/27 PMPS=121; +1=121; +2=106

Lucy is feeling much better!!!!
She ate her breakfast very well.
She wanted finger-feeding, but she was excited about eating. :-D

I'm wondering what to do about her dose.
If I am to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol, she is due for another dose increase.
But she had a lot happened earlier this week, so I'm wondering if I should give her some more time to get back on track before deciding dose adjustment.

Monday: New prednisolone schedule started.
Tuesday: Got really sick (very UNlikely related to pred), and had to skip the AM shot.
Wednesday&Thursday: She did really well.
Friday: Unwell in the morning, and her BG was unusually high for her.
** She was doing pretty well on this dose before she got sick. **

I think she is getting back to her normal self today, but we'll see.

Even when a lot happened like this week, should I be following the protocol of 6 cycles?
I guess I would be counting the cycles after the skipped shot, but then she was recovering and wasn't really herself.
What would be the best thing to do for Lucy?

Thank you in advance for your advice and suggestion!
 
Re: 7/27 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=106;+3=119 // DOSE ADVICE, PLEASE.

I think if you're concerned about Lucy's numbers being affected by the various stressors of the past week, you should probably hold the dose where you're at. Lucy's nadir's aren't too bad, and if she's reacting to all the stress, they could be artificially inflated just because of that.

As I read (a lot) when we first started this dance, you can always add more insulin, but once you do, you can't take it back out.

I think I'd hold the dose awhile longer, but I'm sure you'll hear from more experienced members.

Good luck and God Bless
 
Re: 7/27 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=106;+3=119 // DOSE ADVICE, PLEASE.

Mariko

If she will eat, I think you have room to increase. If you start counting cycles after the skip, she's had 8 cycles at this dose and she's not quite getting into good nadirs. The protocol states if nadirs are less than 200, hold the dose 3-5 days (6-10 cycles) so you are in that range.

BUT I don't think there is a wrong answer here and if you feel her numbers are reflective of her not feeling well, then absolutely, you can hold the dose longer and see what she will do.
 
Re: 7/27 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=106;+3=119 // DOSE ADVICE, PLEASE.

Hi Mariko, just stopping by to see how you and Lucy are doing. Don't forget to look at Marje's post above me on dosing. I'm glad Lucy is feeling better. Thanks for stopping by earlier and for the cheers. Hope you both are having a nice weekend and resting.
 
Re: 7/27 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=106;+3=119 // DOSE ADVICE, PLEASE.

No dose advice from me. I just wanted to say I'm glad Lucy's feeling better today and eating for you.
 
Re: 7/27 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=106;+3=119 // DOSE ADVICE, PLEASE.

Hi Mariko,
I think Marje's suggestion is good. In general, when you skip a shot you start over again counting cycles. Whatever you decide to do, it is just really good that Lucy is eating again and seems to be feeling better.

Have a good evening. Thanks for visiting us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/27 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=106;+3=119 // DOSE ADVICE, PLEASE.

Hi Mariko,Glad Lucy is doing better today, I like that she likes to be finger fed :lol: Thanks for stopping by :smile:
 
Re: 7/27 Lucy PMPS=121

Thank you all for your visit and advice.

About her dose, I'm going to see how she does tonight, and then decide.
She is definitely doing better, but she is still not 100%.
It's so hard to decide the dose....
I want to wait until she is back to her normal self, but at the same time I also think little more insulin may help her feel better.....

She ate her 1st dinner by herself, and then pooped.
It was mostly formed normal poo, but the last bit was smelly diarrhea.
And I think her tummy's feeling a little funny because she isn't meowing for more food every time our eyes meet.
I'm sure she'll still eat, but I'll probably have to finger-feed her the rest of the dinner.....

I hope Lucy will make it easier for me to decide the dose from tomorrow!
 
Re: 7/27 Lucy PMPS=121

Paws crossed for a good cycle tonight to help your decision on the dose. I hope the fireworks starting soon doesn't impact her.

Isn't tonight your "birthday" dinner?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top